We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sibling Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Lord Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Millersville, Maryland
1 review
“Sibling Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Sea Lord is a rare gem. My three brothers, my sister and her husband and I spent four glorious days here. We were so overwhelmed by the kindness, attentiveness, and customer service by each and every employee in the hotel. This is really a special place. One of our most memorable moments was a family style meal prepared by the head chef, Mario. He shopped and prepared one of the best meals that we have ever had. The owner, Richard, and the rest of his staff made us feel like family. This is a place that needs to be patronized in order to preserve the tradition of a hotel where you are not only a guest, but a part of a community. If you go, make sure to have Mario make you bruschetta and eggplant!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    81
    57
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
52
60
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I love peace and quiet, and the location just offers that. Convienice of being few feet from the beach, to having incredible view, and top notch service certainly is worth the stay. The Hotels decor lobby and the restaurant are exquisite and very modern. The staff is very knowledgeable and the cleanliness is unmatched. The addition of the lunch and.dinner has made.life so much more.easier, where you can enjoy spectacular food with beautiful ocean view. The only downside to this is waiting for vacation time and hoping the paradise getaway would come sooner. No two people have a same taste but if you like luxurious rooms and views, amazing food, peaceful atmosphere,great service, attentive staff and affordable prices then Sea Lord will meet your expectations. I am looking forward to many years of vacationing at Sea Lord, and as well receiving their signature service they have offered so far. Enoy your stay because I sure did.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cooperstown, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

we stayed in room 508-a jr. suite which was very adequate for two adults. The view was amazing..everything was clean. nice walk to oceanfront restaurants. The only negative thing was that they charged a fee for the lounge chairs. I think that they should be signed out with a deposit -its a little offensive to mot have them included(Maybe two chairs per room) Also the plastic chairs on balcony were uncomfortable..I went to front desk but they never brought me another type even though there were plenty from other empty rooms...Not s big desl-but it would have been nice to have comfortable chairs for reading.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redmond, WA
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

The location, views, staff, pool, beach, and spacious suite were perfect. We loved the second floor and did not mind the palms obstructing our view a little as it gave us shade enough to sit out on the balconey in the morning and read without being blinded by the sun.

Pool area was kept very, very clean. Thankfully this hotel never feels too crowded so there is always a place to relax and read.

Location above all is the winner. Walk to shops and restaurants as well as nightly strolls along the ocean.

Personally I appreciated the staff being there when I needed them as well as leaving me in peace when I wished.

Lovely experience and we will stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Thank you for sharing this review with the TripAdvisor community!

We are thrilled to hear what a memorable and relaxing vacation you had with us at the Sea Lord Hotel & Suites! I am glad you enjoyed the view from your room as well as the location of the property. We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel on your next visit to Lauderdale-by-the-Sea!

Best wishes,
Olga Monson
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

This was our first stay, although we visited friends here in 2012, and we loved it. The weather in March was cool but the stay was all we could want. Our beach front room was lovely but the palm trees obstructed our view.

One suggestion is in the renovated shower, it was not handicap outfitted as there were no bars to hold onto - would not pass Federal inspection. Small item so easily fixed and must have been overlooked by the contractor. As others have reported, Internet was spotty and limited to two devices per room. But we were not here to surf the internet as the beach was right at our doorstep.

What a lovely hotel and such a nice time to relax and enjoy the escape from cold Ohio winters!

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
Bruce,

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your stay with us last month. I am happy to hear we were able to provide you with an exceptional stay at the Sea Lord Hotel & Suites and that you thoroughly enjoyed our location and amenities.

We have improved our internet network since you stayed here. It is still limited to two devices per room but the speed is much faster now. Also, we have handicap rooms on the ground floor that have bars installed. It is not a requirement to have them in all hotel rooms, but just handicap suites. However, we have been installing them in other rooms to accommodate our guests’ requests.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back soon!

Best Regards,
Olga Monson
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed 4 nites in Room 500. Just enough room for everything. But wouldn't stay in this room for a long stay. Parking can be a challenge in the hotels lot, but they are using one across the street if the hotels lot is full. Pool area is small but nice, they have lounge chairs available for the beach (small fee required). Also provide pool towels, no charge. Continental breakfast is provided & I was pleasantly surprised at what was offered. More than the usual. They also have an inside lounge/bar area where you can get drinks or espresso. Will be back in Oct, & have reserved a larger,ocean front with balcony.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of the ocean. Can negotiate a slightly better rate when calling direct.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, April 26, 2013
We are happy to hear you had a great stay with us at the Sea Lord Hotel. Thank you for sharing your feedback, it is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our free continental breakfast, pool amenities and your room. You will be blown away by the view from the direct ocean front suite with a balcony. I'm glad you chose it for your stay in October. We are looking forward to see you again in few months!

Best Regards,
Olga Monson
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, New Hampshire
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I just returned from 7 nights at the Sea Lord and will definitely be returning again next year. The location is great as it is close to the restaurants, shops and center of Lauderdale by the Sea, the room (2nd floor King with kitchenette) was immaculate with a great view, the morning breakfast was a great way to start the day in the clean and well furnished lobby and dining area and the people were attentive to your needs and promptly took care of any concerns.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.