We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know where the negative reviews are coming from” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Haven Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Shore Haven Resort to your Saves list
Shore Haven Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Miamisburg, Ohio
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“I don't know where the negative reviews are coming from”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

We stayed here one night pre-cruise in April. We were really looking forward to enjoying the pool and beach, but unfortunately arrived much later than expected. The hotel was well marked and easy to find, and in a great location, with plenty of restaurants and shops close by. Check in was very easy. I can see why some reviewers might find the desk attendant somewhat standoffish, but he was far from rude, and I would attribute his quietness to more of a language barrier than rudeness. Our room was located by the pool, which had plenty of tables, chairs and loungers around it in the courtyard area. I was slightly leery that the noise from people gathered here would bother us, but it did not.I am a light sleeper, and had no noise issues here at all. It is a very pretty area, but I will say that it was full of smokers at all times. The windows to our room were open, and a nice breeze blowing through. We closed them due to the smoke and worries about the noise, but with the ceiling fan, it was quite comfortable with them open. Air conditioning worked fine. The room was spotlessly clean, and huge. Linens seemed new and high quality. The towels were the thickest and best quality I've ever seen in a hotel. Everything also smelled very nice, like a good fabric softener is used. Kitchen was well stocked and nice for a cinnamon roll and cereal we had picked up at Walgreens 2 blocks away. Water pressure in the shower was great. Mattresses were very comfortable and seemed new. I can't say the décor stood out at me at all. We were perfectly happy with the room. The pool looked beautiful and clean. I did notice there was trash left on a table that was there when we arrived, and still there the next morning when we checked out. Guests should pick up after themselves, and not expect the one lone person working the desk to have to clean up after them. There are several restaurants within the block or two that we walked, as well as the Walgreens, and the beach was also a three minute nice walk. There is a huge Wings store, and Citibike rental in that block also. Due to our late arrival, we decided to give up a little ship time and spend an hour in the morning exploring the beach and area a little. It really is a very nice touristy area. Parking in the hotel lot is a little tight, so we just parked the car and enjoyed the many things available near the hotel. We are very easy to please people, and agree with the adage that if you want a four star hotel, then pay four star prices. We were extremely happy with our stay here, and are anticipating staying here again in August, hopefully with more time to enjoy all it has to offer.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cruiserlori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Kelowna, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2014

This motel was everything we needed, very clean, affordable and one block from the beach restaurants etc. We left our passports and some cash in an plastic cover in error. I realized we forgot them when we arrived in florida keys. I called Arthur the owner he was right on it found them and kept them in a safe place until we returned back a few days later. That service is priceless thanks again!


Gary & Gayle Hunter

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gayle1710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Hill, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

Dirty rooms, mosquito's buzzing and biting us in the room. Yellow water, and the air conditioner didn't work. Smokers lined the walkway to and from our room. When I told the owner/manager about our situation he ignored me and could care less

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ftkmies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rthor, Manager at Shore Haven Resort, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Fantastic. Maybe some people were smoking to keep the mosquitoes away. :-) Seriously how can I control mosquitoes and people smoking outside. I have seen mosquitoes while fishing in Connecticut in the summer in the evening, and it was really bad. We practically have no mosquitoes by the beach. This is one of the perks of living in South Florida by the beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

My husband and I recently stayed here on the Saturday before and after our cruise out of Ft. Lauderdale. The motel offers a comfortable bed with a clean bathroom. Though the furnishings are a little dated they are clean and in good working order. There are two groups of rooms with a pool outside each. We liked how the pool was surrounded by shrubs and foliage, offering privacy from the road.

This place is conveniently located near restuarants, drug store, and 1 1/2 blocks from the beach.
Our first night was quiet and we had a good nights sleep. Unfortunately, our second night was not as quiet. A group of partiers were in the room next to us and they made a lot of noise up until 2 am right outside our room. Knowing you can't reason with a drunk we didn't bother to complain.

The owner/management where accomodating to our schedule. We arrived early (10 am) when we returned from our cruise and were allowed to leave our luggage behind the counter. The office is not openend until after 9:00 am so be sure to plan around that.

Another thing to consider. A cab from the aiport is about $40 and the same from the hotel to the cruise terminal. You will want to consider that expense when budgeting out your trip.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eileen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Attleboro, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2014

My mother and I decided to escape the North East Weather for a few days and after some research looking for a hotel that was fairly inexpensive and with in walking distance of restaurants, we found this place. We took a cab from FFL (expect to spend $40 one way), we arrived earlier than check in time. The front desk allowed us to settle in early and we were very happy to be on the first floor outside the pool area. The pool area had plenty of lounge chairs, tables with umbrellas and surrounding palm trees and greenery. The crowd was an more mature crowd (a lot of snowbirds) therefore it was very quiet and relaxing. The rooms are comfy, however they can use some updating, but overall clean. A very short walk will bring you to a variety of different restaurants and a couple of ice cream shops. Anglins Pier is right there which is nice to check out ($2 per person) and they also have a fantastic restaurant where you can grab a bite to eat and cocktail while looking at the beach. If you decide to save some $$, there is a Publix about 1/2 Mile up the street as the rooms have refrigerators (I think others have a kitchen) so you can stock up at Publix instead of spending all your money eating out. You can eat near the pool and relax in the sun. The hotel also has a couple of outside grills for anyone to use. Overall, this stay was very pleasant, we enjoyed the friendly management and other visitors. One other positive note, the hotel has beach chairs you can borrow (free of charge) to sit on the beach with. The only downside is the room was cleaned once when we were there and we had a small ant problem, but it didn't change the outcome of our stay. Happy travels everyone!!

Room Tip: If you plan on staying for an extended period, you should look for a room with a kitchen to save on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Parrothead1975
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Great location. easy walk to beach and restaurants/bars. ample parking. hotel was dated,especially the bathrooms, but clean.had no negative issues.stayed Mon- Thurs. traffic was an issue, but we mostly walked where we went, everything was that close.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aando001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

Stayed here for 11 days and loved it. Conveniently located Short walk to beach and great restaurants. Nice rooms with 2 pools, laundry facility. Guests return year after year. Owners very nice and accommodating.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NYRSfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.3 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 262 reviews
0.3 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#17 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#13 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 80 reviews
0.3 mi away
Dolphin Harbor Inn
Dolphin Harbor Inn
#29 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shore Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Haven Resort

Address: 4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 29 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Shore Haven Resort 2*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Shore Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shore Haven Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Shore Haven
Shore Haven Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing