We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean and friendly spot and not too large!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Nice clean and friendly spot and not too large!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

I like low-rise spots, without elevators and there is a nice pool, lots of lounges and chairs. Beautiful beach at your doorstep and good staff to look after you.
Light breakfast each morning - help yourself and hope to go back again this year.

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are preferable, but if you do not or cannot take stairs, nothing wrong with main floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    67
    53
    21
    14
    22
See reviews for
51
87
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Recently stayed in Lauderdale by the sea at the Captians Quarters the room was actually the room on the website,hotel staff were more the friendliest ever and the rooms are super clean. Ive lived in South Florida and this small quaint little hotel is a diamond among the big ones, Will definately go back and would reccomend to just about anyone especially with children and concerns on cleaniness

Room Tip: No worries about clean rooms or security and is wonderfully located in lauderdale by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Villages, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights this weekend (6/21-6/23/2014). It is old and run down. The only room available was a suite, there was nothing suite about it. The first room we were given was 02, it reminded me of being in an old dingy basement. The towels were stained and the shower had toe prints in it. I went to the front desk and the woman was very nice and showed us another room, Room 06. We packed our stuff back up and moved to this room. It was a lot nicer; however, it still was not very clean. Our feet were dirty from the floor, I found a hair on the shelf in the refrigerator, and the bathroom floor had some hairs, the shower tub appeared to be a little dirty too. The continental breakfast was non-existence on Sunday morning. When I went down at 9:30 the only thing out was one coffee creamer, no: cups, juice, muffins or sweetener. Pool towels were also non-existent. Every time we went to the front desk we were told to come back in an hour. We were finally given two bathroom towels. There was also no maid service on Sunday, which I already knew about. But paying $383 dollars for 2 nights was way too expensive for this place for no: maid service, breakfast, coffee, pool towels. Oh, and the tiki bar they advertise next door was disgusting. When we first arrived, I was wondering why no one was there, then I knew why, it smells like “throw-up”. The next evening, thinking maybe the smell would be gone, again no one there, it still smelled the same. As soon as we woke up on Monday, we packed our stuff and got out of there. The first thing we did when we got home was shower.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Viersen, Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed there one week in a hotel room. Early check in and later check out without problems - thank you Tffany from the front desk. Rooms was clean, bed comfortable. Nice pool area with plenty beachchairs. Also chairs for use on the beach. Walking distance to restaurants, bars,publix, cvs ....

Room Tip: Room 121 in the 2nd floor had a view from bed to beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We stayed there at the end of our trek back to Raleigh from Key West for just one night. I wish we had stayed longer. The room was great. With the Ocean breeze, and view it was perfect! The atmosphere is very relaxed, almost had a "Bed & Breakfast" feel. Up the street there is "the square" with bars, restaurants, and shops. The young lady in reception was extremely helpful and friendly too. Overall I would recommend this to any family and friends ending up in the Lauderdale by the Sea area.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

The rooms are clean and we'll furnished. The greatest part is you are right on the beach and within walking distance to local Bars and Restaurants. The staff was friendly and willing to take care of any issues we had. Parking is free which is a real plus.a

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

I had to change my travel plans and canceled a reservation I had made at this hotel 7 days before arrival through hotels.com. That very day this hotel charges my credit card for the stay even though the published cancellation policy on hotels.com says cancellation can be made up to 24 hours prior to arrival. I received a cancellation confirmation from hotels.com clearly stating there would be no cancellation fees.Upon calling the property, I was informed that the cancellation policy is 14 days and that there would be no refund. Be forewarned; I have canceled all my reservations through htels.com and will not do business with them again and I will never stay at this property. To associate hospitality with this hotel is an oxymoron.

Room Tip: I wouldn't do business with a hotel that cannot be trusted and values a onetime charge more than...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Captain Q, Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, June 20, 2014
Dear David,
We apologize for the inconveniences you experienced with us! Your charge was refunded on the same day we received the phone call from you. And right after we got a hold of Hotels.com. you were credited the amount was charged. Our cancellation policy is 14 days prior the check-in time, and Hotels.com is supposed to have the same policy. The issue was found and new policy was applied already. Anyway, in your case this charge was found wrong because, as you mentioned, your cancellation policy was given to you as 24 hours only, what allowed us to give you full refund of charged fee.
We are sorry that this happened to you, we never try to overcharge our guests and always follow the fastest way to solve the issues we could encounter with. You are important to us as everybody else who visit our hotel!
Thank you for the understanding!
My Best Regards, Iryna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Resort

Address: 4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain's Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain's Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Captains Quarters Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters
Captain's Quarters Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.