We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place Great Owners Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shore Haven Resort

Save Saved
You added Shore Haven Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Shore Haven Resort
4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Place Great Owners Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Love this place. Owners are great and rooms are very clean. Have been staying here for years. Only negative is that Chairs by pool need new pads. Pads are ripped and very worn. These really need updating. Rooms could use a fresh coat of paint also. Would not stop me from staying here, but just needs a little TLC especially chair pads.

Room Tip: For the price efficiencies are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    68
    62
    15
    5
    7
See reviews for
50
49
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Texas
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

We had a GREAT 4 night stay at the Shore Haven Resort and will definitely be back! Our flight arrived late, so they put the key to our room under the mat for us! I hadn't even given them a credit card number yet. Amazing. The room was better than expected for $89/night. The walk-in closet was so large that we were able to move the baby crib into it to create a nursery for nap time! The room was spacious and the small kitchen had everything we needed. Sure, the place is old and it's age shows, but it was super clean and comfy. The grounds surrounding the pool area were wonderful. We enjoyed the pool area as much as the beach!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 4 days before maimi cruise. Lauderdale by the sea is small little town north of Flauderdale A few good bars and restaurants by the sea and pier.
It's small and low rise, the beach was ok but its not good for swimming because of rip tides, shore haven has 2 small pools and is walking distance from the beach and bars. Its about 30/45 mins drive to maimi or you can drive down the coastal route to south beach but this will take longer. Enjoyed the stay

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Creek, New York
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

The room was very nice and the location is great, close too the beach and to all the shops and many restuarants in the area. Within walking distance to grocery store and many other ammenities. Nice for all size families for a vacation spot. The price for the room was very resonable especially for the time that I stayed there which was during spring break time at end of March. My only complaint was 2days in a row housekeeping forgot to leave me fresh towels and toilet paper, but generally the roomswhere very neat and clean. Would definately return to there again.
Kathi

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brockton, MA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We stayed for 4 nights at the beginning of March. This was our 3rd time staying at the Shore Haven. The first two visits were very good. This time we noticed quite a change. To begin with we were given the choice of two rooms and both were on the second floor. Both rooms were much smaller than the previous two rooms we have been in which both were on the ground level near the pool. We chose the room in the area to the left of the office near the hot tub. I never knew this area existed. I thought maybe it would be quiet It was not quiet at all. Our neighbors drank, smoked and were very loud until very late at night. Also the construction going on next door started very early in the morning. Not very nice to wake up to. The room itself was okay, just small. The shower curtain liner had so many rips and never got replaced. The worst was the cleaning service. When you are at the beach or touring around you look forward to coming back to your room to rest before dinner. You expect a cleaned room by 4 pm. Well we never got one. All we heard was the check out rooms had to be cleaned first. I only saw one girl doing the cleaning and altough I felt bad for her I didn't want to hear her issues. There was a lot of arguing with staff. I just didn't get a good vibe here this visit and was disappointed with our room. I think we will look elsewhere when we return next year.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor near the pools. The room are much bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had a very short one night stay after our cruise so we were hard pressed to find a place that wasn't outrageously expensive (Spring break) but still close to the beach. This place was a surprise. Although very dated it was clean and fairly well maintained given the age of the building. The owners/staff were exceptional and made it very welcoming. We arrived early and our rooms weren't quite ready but we were invited to participate in their "St Patrick's Day" party around the pool and enjoyed a great bbq including beverages while we waited (free). What a great start and we met some pretty interesting characters around the pool - there was a large group that apparently come every year. It had a real friend/family feel to it.
The rooms were quite large and ours had a kitchen which would be great for someone staying for several days. There was no air conditioning but the windows opened and there were fans. The bathroom was quite small and could use some extra towel hooks or bars. I also had an issue with hot water but it didn't seem to be a problem for the rest of the family. There was also no hair dryer but unsure if they had them at the front desk. It was a bit noisy but I've stayed in worse. Beds were fine - it's not a five star so no feather tops and duvets!!
The pool area was great - not big, but they do have two pools - and the area around the deck appeared to be well looked after.
There was free wi-fi but we had to go out to the pool area to get access. We were unable to get access in our rooms. Not sure if it was because we were at the end of the building.
The place is central to a number of restaurants and shops and an easy walk to the beach - you do need your own beach towel. There was live music down by the pier on Sat evening so very busy in that area. Didn't have the time to see much but overall the area was very lively and appeared quite safe.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

Nice stay, rooms ok, garden and pool area beautiful. Staff friendly. Laundry was a good surprise for us. In our first room shower did not work as expected. When all rooms occupied, hard to find vacant sun chairs for all family members. As the weather was not too hot, heated pool was perfect. The road was noisy --> the pool stay not so relaxing. Near the hotel goof soccer field and play ground for kids.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shore Haven Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shore Haven Resort

Also Known As:
Shore Haven Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Shore Haven Hotel
Hotel Shore Haven
Shore Haven Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida
Address: 4433 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 30 hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Shore Haven Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shore Haven Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.