We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Ocean Views Without the Usual Upcharge” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aruba Beach Cafe

Aruba Beach Cafe
1 E. Commercial Blvd., Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308-3601
954/776-0001
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $15
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Description: Located Directly on the beach in Lauderdale by the Sea flAward- winning Chef brings you the true taste of the Caribbean, along with American Favorites Fresh Seafood Prime Steaks, Gourmet Salads and burgers and much more. Three Tropical Bars await to quench your thirst. Aruba Starts Jumping island style with live music daily. Causal Dress with seating inside or on the outside deck provides a picturesque view of the ocean. serving lunch and dinner late night dining. One Happy Restuarant!
Princeton, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Ocean Views Without the Usual Upcharge”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

We were hanging out on the beach and Aruba's was the closest restaurant for lunch. I expected it to be a tourist trap with mediocre, overpriced food. I couldn't have been more wrong. The salads were fresh, delicious and big and priced from $10-$15. My daughter got a huge mound of chicken tenders and fries for $8 that had largevpieces of tender breast meat, not your typical processed junk. I was checking out what others in the restaurant were eating -- all portions were very generous and the King Louis seafood salad looked amazing. They also offer a weekday two-for-one food special at the bar during lunch.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,065 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    458
    411
    124
    37
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paris
Top Contributor
193 reviews 193 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Not a gourmet experience.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Aruba is a rowdy place whith loud music, big crowds of drinkers, right on the beach. We shared a blue crab and cheese nachos as a starter, which was just a big grub pile up. I then had the white fish cevice starter as my main, which was very good and fresh. My friend had a chicken salad but had to make his own dressing. A bit messy. The lime mojitos were okay but mean (really small). I dont think I'll go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Atmosphere and Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Quite accidentally, I stumbled onto Aruba and was glad I did. Although it is difficult to find a parking space due to construction - make sure you have plenty of quarters to park at the meters - it is worth the search. Right on the beach with a beautiful view of the ocean, the food was good American-style burgers, seafood and all the rest you would expect, at a more reasonable price than you would find in Ft. Lauderdale or Miami. The entertainment was Jimmy Buffett-style, which was just right for its location. It is a laid back but well-run establishment with the patrons all age groups. Don't expect caviar here, but it is just right for those seeking great beach food in a great atmosphere at the right price. Also cool is that 20 minutes from where you are on the ocean on the road leading up to it - actually 12 miles on city streets - Commercial Boulevard ends right at the Florida Everglades - from ocean to the doorstep of the Everglades and Alligator Alley in 20 minutes. One more hint - have plenty of quarters for the roads around here - there are plenty of toll roads that only take exact change. Florida seems to love quarters!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Verona, Italy
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
114 helpful votes 114 helpful votes
“Forget it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

I ate here many years ago and never is changed. Typical south florida dishes with many sauses. In Italy we say that if you cover your food with garlic and dressing the reason is the poor quality. And I agree with this tought. So huge portions in where not only the potatoes are mashed but everything inside is mashed. You can not recognize what you are eating and it is sad. It is pity as the restaurant is caotic and noisy but the ocean view is wonderful.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlonega, Georgia
Top Contributor
264 reviews 264 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
182 helpful votes 182 helpful votes
“Beachy as can be”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

This beach bar/ restaurant is directly on the beach. This is ideal for people and sun, sand and sea watching. The place has a true beach laid back vibe. It is very noisy , with those who are drinking at the bars and just general loud bar music. There is outdoor seating too. The menu is large. There is happy hour and buffets but my husband and I decided to order off the menu. We had a great table with a view. Our waiter was very ,very good. My husband had a turkey rueben and I ordered a strawberry salad with chicken. We had coconut shrimp as an app and the bread. Both were good as was our lunches. Except that the noise level was near headache range, I would have preferred the sounds of waves vs. the drunks at the bar. This is a great beach bar/ restaurant

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aruba Beach Cafe also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 

Been to Aruba Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aruba Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.