We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa del Sol
Save
You added Costa del Sol to your Saves list
4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Tracy, California
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This would definitely be rated a 5 in my book if two things could be addressed. First the staff was not very attentive and second the room needed some upgrades. Those were really all that I can nitpick about. This is an excellent location that is a small establishment in between mile after mile of large condo buildings. It is quiet, and close enough to walk to restaurants, bars, and shopping. This beach is literally within steps of your room.
I think that we had one of the two best rooms in the resort. Room 205 and 305 are closest to the beach and have a balcony that almost hangs over the sand. These two rooms are one on top of the other and are on the corner where you still have a slight view of the pool area too. The next best, in my humble opinion, based solely on location, would be rooms 204, 202, 201 and rooms 304,302, 301. Rooms 203 and 303 have an obstructed view with large palm trees, but would not be bad if that does not bother you.
This is currently October 2013 and there is some construction going on, so be aware and request a room away from the construction. It was not too bad, but it is definitely going on.
Now for a little whining. The room is dated and needs some fresh draperies, carpets, bedspreads, counter tops, etc. Next, each time that we had a request for staff, we were ignored. I try not to be a complainer, but sometimes it really annoys me. We requested clean sheets for the king size bed after the first night. A little too much "vacation" had made one of the roommates sick and clean sheets were required. After several days (3) and many requests, the maid changed the towels...not the sheets...the towels. Several more pleading (begging) requests fell on deaf ears. Twice a week, you get made service and we were finally allowed to sleep on clean sheets and not a bare mattress. The second request was less important but was more of a safety issue. Our phone did not work at all in the room. Several requests were met with a chuckle and a shoulder shrug. It was never fixed. Our cell phones are Verizon and they did not have service in most of the complex but were fine further down the street.
Everything considered, we would definitely go back. My complaints here are more aimed at management so that they can perfect an already wonderful resort.

Room Tip: You really can't find a "bad" room, but some a better than others.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

37 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    16
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
21
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hyndman, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

This is a very nice place to stay with everything in close range. I do think they have taken the no smoking policies a bit to extreme as this is a no smoking facility. I don't consider myself a big smoker but I do like to have a smoke with an occassional drink while relaxing on a balcony when on vacation and couldn't even do that. I don't mind and in fact support no smoking in buildings and vehicles as I hate the smell but not to be able to smoke outdoors is a little extreme in my opinion, which doesn't matter. All in all, the property is a very nice place, clean, comfortable and family friendly.

Room Tip: Ocean front and the ground level with pool access is great as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

This is a fantastic little place right on the beach. Have been coming here for a number of years and more impressed everytime we are here. It is a very comfortable, well maintained and clean property. The location is spectacular - right on the beach overlooking the ocean and close to the shops and restaurants of Lauderdale By The Sea. The units on the second and third floor have balconies overlooking the ocean with very comfortable chairs. Very nice touch. There is a great BBQ on the property with areas to eat outside (including an area under the shade). The place has everything you want for a relaxing beach holiday. The staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The best rooms are on the second and third floors with the balconies facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this location for 12 days. The first 7 days we had a first floor corner unit, with a partial view of the ocean, next to the pool. The unit was clean and comfortable. At 6'1" I found the bed to be a little short for me. On the other hand, the location is great. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The resort is right on the beach and close to shopping and various restaurants. The drive to Miami/South Beach is only about 30 miles. For the last part of our trip, we stayed in a second floor unit which had a balcony and a panoramic ocean view. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Second or third floors allows for a bit more privacy and a wonderful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

Great place, very quiet, heated pool which was great as temperature was cool. Restaurants are close, great coffee at the coffee shop on commercial boul. The sunrises are incredible and the ocean is 100 feet away. They also have free parking and free wi fi which was appreciated. Need to get an ocean view this close and this private at least once in your lifetime. The rooms are large, king size bed, fully furnished condos! Great

Comment for manager, i would definitely remove the flags, that way you would save taking them down on windy days, took a few pictures and in my opinion, flags are outdated in pictures without them make your hotel much classier and nicer to look at . Would also improve the view for some of the balconies and when sitting at pool to get ocean view and not have the noise of flags flustering in the wind. Alll in all very nice place to be quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Bob Major, Montreal, QC

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything was just right. We had a queen-size one bedroom (Room 207) with an ocean "side view". The ocean view from our patio and living room was quite wide and very nice. The patio faced south and was nicely protected from the wind, relatively private and quiet. The Costa del Sol is not a high upscale resort, but it's of very good, comfortable quality and well kept. The elevator is a plus for those staying on upper floors. Although it's a time share, we just rented for the week. The quests during the first week of February were low-key, quiet and middle-aged to older, which made for a very nice relaxing atmosphere. It has a nice pool area and is just steps from the beautiful wide beach. Within walking distance to the shops and restaurants near Commercial Boulevard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

WOW..this place is great! I can't believe this is one of my favorite vacations! This place only has one bedroom, one baths...but they have brand new commercial pull out sofas that are quite comfy! No granite counters, no high end decor..this feels like Fla from my childhood. Now, if that makes you think that this place is not for you...WOW, are you wrong!!! I'm used to the Marriott properties...gorgeous interiors and high end everything! However, this place is a diamond in the rough. The property is located directly on the ocean...no road or boardwalk between you and the ocean..just you, sand and water. Most units directly face the beach head on, some face the beach sideways, but all have the ocean in site. I prefer the direct facing units, make sure to request that view. The pool is beautiful and there is no reason to fight for a chaise lounge, there are plenty and they are new! I have not incurred screaming kids, everyone has always been polite. There is a professional grill with lighting for night cooking that is available for all, it's clean and huge. There is also a coffee shop that serves free coffee and you can reserve it for dinner get- togethers..groups will have Italian nites, steak dinners and I've even hosted a Greek nite. One visit here and you are hooked. The people all look out for one another, all ages, no bitter old people. here...there are old people - but they are positive child loving people.....what a change for Florida! There are scuba diving couples that dive right out from the resort. There is no absolute need for a car rental but I definitely prefer the freedom. Shopping on rainy days saves your sanity with two kids in tow. The kitchens are outfitted with all you need to cook every meal, however, a short 3 block walk away and you have the choice of at least 15 plus good restaurants. I can't stress how comfortable the units are and once again you can't find a better view...total privacy!!! I love it here and will come back each year with my family!!

Room Tip: King bed rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol

Address: 4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Costa Del Sol Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.