We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beach Diving Dream” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Windjammer Resort to your Saves list
Windjammer Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
30% off room rate
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beach Diving Dream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

Great location close to the water's edge. The reefs are about 50 yards from the shore where the lobsters are waiting to be lassoed. Showers and hoses to rinse off your diving gear! Kitchen in rooms help alleviate dining expenses. Very short walk to the Pier where the bars and nightlife are located. Lauderdale by the Sea is a very friendly place. If you do decide to dine out, please checkout Flannigan's off of Atlantic Blvd... great seafood and burgess, but very affordable!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    233
    41
    8
    5
    4
See reviews for
114
99
19
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2014

Visiting Lauderdale-By-The-Sea for the SCUBA diving events and wouldn't think of staying anywhere but at The Windjammer! Great rooms, great location, 2 great pool decks, and most of all great service! Windjammer is located within walking distance of all the great beachside dining shopping and entertainment and it's at the perfect spot for the shore diving this town is famous for.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

We were very disappointed with the size of the one bedroom unit at this resort. more the size of a studio. Luckily we did have some patio space out the bedroom door, where you could sit and read or possibly even eat a meal. The bathroom was the size of a closet with only a shower no bathtub, the sink was outside the bathroom, actual bathroom only contained a shower and toilet there was no space for anything else. Extremely small for 4, I guess 2 people could manage without a problem. The beach is very close, but it is a public beach. There are 2 pools and a nice BBQ area. They also have beach chairs, umbrellas and toys at no charge to use.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

This was my families fourth trip to the Windjammer Resort and we love it. We came in 07, 08, and 09 so this was our first time back in 5 years. And I love the changes that they made. Updating the elevator in the room, new gas grills, new chairs at the pool, new beach chairs and umbrellas, new Lofa sofas. My kids and I have such a great time there. The beds are super comfy and the views are spectacular! We were there for 4th of July and you couldn't have a better seat for the fireworks show.

The staff is always so friendly especially Jeremy and Deborah. They really made us feel welcome! Can't wait to come back and do it all again.

Thanks again for a wonderful time.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side have a view of the pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoutinGM, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Jennifer thank you so much for the great review. We are happy that your return was full of surprises. We do our best to make sure our Resort stays current and that our furnishings are replaced within 7 to 8 years or when necessary.

Being an Oceanfront resort requires constant maintenance and we stay on top of it to make sure our guests have the best experience possible.

We look forward to your return so that we can have more surprises for you.

Sincerely
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

What a great experience! Excellent accommodation, friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great location and good value for as much as you get.
Houskeeping and guest services were flawless and unnoticeable.
Overall a bargain in the perfect location, a slice of paradise i will not soon forget and can't wait to return

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

My wife & I are nomadic vacationers (private cruises, commercial cruises, & camping in our younger days). We rarely spend more than 2 days at one location, see the major sights & attractions & move on. In 40 years, I can count the time spent at one location for a week or more on one hand. This year we needed a break from our routine. For our Spring vacation, after studying the website & reading the reviews in Trip Advisor, we booked the 1st week of June at the Windjammer. It was in one word "Exceptional". The location is excellent. Right on the beach , your watersport of choice is available. If the beach or ocean isn't your thing, two pools are available for refreshment & relaxtion. The south side pool also has barbeque facilities & a beautifully landscaped terrace. Our oceanfront studio balcony was huge & was perfect for reading. relaxing, or people watching & the views are absolutely beautiful. The room itself was perfect for two people with full kitchen, comfortable queen size bed, small dining or multi-purpose table, two plush easy chairs, & bathroom with large shower. We were hardly in the room but rather out on the balcony, the beach, the town, or out exploring. The cleanliness of the grounds & rooms is immaculate. The entire staff is freindly, curtious, & helpfull. Other guests are friendly & outgoing-very easy to carry on a conversation with. A short walk into town offers you a variety of shopping & dining o[ptions. There are so many attractions in and around Lauderdale by the Sea, one week was not enough time for us to all we had hoped to do. The Windjammer is not a mega resort, but rather a small, intimate, family owned hideaway that offers the ultimate in value & relaxation. Our time here was the perfect respite for relaxation, redefining, & reconnecting This short week ranks in the top 5 of all vacations we have ever taken.Thank You Windjammer.

Room Tip: Study the Website & Trip Advisor reviews. South side #16 has fantastic views & a huge balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JohnBoutinGM, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Mike M WOW! Thank you very much for the kind words. We are so glad to have exceeded your expectations. I will share your comments with the staff so that they they see the fruits of their labor.

Whenever you travel in Florida other than here in LBTS, I invite you to please seek out other member properties of the Florida Superior Small Lodging network.

We are the hidden gems of Florida that do adhere to very high quality standards, but are all as you stated in your review, "but rather a small, intimate, family owned hideaway that offers the ultimate in value & relaxation."

We hope to see you again soon and for 2 weeks next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Level Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

We stayed 4 nights in studio 14 on the 2nd floor south side overlooking the pool. We found all staff to be friendly and responded quickly to any problems or needs. The room was extremely clean and daily servicing kept it that way. Our room had a queen size Murphy bed that was very comfortable and could be put away during the day for more room. The bathroom was small and had a very small shower. The small kitchen was stocked enough for us but most meals were eaten out with just a short walk to the main area of restaurants and shops. No need to drive. Also the pool can be noisy during the day and had 1 night until 10pm. Studio #14 was just right for 2 people but anymore you would need a larger room. Also a set of stairs to this level, no elevator. With the minor issues we would stay again in #14.

The beach is right off the back and on this side was a narrow and steep set of stairs to go down to access the beach. This could be a problem if you have difficulty walking or handicapped. In that case you could stay on the other side for easy beach access.

I also dove there and the other side has a very nice staging area to set up your gear and walk right onto the beach. High tide is best for entry as low tide makes the walk a lot farther to deep enough water to get your fins on or your BCD. Like others have said the Windjammer is right at the best reef area just south of the pier and the max depth is 15ft at the closest reef and makes for good snorkeling too. Great place for novice divers to work on skills.

Overall we loved our stay and will be back in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are by pool. End units would be best 1st or 2nd floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lauderdale by the Sea
0.5 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 211 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#4 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 270 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
Sea Lord Hotel & Suites
#15 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#9 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 136 reviews
0.4 mi away
Castle by the Sea
Castle by the Sea
#11 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 79 reviews
0.6 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#14 of 30 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Windjammer Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.