We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service & location !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dee Jay Beach Resort

Dee Jay Beach Resort
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dee Jay Beach Resort
Save Saved
You added Dee Jay Beach Resort to your Saves list
4617 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great service & location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been staying at this motel for years, specially for spring break or Independence Day weekend. We usually get about 3/4 different rooms. We absolutely love it here. At the end of the day, you get what you pay for. But the privacy they give is incredible.

The pool is amazing.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    3
    3
    3
    4
See reviews for
6
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

I was so pleasantly surprised by this place. Yes it's old. But our room was immaculate and there was plenty of room for two adults a child and two dogs. They do have tiled rooms (just a handful) that are rented to pet owners. But above all, the owners were friendly and responsive to all of our needs. And if you want a beach vacation on a budget, you can't beat it. Several of the surrounding properties had no vacancies and those that did wanted a lot more money for a comparable space. It's so close to everything--easy walking distances to restaurants and the publix. We loved it and wish we'd spent all of our vacation here.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2012

Wow wow wow it was simply great, totally wonderful, the best service ever, i have been to fort lauderdale many many times and stayed in a few places but Dee Jay Beach Resort was simply outstanding in every single way, greatest attention to detail, our rooom was so big it felt like a home, and completely spotlessly clean, daily service with a smile, Management taking utmost pride in their job. The pool huge and clean and totally refreshing, and the location of Dee Jay truly the best, from our room we look onto the ocean and just top class by far, the best on El Mar Drive, It was a total pleasure staying here and everyone i spoke to agrees and the price unbeatable for the 7 Star service that we received, we loved it and the Management and Owner made us feel so welcome and was always at any time eager to assist us in any way, Thank you Dee Jay for the best holiday and we will see you everytime we visit fort lauderdale !!!! we have friends staying here and they have already pre-booked for next year simply because it was the best in every way !!!! for great great value you will get 7 star treatment !!! Dee Jay's by far the best in Lauderdale by the Sea.

Room Tip: corner suites are large and sunny
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2012

I have had the worst most violating experience with this hotel. They gave my personal information from my check-in and name, address, phone and credit card info to a friend of the hotel employees.

Do not go. they will violate your privacy.

Ruined my vacation!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
deejaymotel, Owner at Dee Jay Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 24, 2012
The personal and credit card information obtained during registration is for hotel use only. This information is not and has never been distributed or divulged to anyone. This guest is seriously mistaken!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels

Conifer, Colorado
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2011

We stayed here for a month in July and they were not crowded (off season) with the exception of a couple weekends.

Location - Awesome with everything one could want right there. Beach across the street, shopping (Publix, Liquor store, strip mall) one block inland, Restaurants, the Pier, Scuba shop, tourist shopping all within easy walking distance around Commercial. We had a car but did not use it daily which was nice. LBTS is one of our favorites.

Hotel - Is outdated, but clean. We stayed in a couple of units in the front, and they were spacious and well equipped (One bedroom). Even had two walk in closets. Any thing we wanted for the kitchen we just asked. They had updated the bathroom and floor tile so things were getting remodeled. Some of the furniture could use replacing, but it was not falling apart. The dining room set was fairly recent. The sleeper couch was old and needed replacing but my son did not seem to loose any sleep.The Master bed was oldish but comfortable. No bugs that we saw and we were there for weeks. AC worked well as did the frig. Stove and microwave (recent) worked well also. We ate in maybe 80% of the time.....mmmm, fresh seafood! Overall EX+.

Overall - The owner was very nice and accommodating. We left the Motel and returned and they even stored some of my gear while we were in Orlando/Key Largo. When they are booked up/crowded you could end up in a very outdated room without a reservation. In summer that only happens on weekends. We paid under $400 a week so the value is excellent. Publix has good seafood values as do many markets in the area. The ocean breeze is nice so most evenings and even days are cooler than you may think. Inland is a different story. We had a great, and trouble free month.

Room Tip: Ask for an updated room if available. I think some in the back are in need of renovation, and pet ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2011

.i agree this place is old, and badly in need of everything .. rooms are large and bedding not so good.. my unit smelled of cats ! although no anamils are permitted somehow it got passed the staff.

now to be objective. for the price, and the location this is a good deal. the pool is nice and well maintained, and the beach is a 3 minute walk

  • Stayed February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2010

This facility is right accross the quiet street of El Mar...so much quieter than the places on A1-A. We could sit on the front porch in afternoon with beautiful view of palm trees and ocean. The staff is attentive. We had reasonable rates for full one bedroom apartment, with full kitchen, living room, and king bedroom . Maid service daily. Quick walk accross the street to the beach (they gave us beach chairs to use), right around the corner from Publix Grocery Store, CVS, Restaurants (gotta try Aruba's for afternoon music , fun, and great food on the beach), and just down a couple blocks from the shops. and pier...everything you need can be reached without a car. Everyone was so friendly. It isn't fancy, and it's not 4-star brand new, but very comfortable, clean, and pleasant.....
In the afternoon we rested by the pool, one day we had lunch on the patio area by poolside.
Great vacation for us ( middle aged couple who needed relaxing beach time).. rest and getting away from New England's long winter...can't wait to book same place next year !!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dee Jay Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dee Jay Beach Resort

Address: 4617 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Spacious one bedroom apartments with full kitchen; can accommodate up to 4-5 people. only steps to the beach; walking distance to stores and restaurants. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dee Jay Beach Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Dee Jay Beach Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dee Jay Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.