We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our annual visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sea Lord Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Our annual visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

This was our 4th time back, why? Because we love the hotel, the location, and our room. This time around though, we were disappointed in few things. The owners have spent a lot of money on upgrading the outdoor premises, (looks fabulous) but I think they need to start looking at the interior of the hotel. When we got to our room, the windows were dirty, you have this beautiful view of the ocean and you're looking at it through dirty windows? The inside of the cupboards were not cleaned (full of coffee grinds), as well as the bottom of the fridge (the outside). The towels were paper thin, and for some reason we only received two bath towels for 2 people, used to get 2 per person. One day when we had to ask the front desk for more soap (again not sure why we didn't get one when our room was cleaned), he asked if we want face or body soap, huh? We forgot about the face soap, and I guess so did the cleaning staff. The staff did the best cleaning job the night before we left. The breakfast is not what it used to be, you still get your scrambled eggs, (no heater to keep the eggs warm though) but now they added hot dogs, for some reason I thought we had sausages last year, but I could be wrong, no more breakfast bars or rice crispie squares. Everyone is still really helpful, so that hasn't changed. Of course we will go back, we love it there, but it would be nice if they took a little more time in cleaning the rooms.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    67
    20
    15
    7
See reviews for
61
70
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

I'm not typically a huge boutique hotel's fan, but this was one of the most pleasant hotel experiences we've had in a while. We found The Sea Lord on Facebook. We liked their page and received 15% off coupon. Unfortunately, our trip got cancelled at that time and we were unable to use a discount as it was valid for certain dates only. But that was fine with us as prices are quite reasonable for a beachfront hotel. We arrived before the official check-in time but were greeted by the front desk manager Olga and she made the experience so nice. Rather than reminding us that the "check-in time is not until 2:00" she apologized that our room was not quite ready, but that we would love it when it was. Olga offered to store our luggage while we were waiting for the room and gave us recommendation of local restaurants and things to do in the area. We knew right there that it was  a beginning of a great stay for us. We felt welcomed. The hotel has been recently renovated, so the grounds are beautiful and the rooms are new and clean. No obnoxious resort fee and complementary parking, which is always a plus. Parking is tight, but the night front-desk person manages it just right. The location couldn't be better. We walked everywhere everyday - local restaurants, bars, coffee shops and even grocery shops. There were all within minutes away. I can't think of anything negative to say. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Salem, NY
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2012

My husband and I have been going to Sea Lord for many years now, and have never enjoyed a hotel more. Located on a prime street, facing the ocean, Sea Lord is our very special home and the staff has become our second family. One of the things that makes Sea Lord so very very special for us, is the welcome we get from Ogla the hotel manager as soon as we walk into the beautiful lobby. She runs out from behind the desk and swoops you into her arms with as much joy as we have being there. She truly makes you feel like you are the most special guest they have. In addition she is a wealth of knowledge about Lauderdale by the Sea, and the surrounding areas, always forthcoming with information and local color. What could be more wonderful than beautifully appointed rooms, being right on the beach, a delicious all you can eat breakfast buffet and a hotel that makes you feel that you chose the best place on earth for your vacation. So to Olga, Rich, Emil, and Tanya, thankyou for all our magical days at Sea Lord.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2012

I have been going to the Sealord 3 weekends a year for the last 5 years. I will not stay in another establishment in Lauderdale after discovering this gem of a boutique hotel! The Sealord is understated elegance at its finest. The staff makes me feel at home every time I visit; especially Olga who goes out of her way to accommodate any request I may have. She greets me with her sweet smile and great attitude.The rooms are modern, the views stupendous, the pool is gorgeous and the complimentary breakfast buffet is an added plus! The owners are constantly upgrading the hotel and I am pleasantly surprised whenever I visit I highly reccommend the Sealord for any traveler-you will be treated like royalty!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cincinnati
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We have been going to the Sea Lord from our home in Cincinnati Ohio for 10 years now, every Christmas break. It gets better and better every year. Always lovely decor, and outstandingly clean. Hotel staff are very responsive, helpful, and friendly. Fabulous location right ON the beach and just a couple of blocks from great restaurants and fun shops. Could NOT be better! Lauderdale by the Sea is the best of many beach locations we have visited and the Sea Lord the best hotel of many we have tried.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2011

We've been annual visitors to this small hotel for almost ten years. Staff seem always glad to see us and remember our names. Several very good restaurants within walking distance. Reasonable rates for such an ideal beach location. Complimentary breakfast is served every morning including scrambled eggs and several choices of meats and fruit. Only negative was the mattress which needs replacing.

Room Tip: Most rooms face ocean with small verandas. Our favorites are located on ground level. Most rooms hav...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 10, 2011
Dear Plavis,

First and foremost thank you for being so loyal to The Sea Lord Hotel & Suites. We appreciate all our repeated guests and the feedback you give us. The time you have spent at The Sea Lord allows us to learn your needs and gives us a chance to deliver the best vacation experience for you. We apologize about the mattress issue. I will have our maintenance staff check and replace it if necessary.

Thank you again for the lovely compliments on our hotel, location and especially our staff – they are the heart of our success.

Sincerely,
Olga Shcherbyna
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011

We stayed at the Sea Lord for 5 nights earlier this month. I had stayed in Lauderdale-by-the-Sea for a month about 15 years ago and thus already knew it to be a quiet, low-rise oasis in the midst of the concrete monoliths of coastal North Broward. For a hotel that's been around for a while, the Sea Lord is in great condition, with lots of modern appointments. Our top-floor, ocean-front room was very spacious with a fantastic view of the beach, a well-equipped kitchen, a walk-in wardrobe closet, and a comfortable bed. The continental breakfast included in the room price was much more than just pastries, juice and coffee. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. And this was all for about half the price we would have paid for a beach front room in a bland, stock hotel down south in Ft. Lauderdale ... without breakfast. There is a small commercial area about three blocks from the Sea Lord with a nice selection of good restaurants and bars. Be sure to check out 101 Ocean for great food and a good beer selection. We can't wait for our next trip back to the Sea Lord and Lauderdale-by-the-Sea!

Room Tip: Ask for a beach front room. The rooms facing the city are much smaller and more like standard motel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 8, 2011
Dear WWPALMER,

Thank you for all your impressive feedback; you covered everything from our awesome location to our wonderful amenities. I mostly appreciate your comments on our warm and welcoming staff – we do believe that they are one of our best features.

I would also want to mention that besides 101 Ocean, some of our favorite places to eat in Lauderdale-by-the-sea are Aruba Beach Cafe, Village Grill and Athena's. Also, you should try Burger Fi for organic burgers and stop by at brand new COCO yogurt store for a dessert. Every Friday night there is a block party in Lauderdale-by-the-sea with live entertainment. It is a fun outdoor event for the whole family!

We do hope you make time for another trip back to "low-rise oasis" Lauderdale-by-the-Sea soon and choose The Sea Lord Hotel & Suites for your stay again.

Happy Holidays!

Sincerely,
Olga Shcherbyna
reservations@sealordhotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.7 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.7 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#9 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#14 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.5 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.4 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#17 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.