We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Haven Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Haven Resort to your Saves list
Shore Haven Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Berlin MD
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Nice experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2010

My husband and I stayed here in March for 5 nights. We stayed a few days in a hotel room, then upgraded to an efficiency. Both rooms was basic and clean. Our hotel room was a little "worn" and could have used some updating, but it was clean and comfortable! The pool area was nice, private and had comfortable lounge chairs for enjoying the sun. We didn't rent a car and the hotel arranged our airport pickup. We enjoyed our driver who humored us to no end. We liked the location of the resort and walked to everything. Restaurants, shopping, grocery store were all in walking distance. The beach was about a block away. The staff at the front desk was polite and attentive.

Don't expect extra fluff or fancy here. But if you looking for a reasonable priced, clean resort, that is centrally located in LBS, this is a great option.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    79
    22
    6
    9
See reviews for
62
63
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2010

Shore Haven was a great place to stay, for a really great price. It was clean, comfortable, and convenenient to everything. We didn't want to rent a car, so booked a ride from the airport. Once at Shore Haven, it was only a block walk to the beach, a couple of blocks to the little "village" with lots of restaraunts and shops, and a few more blocks to a large grocery store. The pool was only steps from our room, which did get a little noisy in the a.m., because of kids, but hey, they were there to enjoy themselves too. Owners were friendly and helpful, and the landscaping was beautiful.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden Valley, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2010

The previous reviews were true!!! This place is a diamond in the rough!!! What a fantastic location....close to the beach and shops and eating places!! Everything you would want all within walking distance. The grounds are beautiful and the pools are great, not crowded and although the place faces a fairly busy road, once you are on the grounds, it feels so secluded and private!! The rooms are fantastic and beds super confy!! We had a unit with a full kitchen which was great for meals and there is a grocery store only a few blocks away!!! We cannot wait to go back!!! Already planning our next trip to the Shore Haven!!!!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW Indiana
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2010

This is my kind of place. I love the character of this 40 yr old motel:) It is VERY clean and the owner was such a nice guy. It's one block from the beach. The grounds are lush and just beautiful. Very peaceful:) The only problem that my husband had was the shower was hard to regulate the temp but I didn't have a problem with it. The beds were comfortable as well:) I'd go back again and again:)

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sweden
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2010

Stayed four nights between Christmas and New Years. We booked in advance and the rooms were just fine. Connecting rooms was a great plus for us. Publixstore not far away. Kitchen was great. Clean gas grills in the garden. Really clean and nice pools and jacuzzi. Friendly staff. Several restaurants in walking distance. The beach was great as well. Will definetely return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Black Rock, CT USA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2010

I was expecting Shore Haven to have negative views across the board. I don't even recognize the photographs that are shown on the site. Our room / experience was awful.
The water didn't go down the tub. I was so grossed out by the whole thing, I ended up showering in my friends' hotel room. The sink was not clean.
It had a horrible smell as if someone had been smoking for decades in the room with all doors/windows closed. But we had to close all the windows...there was always someone smoking out in the court yard. Only the A/C didn't work. We had to call the front desk to fix that and the remote. Which they did fix.
I think we were in room 104. I don't know if that is the smoking area. But it was disgusting. I will never go back.
I stayed at High Noon for a few days before this. Thumbs up to High Noon. Which was probably double the price...but definitely worth it.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rthor, GM at Shore Haven Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2010
That's unfortunate.

If I have the right person, she wanted the cheapest possible room so I offered a room on our garden side. These are our smallest rooms. She found 2 problems with the room and wanted an additional discount. Instead of giving a discount I fixed the problems.

The remote was broken because someone dropped it on the floor and destroyed it. I fixed that by replacing it.

Second problem was A/C. She said that someone smoked in the room but if the A/C would work then she would be OK because she would be able to air it out. The problem with the A/C was that someone bent the plug's pins in order to fit the plug into a 220 volt outlet. However, the A/C was a 110 volt A/C, which is why the plug did not fit into that 220 volt outlet. I have no idea why someone would do this but this comes with running a hotel. I fixed it also.

Nobody smoked in this room for decades. That is a ridiculous statement. Somebody probably did smoke in the room the night before despite the no smoking signs. If the problem was smoke I would have moved her to another room. However, it seems she preferred to stay in the room and write a negative review of a whole place which is unfortunate.

Arthur
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canton, ohio
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2010

Always a great stay. I have been returning year after year.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Shore Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Haven Resort

Address: 4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Shore Haven Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Shore Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Haven Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Shore Haven
Shore Haven Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.