We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it, however....” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sea Lord Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Deerfield Beach, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Loved it, however....”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2012

My husband and I stayed for our anniversary and had a wonderful time!! The location was perfect on the beach with shops and restaurants a leisure walk away. The staff was very nice and helpful. The room was neat and clean (except the windows) and all was very pleasantly comfortable. Here's my however.....(an easy fix).As a designer I see a quick remedy to your overcrowded space. The sofa needs to go...and with it the armoire with the TV. A flat screen TV, on the wall, across from the bed with a chair or 2 in the corner is more than adequate...maybe an ottoman. The sofa is right in the path and visually impairs the gorgeous view as you enter the room...which makes it feel very overcrowded. As I say an easy fix.....and i hope someone considers it soon....it will truly make your rooms feel SO much more comforting!
No charge for the design tip!!
Thanks for sharing your beautiful property with us....locals!
Yes food warmers for breakfast would make it more enjoyable!

Room Tip: Rm #205 headboard squeaks as it was LOUD turning in bed, kept us awake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    53
    16
    14
    6
See reviews for
51
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Weymouth, Massachusetts, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

Over the last forty years I have stayed in almost EVERY hotel or Motel in Lauderdale by the Sea. Some of these hotels do not exist anymore (Tabu, Ho-Jo's, Sea Grape, Holiday Inn...). The 'Sea Lord' is the finest hotel in LBTS ! The staff at the front desk is #1, the rooms are spotless, the breakfasts facility is first class. The rates are a great value, with no foolish hidden 'Resort Fee's'.... My only regret is that I did not discover the 'Sea Lord' until 2012........Do yourself a favour, check this property out !!!!!!

Room Tip: Ocean front rooms are a little more expensive, and worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was our 4th time back, why? Because we love the hotel, the location, and our room. This time around though, we were disappointed in few things. The owners have spent a lot of money on upgrading the outdoor premises, (looks fabulous) but I think they need to start looking at the interior of the hotel. When we got to our room, the windows were dirty, you have this beautiful view of the ocean and you're looking at it through dirty windows? The inside of the cupboards were not cleaned (full of coffee grinds), as well as the bottom of the fridge (the outside). The towels were paper thin, and for some reason we only received two bath towels for 2 people, used to get 2 per person. One day when we had to ask the front desk for more soap (again not sure why we didn't get one when our room was cleaned), he asked if we want face or body soap, huh? We forgot about the face soap, and I guess so did the cleaning staff. The staff did the best cleaning job the night before we left. The breakfast is not what it used to be, you still get your scrambled eggs, (no heater to keep the eggs warm though) but now they added hot dogs, for some reason I thought we had sausages last year, but I could be wrong, no more breakfast bars or rice crispie squares. Everyone is still really helpful, so that hasn't changed. Of course we will go back, we love it there, but it would be nice if they took a little more time in cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

I'm not typically a huge boutique hotel's fan, but this was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we've had in a while. We found The Sea Lord on Facebook. We liked their page and received 15% off coupon. Unfortunately, our trip got cancelled at that time and we were unable to use a discount as it was valid for certain dates only. But that was fine with us as prices are quite reasonable for a beachfront hotel. We arrived before the official check-in time but were greeted by the front desk manager Olga and she made the experience so nice. Rather than reminding us that the "check-in time is not until 2:00" she apologized that our room was not quite ready, but that we would love it when it was. Olga offered to store our luggage while we were waiting for the room and gave us recommendation of local restaurants and things to do in the area. We knew right there that it was  a beginning of a great stay for us. We felt welcomed. The hotel has been recently renovated, so the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are new and clean. No obnoxious resort fee and complementary parking, which is always a plus. Parking is tight, but the night front-desk person manages it just right. The location couldn't be better. We walked everywhere everyday - local restaurants, bars, coffee shops and even grocery shops. There were all within minutes away. I can't think of anything negative to say. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Sea Lord for many years now, and have never enjoyed a hotel more. Located on a prime street, facing the ocean, Sea Lord is our very special home and the staff has become our second family. One of the things that makes Sea Lord so very very special for us, is the welcome we get from Ogla the hotel manager as soon as we walk into the beautiful lobby. She runs out from behind the desk and swoops you into her arms with as much joy as we have being there. She truly makes you feel like you are the most special guest they have. In addition she is a wealth of knowledge about Lauderdale by the Sea, and the surrounding areas, always forthcoming with information and local color. What could be more wonderful than beautifully appointed rooms, being right on the beach, a delicious all you can eat breakfast buffet and a hotel that makes you feel that you chose the best place on earth for your vacation. So to Olga, Rich, Emil, and Tanya, thankyou for all our magical days at Sea Lord.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have been going to the Sealord 3 weekends a year for the last 5 years. I will not stay in another establishment in Lauderdale after discovering this gem of a boutique hotel! The Sealord is understated elegance at its finest. The staff makes me feel at home every time I visit; especially Olga who goes out of her way to accommodate any request I may have. She greets me with her sweet smile and great attitude.The rooms are modern, the views stupendous, the pool is gorgeous and the complimentary breakfast buffet is an added plus! The owners are constantly upgrading the hotel and I am pleasantly surprised whenever I visit I highly reccommend the Sealord for any traveler-you will be treated like royalty!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012 via mobile

We have been going to the Sea Lord from our home in Cincinnati Ohio for 10 years now, every Christmas break. It gets better and better every year. Always lovely decor, and outstandingly clean. Hotel staff are very responsive, helpful, and friendly. Fabulous location right ON the beach and just a couple of blocks from great restaurants and fun shops. Could NOT be better! Lauderdale by the Sea is the best of many beach locations we have visited and the Sea Lord the best hotel of many we have tried.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.