We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“check ur room !!!!!!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dee Jay Beach Resort

Dee Jay Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dee Jay Beach Resort
Save
You added Dee Jay Beach Resort to your Saves list
4617 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
mrvacationvip
1 review
“check ur room !!!!!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2008

i checked in wednesday checked out thursday.....
i booked a room the one bedroom and it was supposed to be the room in the pictures. black white tile floor. nice new and clean. but when i got there i was brought to a back building. it was old the walls were dirty had black marks all over the walls & doors banged up crumbs all over dust all over, there was a fork on the chair in the living room which wasnt even a living room it was described as a living room with sofa bed... it was a room attached to the kitchen with a bed and a chair with the tv . kitchen was so old and dirty drawers broken. ants on the phone and inthe bathroom. looked like no one had been in there for months. but they gave me a deal off 400 one week. so i stayed ...the lady said there all the same. well the pool u can barely move. theres like one foot of side walk around the pool between the buildings. well night came. pulled the sheets there were stuff in the bed. my friend fell asleep in her room woke up all bite marks. we were all itchy. my bed samething. called down the lady it was 11pm. told her the problem. said i should have said something earlier, i said people go to bed at night. so she said she was gonna switch me in the morning. so i went bought bug spray and plastic table clothes and towels to sleep on. sprayedthe bed and all bed bugs came out. so the next morning she told me t was 108 more to change but there rates are the same. said i was lying about the bugs. so i checked out and had to spend way more than i wanted to somewhere else but it was clean and worth it. im not saying dont stay here. just if u dont get the front building rooms on el mar drive if not then leave. i mean the front says resort the back says motel. with a different adress. i was the only one backthere. she told me they all checked out the day before. when i checked in the other hotel told her the problem she said wait the back building i thought they knockedthat down when they builtthe front... but that lady got fired days after casue i had to go back casue my money wasnt returned but the managers and owner helped me and straightened it out. they are nice. so that was my experience, so remember front building good, back building bad.....

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    3
    3
    5
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2008

Dee Jay's is not for those seeking luxury accomodations. It's for those looking for a clean place to sleep while enjoying the beach. For a family with teenagers, it's perfect. 1 bdrm apartment had a sleeper sofa and twin daybead. Full kitchen and seperate bedroom. This motel is across the street from the beach on a quiet street. We walked barefoot to the beach. The beach is beautiful and clean. WI-FI internet worked well. Grocery's and other shopping are a few blocks away, easy walking. If you don't like highrises with tons of people crowding the beach, this is the place. Lauderdale by the Sea is a throwback to the old Florida. Fun location for kicking around. I would want a car to go out and explore other attractions in the Fort Lauderdale area. One con is you do hear the people above you if on the first floor.

  • Liked — location and affordability, cleanliness, friendly staff
  • Disliked — noisy neighbors, this is an older motel
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pittsburgh,Pa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2007

An absolutely perfect spot to vacation...very large, spacious rooms...very clean...stafff most helpful pleasant and courteous.
Great location...can not beat it especially for the price

  • Liked — size of apts...cleanliness...staff
  • Disliked — have to smoke outside
  • Stayed November 2006, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2007

Clean, spacious, courteous and the perfect spot for a family vacation. We loved it.

  • Liked — cieanliness and reasonable rates
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2006

these rooms and apts. smell like a dog kennel. they are less than acceptable and are misrepresented on the internet and by the staff. i was also cheated out of my deposit when i refused to accept the rooms. on a scale of 1 to 10 it is a 1 at best. don't go there.

Was this review helpful? Yes 13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dee Jay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dee Jay Beach Resort

Address: 4617 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 30 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen; can accommodate up to 4-5 people. only steps to the beach; walking distance to stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dee Jay Beach Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Dee Jay Beach Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dee Jay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.