We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great room, horrible staff.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sea Lord Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, great room, horrible staff.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014 via mobile

My family and I recently just stayed at The Sealord in one of their oceanfront suites with 2 balconies. The room itself was very nice and clean, and it has a flat screen TV in both the bedroom and living room area. The balconies had a great view of the ocean. The pool was always clean and it's fairly big so you have lots of room to swim and relax. But, there are a lot of bad things about this hotel. One, the pool deck. It is almost impossible to get a longue chair by the pool unless you go down at like 7 am to reserve one. That means you either have to sit at a table or go out and lay/sit on the beach. Before the remodeled there was an endless amount of longue chairs by the pool, now there's only 4. You can pay $5 for a longue chair to use on the beach, but I think that is ridiculous. They should be free, we already are paying for enough as it is. Another complaint I have concerning the pool is the guy who cleans it. He is a tall, bald man who never smiles or says much to anyone. He doesn't start the whole pool cleaning process until like 8:30am, which is when I usually wanted to use it. He also goes around the pool deck sweeping all around you, even under your chair when you are trying to relax. He just gave off a bad vibe. The next complaint I have is the breakfast. It is absolutely terrible. All you have to pick from is 2 cereal choices, 2 or 3 fruit choices, stale bagels, and cheap pastries. They also make you eat your food in the small dining area now, you aren't allowed to go to your room. A lady with shoulder length blonde hair is usually supervising the breakfast. One time she came over and poured coffee for me when I never even asked for it or even wanted it. So to be nice, I drank it. It sucked. It was bitter even with lots of cream and sugar added. I ended up only drinking two sips, which I think made her mad because every day since then she stopped saying good morning to me and just gave me an evil glare. It's not my fault your coffee sucks. My final complaint is the maid service. The first full day we were there, no maid came to our room. Since it was the first day it didn't really matter, but still. After that the maid would come, but at different times every day. She'd come at 9am, then the next day she wouldn't come til like 4pm. It made it hard to avoid her cause she ended up always coming in whenever we were in the room. The maids also don't knock if you don't have the do not disturb sign on. They walk right into your room, without any warning. We also never got clean sheets or pillow cases any of the days we were there, all the maid does is fluff your pillows, make your bed, and vaccum. You'll be lucky if she gives you more than 2 clean towels. Overall, the experience was just okay. The rooms are very expensive, but have great views. The pool is nice and gets a lot of sun. But the staff and service flat out sucks. The only nice staff member is the long brown haired girl who works at the front desk. She always says good morning and seems to be happy most of the time. Hope this review is helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    53
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Stayed with my Fiancé in a King deluxe room on the 5th floor with a partial ocean view. We decided to travel to Florida to get a break from the awful midwest winter this year. This was our first stay at the hotel and I could say that the hotel exceeded our expectations. The hotel is very clean and well kept. The lobby is absolutely beautiful; feels like someone's private home! Our room was small but sufficient and waking up with a side view of the ocean is an added bonus! The bed was very comfortable and we enjoyed having access to free Wi-Fi (we all know free Wi-Fi is unheard of these days). The staff was more than accommodating and friendly, especially the front desk. The location of this hotel is fantastic, directly on the beach, a couple of minutes away from the fun of LBTS and 15 or so minutes away from downtown Fort Lauderdale. Overall, we loved it and we'll be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Destin, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights for my wife's 30 year high school reunion and had a room on the beach. We originally had a standard room on the street side but it was a little small so we upgraded to a suite on the water. The suite was large with a full kitchen, sofa and large flat screen tv. Room was clean and quiet at night. Front desk staff while not overly friendly was adequate. The area around the Sea Lord is really revitalized since years ago with many great choices for food and drinks. Parking area is small but we always found a spot.

Room Tip: Get a waterfront suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed at the Sea Lord for a few days. Hotel's location is amazing, lobby and dining area are beautiful. Breakfast is a big disappointment, no selection what so ever, awful bagels and pastries. Rooms are clean as you would expect when you pay this much, but very out of date. Big bald night security guard speaks no English what so ever, rude and quite intimidating. He told us that we can use our beach chairs only until 5pm, which I think is outrageous since we payed for them and wanted to use them all day. we will never return to this hotel in LBTS, we will take our business somewhere else. I would not recommend this hotel. You can get a lot more for the same price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulum, Mexico
1 review
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

I'm staying right now in this hotel, and me and my wife have received a terrible attention from the night guardian. When I told him that we wll complain for his rudeness his answer was "COMPLAIN AS MUCH AS YOU WHANT". Then he had a threatening attitude, when I picked up the telephone to call reception, he mockingly show me he had the handset in his belt. Not happy with that, he startef to yeld me "WHERE ARE YOU FROM, BECAUSE THIS IS AMERICA".
Also the night receptionist was not very nice, seems they concern more about where thier guest are coming from, than give a good service.
By the way, I book ocean view room but with no explanation or apologies they gave me parking lot view room.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We've stayed in a number of hotels in Ft Lauderdale by the sea. They all have a glitch or two with faucets or drains or problems with a shortage of lounge chairs. That's simply Ft Lauderdale by the sea.

At this hotel, the staff was extremely kind and helpful, the rooms clean and large, the pool spotless and the eating area for breakfast just lovely. The breakfast is just bread, fruit, frozen waffles, a few pastries and 2 cereal choices. There is no restaurant per se or bar but everything is well maintained. It was quiet for the most part, and the beach in front of the hotel well maintained. They have a security guard who was on his feet at 5am to ask how he could help us.

We will return to Sea Lord and if an attentive, kind staff means something to you, this is your kind of spot.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ny
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is on the beach. Families are treated better than couples! All family rooms are on the beach side.
The hotel provides free breakfast. The breakfast is mediocre. Kirkland brand bagels, ego waffles, and horrible juice... And let's not forget the weak coffee.
Beach chairs also cost 5$ a day.
If you want clean sheets and a nice beach come here or else shop around for something cheaper or something that will give u more for the money

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;