We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy Atmosphere” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Captain's Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Trondheim, Norway
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Cozy Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Hi,
our family had an excellent stay at this place. All of us enjoyed this place which is both central to the airport as well as being right on the beach. The place was really clean, and the room was perfect for our big family. Can recommend this!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon P, General Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your time with us, especially since we are new to the property as well. We are working to improve in all areas. We have been speaking with past guests, who love the serene atmosphere. We will work diligently to maintain and enhance the guest experience here at Captains Quarters. We look forward to welcoming you next year.

brandon philpart-tyson | general manager
Captains Quarters Oceanfront Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    48
    18
    11
    18
See reviews for
47
79
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Hello, I just spent 5 days at Captain's Quarters and had a GREAT time.
It's all about the location, right on the beach, no road to cross. The courtyard/swimming pool area is well arranged, providing chairs and tables to relax. The rooms are basic but have been well kept. And not to mention the very friendly staff.
Just a few minus points: the room had a very noisy AC unit and the kitchen utensils could be renewed.
Most people we met at the resort had been there several times and I have to admit that I would consider returning.
Additional bonus: there's a CVS and supermarket (publix) at the end of the street. A few blocks way, Commercial Boulevard offers a few restaurants and bars.
If you go there just to relax and enjoy the beach, you really do not need to rent a car. The taxi from the airport was about 35-40$ and it was a 15 minutes ride.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and loved it!!! The room was clean, the staff were friendly, there were beach chairs and boogie boards for guests to use, it's located within walking distance of some great restaurants, and we had a beautiful view of the ocean from our room! Also the pool is very nice!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central City Pa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

My daughters and granddaughter spent the week of May 13th at Captains Quarters. We were apprehensive at first because of a bad review I read on this site regarding room 105 which was to be our room but the room was great. Very Clean!! Had a terrific view of the ocean and pool was right outside our door and very warm. We had a Great vacation and we are planning on going back soon. The staff was very friendly!! Very quiet and great for a family vacation. Ahmed and Mera hope to see you soon. Haydens MiMi!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buford, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

We stayed there last July and absolutely loved it! We were in room #107 which was a great room! Great view of the pool and beach! The room was clean and the staff was very nice and helpful. Loved every minute of it only wish we could have stayed longer! Can't wait to get back!!! Thanks so much for a making this the perfect spot for our vacation!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our third time staying @ Captain’s Quarters and we can’t wait to go back again! The owners & staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We love that the resort is right on the beach--just a few steps from the pool and you’re in the ocean! The grounds are beautiful and immaculate; the owners take great pride in making everything just right. The pool is great, beach is beautiful and the rooms are very clean. There is a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room, there’s also a gas bbq grill available for the guests to use. They provide beach towels and lounge chairs available on the beach. Coffee, juice and delicious pastries were waiting for us in the lobby every morning.

The location couldn’t be better. There’s a shopping plaza with a Publix, CVS, etc… just around the corner. A short walk down the street is where all the action is --the fishing pier, shops, restaurants and bars are always fun after a day on the beach.

Another great thing about this hotel is that it is not a spring break destination. The people that stay here are mostly mature couples and families; therefore, it is enjoyable (peaceful & relaxing) to sit outside on the patio or by the pool.

Thank you Mera, Ahmed & staff for your hospitality and for helping to make our vacation perfect! See you all again soon...
Peg & James from Rhode Island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am giving this place a high rating because I so love its location, grounds, and beach. Close enough to walk to the hub of the town but far enough away from the bars so that you don't have to hear it unless you want to be in it!
On the downside, the rooms are rundown and the sheets were old and nubby. Not that nice crisp feel you normally have in a hotel bed.
The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Resort

Address: 4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain's Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain's Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Captains Quarters Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters
Captain's Quarters Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.