We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ocean View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa del Sol
4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Oakland, California
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Excellent Ocean View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stayed at this location for 12 days. The first 7 days we had a first floor corner unit, with a partial view of the ocean, next to the pool. The unit was clean and comfortable. At 6'1" I found the bed to be a little short for me. On the other hand, the location is great. The staff was friendly and very accommodating. The resort is right on the beach and close to shopping and various restaurants. The drive to Miami/South Beach is only about 30 miles. For the last part of our trip, we stayed in a second floor unit which had a balcony and a panoramic ocean view. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Second or third floors allows for a bit more privacy and a wonderful view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
10
19
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013 via mobile

Great place, very quiet, heated pool which was great as temperature was cool. Restaurants are close, great coffee at the coffee shop on commercial boul. The sunrises are incredible and the ocean is 100 feet away. They also have free parking and free wi fi which was appreciated. Need to get an ocean view this close and this private at least once in your lifetime. The rooms are large, king size bed, fully furnished condos! Great

Comment for manager, i would definitely remove the flags, that way you would save taking them down on windy days, took a few pictures and in my opinion, flags are outdated in pictures without them make your hotel much classier and nicer to look at . Would also improve the view for some of the balconies and when sitting at pool to get ocean view and not have the noise of flags flustering in the wind. Alll in all very nice place to be quiet. Would definitely recommend.

Bob Major, Montreal, QC

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Everything was just right. We had a queen-size one bedroom (Room 207) with an ocean "side view". The ocean view from our patio and living room was quite wide and very nice. The patio faced south and was nicely protected from the wind, relatively private and quiet. The Costa del Sol is not a high upscale resort, but it's of very good, comfortable quality and well kept. The elevator is a plus for those staying on upper floors. Although it's a time share, we just rented for the week. The quests during the first week of February were low-key, quiet and middle-aged to older, which made for a very nice relaxing atmosphere. It has a nice pool area and is just steps from the beautiful wide beach. Within walking distance to the shops and restaurants near Commercial Boulevard.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

WOW..this place is great! I can't believe this is one of my favorite vacations! This place only has one bedroom, one baths...but they have brand new commercial pull out sofas that are quite comfy! No granite counters, no high end decor..this feels like Fla from my childhood. Now, if that makes you think that this place is not for you...WOW, are you wrong!!! I'm used to the Marriott properties...gorgeous interiors and high end everything! However, this place is a diamond in the rough. The property is located directly on the ocean...no road or boardwalk between you and the ocean..just you, sand and water. Most units directly face the beach head on, some face the beach sideways, but all have the ocean in site. I prefer the direct facing units, make sure to request that view. The pool is beautiful and there is no reason to fight for a chaise lounge, there are plenty and they are new! I have not incurred screaming kids, everyone has always been polite. There is a professional grill with lighting for night cooking that is available for all, it's clean and huge. There is also a coffee shop that serves free coffee and you can reserve it for dinner get- togethers..groups will have Italian nites, steak dinners and I've even hosted a Greek nite. One visit here and you are hooked. The people all look out for one another, all ages, no bitter old people. here...there are old people - but they are positive child loving people.....what a change for Florida! There are scuba diving couples that dive right out from the resort. There is no absolute need for a car rental but I definitely prefer the freedom. Shopping on rainy days saves your sanity with two kids in tow. The kitchens are outfitted with all you need to cook every meal, however, a short 3 block walk away and you have the choice of at least 15 plus good restaurants. I can't stress how comfortable the units are and once again you can't find a better view...total privacy!!! I love it here and will come back each year with my family!!

Room Tip: King bed rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

We've stay at Costa del Sol four times now -- three times with a timeshare and in October 2012, we rented directly from the property. It wasn't exactly cheap, but the rooms have a FANTASTIC view of the ocean and the closeness of restaurants/bars/grocery stores, etc. just cannot be beat! We don't have children, so we always vacation when school is in session (i.e. we never run into screaming kids at the pool or beach). The housekeeping staff is very nice and they do a really nice job on keeping the rooms clean. The fall is when the property does most of the major maintenance, so we've always run into some construction going on in September/October. Sometimes it has been a major inconvenience, sometimes it just minor. It's good to know they are keeping the property up, though -- that's a good sign. The kitchen is very well equipped, the bathroom and and bedroom are of a good size, and the balcony is very nice for 2 people to sit. We really love this place, which is why we keep coming back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were worried about this place because it had only one current review. What a great surprise and great vacation. Try to get an end room, king size bed. The ocean view is great and the noise is less. These are older, but well kept and clean timeshare condos. Ref, Stove, microwave, toaster, blender...you get the point everything you need.
Maid service, not every day, but all you need.
The place has a new General Manager and he is good to the employees and his guests.
Nice pool, but too many screaming kids.They could offer nice beach chairs, but you can live with the old ones...
No restaurant, but the place is close to everything..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This property is right on the beach and is well maintained. Daily towel service and mid-week cleaning is provided. The area [Lauderdale by the Sea] is a small community but it is a few miles up the road from Ft. Lauderdale, Pompano, Miami etc, larger communities with more exciting stuff. The condo we had was well-appointed but if you want top-flight appliances, granite counter-tops and expensive furniture, this is not your place. My wife and I were well-pleased with the accommodations but we don't expect the "lap of luxury" when we vacation. There is a very nice pool at the resort that is well-maintained. A short walk from the complex gets you to the center of LBTS where you can get the basics you need [restaurants, souvenir shops, etc.]. This area is well know for the coral reefs but you have to snorkel or scuba. You need a car to really explore the area. Everglades air boating is not too far away, as well as tons of shopping [we went to the South Florida Flea Market--it was HUGE]. This place is a relaxing, well-maintained "get away" for people who want enjoy an uncrowded beach. Costa del Sol did not have many kids at the resort when we were there. Warning, this area of Florida is expensive but if you know this in advance, the cost is not too much of a turn off. Keep in mind that everything costs a lot from a can of black beans to a meal in a not-too-fancy restaurant. The more expensive restaurants are in the town center but my wife and I love to go to the little places that are on Commercial Boulevard. A shout out to Keeses, which looks "like a hole in the wall" but they really know how to turn out very good Mediterranean food. We went there three times. Most of all, at Costa del Solf, go for the beach; go for the nice resort. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are on the ocean but about three don't face the ocean directly. The resort is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol

Address: 4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 31 hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Costa Del Sol Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Costa del Sol to your Saves list