We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful View” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Costa del Sol

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Costa del Sol
Save
You added Costa del Sol to your Saves list
4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
China Grove, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Beautiful View”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

You cannot get a better view of the ocean from either your room, balcony or by the pool. This resort has only one bedroom units, perfect for two people. Nice flat screen in livingroom, extra tv in bedroom. Kitchen is nicely furnished, including a dishwasher. The only items missing in the unit are washer and dryer (on site for quarters) and ceiling fans. They have a wonderful grill for outdoor cooking and free coffee in the coffee shop all day. I would have rated a 5 but I was there with heavy duty noisy reconstuction going on. I do love this place and always hate to go home. Highly recommend for a great getaway.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    18
    2
    2
    3
See reviews for
14
23
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2011

Our family stayed at Costa del Sol for a before school starts vacation. We had a great time. The place was clean and well stocked with towels. We loved the view: our room overlooked the pool and beach. My wife and I would sit on the balcony at night, talk and listen to the surf. The pool area was nice. The master bedroom was large. When we arrived we went onto the balcony to see what sort of view we had. Looking staight ahead we saw the ocean and a full rainbow. We knew we arrived in paradise.

Room Tip: The rooms directly in front of the pool are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2011

We just spent a week at Costa Del Sol and enjoyed it very much. The views of the ocean are fantastic, the rooms were clean and up to date, the pool and grounds were immaculate and the staff was helpful. The location was great - an easy 2 block walk into Lauderdale by the Sea, a cute little town with the usual tourist shops, some unique shops and some great restaurants, plus Kilwin's for ice cream. Very wholesome neighborhood, no worries about our teenagers walking into town and exploring. The resort does not have a restaurant - only a "cafe" with free coffee every day. They expect to have WiFi in all of the rooms soon, but the cafe has WiFi now and there are internet cables available for the guest rooms. Kitches are furnished with very basic equipment - a trip to the grocery store is needed. This is a time share resort and most of the other guests seemed to know each other but were still friendly to us. I would recommend this resort and would stay there again. Wish I was still there...

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2010

I recently returned from Costa Del Sol. My husband and I stayed 7 nights. The resort is nice and the ocean views were stunning. Our unit (311) was furnished nicely. It was a one bedroom unit with a beautiful view of the pool and the ocean. The balcony was very nice, with nice furniture. I sat outside every morning. Our kitchen was well equipped and very useful. The bathroom was a good size with a tub and shower combination. The unit was very large, clean and comfortable.
The pool was small but perfect. There was also a large gas grill. Lots of guest used the grill. It was very convenient.
The grocery store (Publix) was about 1 mile from the resort. We were able to find everything we needed at reasonable prices.
There were several good restaurants and shops in the immediate area (3 minute walk). We made the 3 minute walk every day for lunch and to visit the ice cream and chocolate shops. There was a free outdoor Jazz concert on Friday night in the shopping area.
The beach area was very quite, clean and relaxing. I spent a lot of time reading and enjoying the view. The rooms are steps away from the beach, but there were not many guests sitting around on the beach. I believe it was because there were no beach chairs and umbrellas. The resort charged $3.00 for beach chairs. However, there were more than enough chairs around the pool that also faced the beach, so most guest sat at the pool and walked out on the beach when they wanted to enjoy the water.
There was plenty of free parking on premises and the area was extremely safe for walking, jogging, running or any other outdoor exercise.
The staff was friendly and helpful. Stephanie was nice and did a great job of answering all of my questions before and after arrival. She is very knowledgeable of the resort and the surrounding area.
Overall this resort is great for those who are looking for a quite place to relax.
I am a travel agent and I would recommend this resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

This place was awesome and romantic place. My husband and I had a wonderful time. When we walk into the room it smell and look so clean, and this was everyday when we come back from sight seeing and activities. They change towels everyday, mop, and vacuum. The staff was friendly and helpful. We were down there while the storm was raging on the Gulf costal. But we stay in and enjoyed the view from our balcony.

We couldn’t leave on the date we booked so we call the office and ask could they hold our ocean front room for the next day. The lady at the front desk was very friendly and helpful and held our room with no questions asked. We checked in the next day with no problems. This is our second time visiting this resort and I will highly recommend this place and hope we see it again

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2009

We stayed at this timeshare resort for seven nights and were given a one-bedroom unit that overlooked the pool and then the ocean. The view was so beautiful that everytime I got up in the morning, it was a surprise to have such a wonderful view. The unit was well furnished and staff were accommodating. Once we figured out the in room internet, it worked fine. As we were centrally located over the pool on the second floor, I had some concerns that guests in the pool could look right into our unit but we soon realized that the glass was mirrored from the outside so they could not look in. LBTS is a wonderful little town....we even got to see the 4th of July parade which was very quaint. Treat yourself to drinks at the Aruba which is right on the beach and down the street from Costa. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend the Costa Del Sol.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2009

This place is ideal for a relaxing vacation. Clean, comfortable with an excellent location two blocks away from Lauderdale by Sea Town's Center.

There are all kinds of restaurants within walking distance, from excellent steak houses and seafood culinary delights down to pizza shops, sandwich shops and everything in between.

The beach is simply awesome, there is a reef 50 yards out off the shore and you'll see people come here to snorkel and scuba dive throughout the day. There is a dive shop that rents professional quality gear two blocks away. You can simply put on your snorkeling gear and swim out to the reef!

The units have been recently refurbished and include a full kitchen which is very convenient. The staff is friendly and very helpful. I will say that if you expect to be served as if you were at a Marriott, this is not the place for you. There is no on-site restaurant or room service.

The pool is average size, but never too crowded and thankfully not kid friendly, no "marco-polo" games, no under 3 year old babies to soil the water, no yelling, running, splashing or diving allowed. IMO, that's a good thing.

This place is an adult relaxation retreat for the self-sufficient types who don't mind preparing their own meals or going out to dinner.

Nightlife is available within walking distance with plenty of live music and dancing on the weekends.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 205 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
0.6 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#9 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 76 reviews
0.5 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#17 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Costa del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Costa del Sol

Address: 4220 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 30 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Number of rooms: 43
Also Known As:
Costa Del Sol Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Costa Del Sol Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Costa del Sol, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.