We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location & location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Location, location & location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This place is old and some equipment is not top notch. However that's not why you come here.
I like this place due to the fact that it's located just at the beach in one of the more quiet locations in lauderdale by the sea.
You can get a room with your own kitchen so if you do not want to eat out every day you do not have to.

Supermarket, restaurants and diners are within walking distance.
However if you plan to shop, see town or sightsee you will need a car/rentalcar.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    48
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
47
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We were there 2013 Nov 22 to 27 The first day, we wanted to pay and extra amount to stay there more longer on Nov.27 until we leave for the airport at 7:00 p.m.but they refuse.At the end of our stay, after checking out, we tought that it was possible to eat our lunch at the pool and go to the beach in p.m.but one of the manager told us that we were not welcome after cheking out at 11:00 a.m. Also,we were not able to let our luggages at the reception because of the renovation.We left thehotel at noon and waited 8 hours at the airport. Breakfast:Coffee and little muffins only.

Room Tip: Quiet room in the front on the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

A beautifully located motel with attentive and enthusiastic staff. All very simple but totally honest. Nice pool and leisure and access directly onto a pristine beach.
I intend to spend longer there next spring.
One minor criticism - the breakfast would benefit from a little fruit, possible sliced Melon and Pineapple - very low cost for such a big improvement

Room Tip: Rooms around the pool are probably the nicest
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A+ location; right on beach with views of beach from I think almost all rooms. The place is immaculately clean and all the staff is very nice and helpful in response to your requests. I was surprised and I am writing so you are not that there is NO: ice machine, phones in room, guest laundry, adequate parking(unless that are not busy). For the price and location you have to give it at least 4/5.

Room Tip: If you can afford a suite room even better. Make sure you don't get one of their "small&quo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Free parking at front door. full apt. with a fully equipped kitchen with a walk in closet with plenty of hangers. TV Large chairs and ottomans to match.Leave the room and turn left you have the ocean and sand out the back door and on the way to the ocean is a lovely pool with lounge chairs tables and umbrellas etc. Up to Now Utopia.

Downside is watching this fantastic location giving in to time. Building and concrete in need of power wash and paint. It was like driving up to the resort and it puts you right back in the 60s and 70s. If you where around those times you know what I mean. Unfortunately We had a room on the 2nd floor so I have to mention the smaller steps and the older metal railings.Just reminded me of years past.

The room as you enter as I mentioned was lovely but up close you can see the the need for kitchen refurbishing and Grab rails for us older folks would have been nice and taller toilet would have been really helpful for us older folks plus new paint etc. Plus side it was fully furnished with every thing to spend a week with the kids so if you are watching your budget you could eat as if you were at home.
Publex market across the street but within walking distance a couple of fast food.

The help where friendly, the parking was easy and free,the pool and facilities you expect with the pool were there,And what can you say! Beach and Ocean at your back door, Nothing more to say.

Give in that the property is out dated I still give it a thumbs up in a hand held high and would stay there again

Room Tip: have nothing to add
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon P, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
Thank you for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your time here. We have recently taken over the property and agree with ALL of your recommendations. We will be renovating the exterior and interior of the building very soon. We hope you will come back to see the new look.


Yours in hospitality,

brandon philpart-tyson | general manager
Captains Quarters Oceanfront Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hi,
our family had an excellent stay at this place. All of us enjoyed this place which is both central to the airport as well as being right on the beach. The place was really clean, and the room was perfect for our big family. Can recommend this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon P, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, especially since we are new to the property as well. We are working to improve in all areas. We have been speaking with past guests, who love the serene atmosphere. We will work diligently to maintain and enhance the guest experience here at Captains Quarters. We look forward to welcoming you next year.

brandon philpart-tyson | general manager
Captains Quarters Oceanfront Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hello, I just spent 5 days at Captain's Quarters and had a GREAT time.
It's all about the location, right on the beach, no road to cross. The courtyard/swimming pool area is well arranged, providing chairs and tables to relax. The rooms are basic but have been well kept. And not to mention the very friendly staff.
Just a few minus points: the room had a very noisy AC unit and the kitchen utensils could be renewed.
Most people we met at the resort had been there several times and I have to admit that I would consider returning.
Additional bonus: there's a CVS and supermarket (publix) at the end of the street. A few blocks way, Commercial Boulevard offers a few restaurants and bars.
If you go there just to relax and enjoy the beach, you really do not need to rent a car. The taxi from the airport was about 35-40$ and it was a 15 minutes ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Resort

Address: 4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain's Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain's Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Captains Quarters Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters
Captain's Quarters Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.