We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Well Kept Secret” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa del Sol
Save
You added Costa del Sol to your Saves list
4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Richmond, Virginia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“A Well Kept Secret”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

We were worried about this place because it had only one current review. What a great surprise and great vacation. Try to get an end room, king size bed. The ocean view is great and the noise is less. These are older, but well kept and clean timeshare condos. Ref, Stove, microwave, toaster, blender...you get the point everything you need.
Maid service, not every day, but all you need.
The place has a new General Manager and he is good to the employees and his guests.
Nice pool, but too many screaming kids.They could offer nice beach chairs, but you can live with the old ones...
No restaurant, but the place is close to everything..

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    15
    2
    2
    2
See reviews for
11
20
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hopkinsville, Kentucky
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2012

This property is right on the beach and is well maintained. Daily towel service and mid-week cleaning is provided. The area [Lauderdale by the Sea] is a small community but it is a few miles up the road from Ft. Lauderdale, Pompano, Miami etc, larger communities with more exciting stuff. The condo we had was well-appointed but if you want top-flight appliances, granite counter-tops and expensive furniture, this is not your place. My wife and I were well-pleased with the accommodations but we don't expect the "lap of luxury" when we vacation. There is a very nice pool at the resort that is well-maintained. A short walk from the complex gets you to the center of LBTS where you can get the basics you need [restaurants, souvenir shops, etc.]. This area is well know for the coral reefs but you have to snorkel or scuba. You need a car to really explore the area. Everglades air boating is not too far away, as well as tons of shopping [we went to the South Florida Flea Market--it was HUGE]. This place is a relaxing, well-maintained "get away" for people who want enjoy an uncrowded beach. Costa del Sol did not have many kids at the resort when we were there. Warning, this area of Florida is expensive but if you know this in advance, the cost is not too much of a turn off. Keep in mind that everything costs a lot from a can of black beans to a meal in a not-too-fancy restaurant. The more expensive restaurants are in the town center but my wife and I love to go to the little places that are on Commercial Boulevard. A shout out to Keeses, which looks "like a hole in the wall" but they really know how to turn out very good Mediterranean food. We went there three times. Most of all, at Costa del Solf, go for the beach; go for the nice resort. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms are on the ocean but about three don't face the ocean directly. The resort is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2011

We spent a week here, so relaxing. Very clean, staff is friendly. Just remember it is a timeshare resort, so 98% of people staying there are owners. So if you have children that like to run around and jump in the pool there will be dirty looks from people. Mind you we did meet great friends there, it's too bad that some of the timeshare owners make you feel a little uncomfortable, they really think they own the whole place. But it won't stop me from going there, for the price we paid you can't get any better. Your balcony is so close to the water you can throw a stone and hit it. And you are walking distance to good restaurants and the fishing pier. Going back again in 2012!!

Room Tip: If you do travel with children, try and get ground floor room. It would be much easier for access to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
China Grove, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

You cannot get a better view of the ocean from either your room, balcony or by the pool. This resort has only one bedroom units, perfect for two people. Nice flat screen in livingroom, extra tv in bedroom. Kitchen is nicely furnished, including a dishwasher. The only items missing in the unit are washer and dryer (on site for quarters) and ceiling fans. They have a wonderful grill for outdoor cooking and free coffee in the coffee shop all day. I would have rated a 5 but I was there with heavy duty noisy reconstuction going on. I do love this place and always hate to go home. Highly recommend for a great getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family stayed at Costa del Sol for a before school starts vacation. We had a great time. The place was clean and well stocked with towels. We loved the view: our room overlooked the pool and beach. My wife and I would sit on the balcony at night, talk and listen to the surf. The pool area was nice. The master bedroom was large. When we arrived we went onto the balcony to see what sort of view we had. Looking staight ahead we saw the ocean and a full rainbow. We knew we arrived in paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms directly in front of the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just spent a week at Costa Del Sol and enjoyed it very much. The views of the ocean are fantastic, the rooms were clean and up to date, the pool and grounds were immaculate and the staff was helpful. The location was great - an easy 2 block walk into Lauderdale by the Sea, a cute little town with the usual tourist shops, some unique shops and some great restaurants, plus Kilwin's for ice cream. Very wholesome neighborhood, no worries about our teenagers walking into town and exploring. The resort does not have a restaurant - only a "cafe" with free coffee every day. They expect to have WiFi in all of the rooms soon, but the cafe has WiFi now and there are internet cables available for the guest rooms. Kitches are furnished with very basic equipment - a trip to the grocery store is needed. This is a time share resort and most of the other guests seemed to know each other but were still friendly to us. I would recommend this resort and would stay there again. Wish I was still there...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I recently returned from Costa Del Sol. My husband and I stayed 7 nights. The resort is nice and the ocean views were stunning. Our unit (311) was furnished nicely. It was a one bedroom unit with a beautiful view of the pool and the ocean. The balcony was very nice, with nice furniture. I sat outside every morning. Our kitchen was well equipped and very useful. The bathroom was a good size with a tub and shower combination. The unit was very large, clean and comfortable.
The pool was small but perfect. There was also a large gas grill. Lots of guest used the grill. It was very convenient.
The grocery store (Publix) was about 1 mile from the resort. We were able to find everything we needed at reasonable prices.
There were several good restaurants and shops in the immediate area (3 minute walk). We made the 3 minute walk every day for lunch and to visit the ice cream and chocolate shops. There was a free outdoor Jazz concert on Friday night in the shopping area.
The beach area was very quite, clean and relaxing. I spent a lot of time reading and enjoying the view. The rooms are steps away from the beach, but there were not many guests sitting around on the beach. I believe it was because there were no beach chairs and umbrellas. The resort charged $3.00 for beach chairs. However, there were more than enough chairs around the pool that also faced the beach, so most guest sat at the pool and walked out on the beach when they wanted to enjoy the water.
There was plenty of free parking on premises and the area was extremely safe for walking, jogging, running or any other outdoor exercise.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Stephanie was nice and did a great job of answering all of my questions before and after arrival. She is very knowledgeable of the resort and the surrounding area.
Overall this resort is great for those who are looking for a quite place to relax.
I am a travel agent and I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol

Address: 4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Costa Del Sol Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.