We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK Restaurant” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Athena By The Sea

Athena By The Sea
4400 N Ocean Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3609
954-771-2900
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Peyton, Colorado
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“OK Restaurant”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Limited menu. Food was just ok and way overpriced. Not a place we would return to. Good location, on the beach.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    62
    29
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
albuquerque n.m. 87120
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“A fabulous Greek restaurant!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

We saw a lot of people dining as we drove by, but no long line. We found both the service and the food to be excellent. The restaurant filled up by the time we left, but itwas never loud enough to not be able to carry on a conversation. We were visiting our daughter before boarding a cruise ship, so it was special occaion and Athena povided a wonderful background for our get-together.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, MI
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“A pleasant surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

I actually was suprised with how delicious my meal was at Athena By the Sea. Located right in the heart of Lauderdale by the Sea, I wasn't expecting much. It was really good, though, and our waitress was informed and delightful. We started out with an octopus appetizer, mainly for curiosity's sake, and it was beautifully prepared. I also ordered Yellow Snapper Francese, a delicate preparation that was perfect. It came with creatively prepared peas and potatoes. The Greek influence was subtley evident. My husband had a lamb shank over an orzo dish. Everything was extremely hot and quickly brought out from the kitchen.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“It was great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013 via mobile

Great food and great people and a wonderful place to eat at and was walking distance from the Great Escape Inn where I stayed

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
686 reviews 686 reviews
542 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 172 cities Reviews in 172 cities
836 helpful votes 836 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Food was very mediocre. A chicken kabab with 3 pieces of meat, a few onion and pepper slices on a huge mound of rice is $19. Prices were to high for the portion and food quality. Water dripped on us continuously the whole meal from the air vent above. Service was excruciatingly slow. Not my favorite by a long shot.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Athena By The Sea also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 

Been to Athena By The Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Athena By The Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.