We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Customer Service, Basic Facilities, lovely beach setting” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Sea Lord Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Llangollen, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Poor Customer Service, Basic Facilities, lovely beach setting”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2011

There is every chance this review will be met with a standard upbeat 'management response' but I would read it with caution. Prior to writing this review we have emailed and not received a prompt reply, any reply on here is simply because this is now in the public domain.

First of all the good, and there are good aspects of this beach side accomodation. The best feature is the beach, and the one bedroom suite was comfortable if not a little noisy.

Arriving at the hotel the receptionist was pleasant. However, a few minutes later a new lady took over who had a very different style. We had never visited the area and we asked about the local area, and how far it was into Fort Lauderdale. She didn't even offer to call a taxi, or give us a taxi telephone number. She said it was expensive and to drive! Customer service is obviously open to perception and what some people determine to be rude others might simply take as a little frosty. So I will be kind and say that the hotel was charachterised by frosty customer service.


Had we been paying cheap motel rates I would have been impressed, but lets be clear - this is not a cheap hotel. We paid around $225 for the night which included a continental breakfast. The breakfast itself was not bad but we all ate from paper plates using plastic knives and forkes - classy!? The lady working in the breakfast room did not acknowledge us or anyone unless she was spoken to, and couldn't even manage a smile.


The minimal facilities were basic. We had a good room, no bar, a poor breakfast experience and even had to request a key to use the restrooms. The night porter was very friendly and helpful - but we couldn't wait to leave this poorly run hotel.

I have read other positive reviews of the Sea Lord on here, and can only assume that I set standards too high for $200plus per night. I expect a proper plate and to be welcomed. On checking out I was not even asked if I had enjoyed my stay (maybe they didn't want to know), neither were we wished a pleasant onward journey.

I think its safe to say we wont return.

Room Tip: All rooms back onto noisy corridors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, May 17, 2011
Thank you very much for your feedback. We welcome constructive criticism as it enables us to improve our service and accommodation. On behalf of the Sea Lord Hotel, please allow me to apologize for your disappointment over your stay. We hold ourselves to the highest hospitality standards and strive to ensure guest satisfaction.

At a small boutique hotel, like we are, we treat everyone like family. I’m surprised to hear that you didn’t feel that way. I personally checked out your husband and he was pleased with the accommodation and the overall stay. He said that the only disappointment was the rainy weather during that one day you had spent with us. We are sorry we didn't get to know you more over your short stay. Had you stayed longer with us, you would have a different impression of our customer service.

With that said, please know that it is very important to us that each of our guests leave our property satisfied with every aspect of their stay, and looking forward to their return. I can assure you that all your other perceptions will be addressed as we wish all of our guests to have a pleasant experience.

I apologize again for the issues that you encountered, and hope that you will allow us another opportunity in the future to demonstrate the high level of service that our guests have come to expect.

Best wishes,
Olga Shcherbyna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    51
    13
    14
    6
See reviews for
48
58
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradenton, Florida
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

This is a great place to stay. We have previously stayed at another place in LBTS in December and it seemed old and worn. Not the Sea Lord. We had a regular room for one night and it was really nice--soft sheets, great plush comforter, a separate vanity area from the bathroom, there was a microwave and small fridge. Everything was super clean and looked new. My husband liked that there was a safe that was easy to figure out. I would have preferred the TV across from the bed but it was fine. The pool was also very clean and delightful, and of course, the hotel is right on the ocean and the private beach is lovely. I did not even know until we were there that breakfast was included, and that was convenient--the fresh fruit was that--fresh. There was some noise from our neighbors, but it was after 8:00 AM and we were awake, so that was all right. One point off for the somewhat snarky guy who checked us in, making it obnoxiously clear we had to check out by 11:00. Ok, we got it! I might have sensed that people who stayed for one night weren't appreciated as much as people who stayed four nights. On the other hand, the woman at the front desk who printed out directions to the restaurant we wanted to go to was very helpful. We live in Miami and enjoy a getaway now and then. We will be back.

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hudson, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Checked in, hotel was under construction, and lobby was not clearly marked. Check in was a breeze, very friendly desk people. Room was small, but ok. For the most part it was pretty clean, the bathroom could have been a bit cleaner though. The price paid definitiely did not equal what I thought the room was worth.

Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandwich,ma
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

recently back from the sealord. nice little hotel right on the beach that is within walking distance of several restaraunts/bars. had a great time. the staff was very helpful and friendly. always a smile on their faces. booked a king standard room with no ocean view or balcony. this was fine for us as usually we spend all day on the beach. the bed was comfortable and the room was clean and modern.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you for sharing such wonderful comments on your recent stay at The Sea Lord Hotel & Suites.

We are delighted to know that our staff provided you with attentive service and that you also admired our beautiful property. All our rooms are updated, clean and tastefully furnished, extending the utmost comfort for any type of traveler. But, what makes us so special is an amazing location. 150 feet of private beach lay in front of you when you step from the pool deck. I'm sure that's where you had been spending most of your time. We are looking forward to see you again!

Sincerely,
Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkland, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2011

Recently my husband,myself and our 8 year old daughter decided to take an overnight trip to the beach 30 minutes from our home. We wanted to spend time in the sun and on the beach. So we chose this hotel based on a recommendation from an older friend of ours who heard about it. Unfortunately she did not see it, so we booked it based on the pictures from the website.However, they only showed large rooms or suites and when we booked they only had a deluxe standard room available and normally rents out for 4 nights minimum, but they said we could have it for the one night (Sunday) that we would be there and charged us $180 + tax. The hotel itself was not glamorous but it was clean and we felt it would suffice for one night. That was util we saw our room, that was when we found it. It was tucked in a corner behind a door that said 403-404 but did not have the card key lock so we asked for help and the housekeeper opened the door for us and we were in a tiny little alcove with another door to room 403, we were 404. When we entered the room we were majorly disappointed ,it was smal dark and smelled.We had no balcony and our only windo looked out on the public walkway for hotel guests. The people next to us (snowbirds) had full kitchens and everything they cooked seeped into our air vent into our room. In the morning we heard the people on the otherside of us go to the bathroom, brush there teeth, we could smell the mint, make coffee we could smell that also and then came breakfast all of the smells from both rooms. We left that room at 8:30 am and never returned! Our recommendation is to ask to see the rooms before signing anything and if they try to put you into room 404 say NO.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OlgaSeaLord, Front Office Manager at Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 30, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share such valuable feedback as we find this to be a most useful tool in our efforts to continuously improve the service we provide to our guests. We have reviewed your comments and we are disappointed that we did not meet your expectations.

We have rooms of different sizes, ranging from standard rooms to oceanfront suites. While our guest rooms, the room type you reserved, are indeed smaller than our suites, we often receive positive reviews on the spaciousness of our accommodations. Indeed, our guest rooms are larger than most comparable hotels in the vicinity. Our guests have different needs during their stay and usually for shorter stays like yours they are willing to sacrifice space and views for just being able to walk from a pool deck right to the beach. Considering the difference in price between guest rooms and oceanfront rooms, it’s really worth it. How much time do you really spend in the room when it’s 80 degrees outside and the ocean awaits you? If we had had any oceanfront apartments available at that time, you would have enjoyed your stay more. I regret that it wasn’t a pleasant experience for you. I have noted the areas we can improve on and have addressed them with our entire management team.

I hope you give us the opportunity to restore your confidence in us and will look forward to having you stay with us again. Kindly, please do not hesitate to contact me personally at (954) 776 1505, or at reservations@sealordhote.com, when you need another beach getaway and I will be happy to take care of all of your arrangements. I’m sure you can have a better experience with us.

Regards,
Olga
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2011

If you want total relaxation, location,beachfront, friendly atmosphere, breakfast complimentary, and sharing conversations with people whom many are returning guests year after then I would highly recommend this facility. It is remarkable everything is spotless. The hotel has gone through a complete renovation. Hospitality from the owner Emil and his staff is terrific. You are only a few short blocks from the Town Square of Lauderdale by the Sea with an impressive array of restaurants and shops. The town is quaint and vibrant every Friday evening with a closed down square with musical entertainment.
During our stay the maintenance staff was always checking hallway lights, watering plants, or attending to other areas of the hotel. That is impressive. Everyone takes pride in their role. Breakfast include fresh eggs,fruit, bagels, waffles. and sausage.
The pool is relaxing and is kept at a temperature where you can just step in. More improvements are going on with a brand new lobby. Finding something this nice was truly a blessing. I will return.
We hated to pack and return home to winter.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2011

I totally agree with all the excellent reviews and comments on the high quality of the Sea Lord Hotel ( Location, staff team, rooms and cleanliness).
My Husband and I just came back from our 3rd journey there since january 2010.
We have been staying in many very good hotels around the world for business or vacation in the past 30 years, and the Sea Lord still comes one of the first in all aspects.
The guests we met at the Sea Lord seem to be as happy and charmed than us.
We highly recommend it to our best friends for their next trip to Florida.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sea Lord Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sea Lord Hotel & Suites

Address: 4140 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 30 hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sea Lord Hotel & Suites 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sea Lord is located on South Florida's exclusive Gold Coast and provides spectacular views in a relaxing atmosphere. At the Sea Lord we pride ourselves on our friendly hospitality. Our dedicated management and staff are eager to make your holiday the most memorable ever. The good life is here. Visit us once and we are sure that you will be like our many guests who return again and again. Allow us to make Sea Lord your home away from home. We have 47 rooms including 27 suites and 8 different types of rooms to choose from. Continental Breakfast is included as well as parking, Wi-fi and beach towels.You'll enjoy dining and shopping just 10 minutes walking distance. The area is perfect for family vacation, romantic getaway or just your annual visit to Florida. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Sea Lord Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sea Lord Hotel And Suites
Sea Lord Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Sea Lord
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sea Lord Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.