We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for beach with everything in walking distance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windjammer Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Windjammer Resort to your Saves list
Windjammer Resort
4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Buffalo, New York
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great place for beach with everything in walking distance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Our recent stay at the Windjammer (5/24-27) was very enjoyable. Not only did my wife and I catch great weather, the facility offers everthing you need to truly enjoy your stay. The resort is withing walking distance to shopping, restaurants, live music, and home owned small shops. Service at the Windjammer exceeded our expectations. Would definatley stay again.

Richard/Linda V, Buffalo, NY

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    29
    5
    4
    5
See reviews for
85
83
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ocean front property with easy access to beach. Resort provides chairs and umbrellas to use during stay. Two lovely pools and great sunning areas, shared outdoor grill and a wonderful outdoor sitting space. Rooms have kitchenette with appliances and great views. Great service and friendly manager. Hotel is also walking distance from pier and lots of shopping and restaurants. Plan on going back again.

Room Tip: Upstairs on south end only accessible by stairs, but nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welland, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Our stay at the Windjammer was absolutely wonderful. Everything really is at your doorstep, from where you park your car to accessing the beach or pool. Restaurants and shops are all within a very short walk, yet you still feel like you are at one of the most relaxing locations in Florida.
The staff are always friendly and courteous maintaining a very positive attitude towards helping the guests and ensuring the facility is always spotless.
We would highly recommend this location to anyone looking for complete relaxation on the beach or at one of the two pools.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashburn, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Recently stayed at the Windjammer Resort (May 11-15). The price was excellent compared to other beachfront properties. The resort is small and cozy, a home away from home. Service was excellent and the grounds were maintained well. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. They provide free parking, and free beach chairs and umbrellas. The beach is amazing and not crowded. The location is within walking distance to restaurants and shopping. If you are looking to relax on your vacation, Windjammer Resort is the place to choose. I generally do not visit the same place twice but I would visit Lauderdale by the Sea again and stay at Windjammer Resort. Loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Windjammer Resort for two weeks. This resort is probably among the best in Florida. It was clean, well cared for and exceeded our expectations. I saw no rowdiness at all, and I cannot imagine that the "hands-on" management would allow it. Beautiful grounds, lovely accommodations, bright and clean and lovingly cared for. Simply could not ask for more. Truly delighted with our stay.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnboutin, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear Cusagirl,

We are delighted that you found us and appreciated our efforts to provide you with “Oceanfront relaxation at its best”. We hope that you will allow us the opportunity to provide you with more of the same on a return visit. We thank you for this nice review and remember that at Windjammer return guests are always entitled to a 10% discount.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Michigan
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

We stayed here for the first time this past week (April 19-26). The price was reasonable and it was a PERFECT choice! VERY clean, great location and ameneties. The rooms and grounds are very clean and well maintained, and the kitchens are well equipped. The rooms are also very up to date. Their website is accurate as to what you will experience - from the beach cam to the room photos. Beach chairs and umbrellas are provided (first come first served, although we never had an issue getting two chairs and an umbrella - so they obviously planned carefully) and they are of very high quality (Tommy Bahama brand). Just off shore is a live coral reef (about 300 feet out) that we saw many folks snorkeling and diving on throughout the week. The beach is gorgeous and clean. They thought of everything - from a cheese grater in the kitchen, to a pair of bikes you can borrow, and even a device allowing disabled folks access to the pool. This management team clearly cares about their guests' needs. The staff of the Windjammer is outstandingly helpful and friendly as well.

Just South of the Windjammer, (within easy walking distance) are several shops and nice restaurants (highly recommend Burgerfi with their craft beers and chili dogs). A few blocks to the North, you can get on the Water Taxi which will take you all the way to Hollywood and several stops in between. We spent a very enjoyable day doing that as the Water Taxi crew pointed out homes of the rich and famous along the way as well as yachts of the rich and famous.

I could go on and on, but the message here is that this vacation was worth every penny and I will not hesitate to stay at the Windjammer again. A real rarity - great value, outstanding customer service and a perfect location. Try them out - you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Use their room map on their website - they actually show your view from each room and what each room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
johnboutin, General Manager at Windjammer Resort, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Dear KuhRAHLa,

My, what a nice review you wrote. Thank you so very much for the kind words. You’ve capture the essence of the lodging experience that we strive to provide our guests. Windjammer is a Superior Small Lodging Association property and that provides us with the knowledge and desire to be exceptional. Member properties of the SSLA are held to very high standards and inspected annually to ensure compliance. When traveling in Florida, seek out Superior Small Lodging Association properties and you will always be assured of a splendid lodging experience. Thank you again for this wonderful review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saguatuck, MI
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Have stayed here in high season but now prices are lower and the biggest problem is the clientele taking advantage of the lower rates seems to be a different crowd -- loud, drunk, and lack of basic manners. These were not college spring breakers, they were 40+ adults, foul mouthed, guys who think making foul remarks to you wife is flirtatious.

The other issue is towels. Management, please reading the posting in each of your efficiencies. Very clearly, in print, you state that those rooms should receive 4 beach towels and 4 bath towels, just like the one bedroom units. But, you apparently haven't told your staff to read these bulletin boards. Follow your own rules.

Room Tip: Get a room on the south side. North side is too noisy with the rift-raft yelling down the balconies...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windjammer Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windjammer Resort

Address: 4244 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#6 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windjammer Resort Hotel is located away from the crowds and sits on a wide and gorgeous palm-lined beach. Modern suites, all with kitchens, provide guests with superb views of the Atlantic Ocean and direct access to a pristine uncrowded beach. One block away is Pelican Square, the center of activity in the charming and secure seaside town of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, on the east side of Fort Lauderdale, Florida. Relaxation and comfort are assured with a pristine uncrowded beach, two heated pools, a well maintained facility, friendly staff and very clean apartments. Our beachfront property is a White Glove Award recipient from the Superior Small Lodging Association eight years in a row. Unique to the Windjammer Resort Hotel is that from our beach you can snorkel or dive to a renowned coral reef, walk to the best fishing/sightseeing pier in South Florida and to a variety of shopping, restaurants and bars. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Windjammer Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windjammer Resort And Beach Club
Windjammer Resort & Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Windjammer Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windjammer Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.