We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Beach Vacation Spot!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Resort

Save Saved
You added Captain's Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Captain's Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Woonsocket, Rhode Island
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Perfect Beach Vacation Spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our third time staying @ Captain’s Quarters and we can’t wait to go back again! The owners & staff are very accommodating and go out of their way to make us feel welcome. We love that the resort is right on the beach--just a few steps from the pool and you’re in the ocean! The grounds are beautiful and immaculate; the owners take great pride in making everything just right. The pool is great, beach is beautiful and the rooms are very clean. There is a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room, there’s also a gas bbq grill available for the guests to use. They provide beach towels and lounge chairs available on the beach. Coffee, juice and delicious pastries were waiting for us in the lobby every morning.

The location couldn’t be better. There’s a shopping plaza with a Publix, CVS, etc… just around the corner. A short walk down the street is where all the action is --the fishing pier, shops, restaurants and bars are always fun after a day on the beach.

Another great thing about this hotel is that it is not a spring break destination. The people that stay here are mostly mature couples and families; therefore, it is enjoyable (peaceful & relaxing) to sit outside on the patio or by the pool.

Thank you Mera, Ahmed & staff for your hospitality and for helping to make our vacation perfect! See you all again soon...
Peg & James from Rhode Island

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    60
    41
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
44
72
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

I am giving this place a high rating because I so love its location, grounds, and beach. Close enough to walk to the hub of the town but far enough away from the bars so that you don't have to hear it unless you want to be in it!
On the downside, the rooms are rundown and the sheets were old and nubby. Not that nice crisp feel you normally have in a hotel bed.
The staff are very friendly.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay here was a last minute decsion, but neverthe less one of our greatest moves. The staff is Family, they made us feel very welcomed and accomadated us immediatley due to a bad stay at another hotel. The room was clean, as a matter of fact the entire hotel was spotless, the grounds are immulicate, and such a comfortable stay. The atmosphere was terrifc!, You can go from the beach to the pool in seconds. We defiantely will reccommend this hotel to friends and family as we do recommened it to anyone reading this. Thanks again, The Marino's~

Room Tip: I'm sure any room would be great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Ok, its a 1950's typr hotel and needs to be upddated. But the people work hard and the rooms are clean. We saw some real estae people showing buyers around. We stayed in the 1 bedroom suite upstairs. You would think that as the high end room it would not have the vertical blinds miising 30% in two of the Sun facing doors. We also had to ask for a new shower head. The old one was awful.
But if you can not nit pick as I do, you will enjoy the beach, pool, relaxing chairs and fun hosts. They took care of my concerns immediately.

Room Tip: Stay on the south side. There is a noisy bar/hotel on the north side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abazovic1, Front Office Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear our guest!
Thank you for taking time to leave the feedback from you. We do apologize for some inconvenient circumstances in the room you found for yourselves. We will take this for our attention. Blinds will be fixed, they are very easy to brake and we are trying our best to do everything in time. It is nice to know that you had good relaxed vocation for yourselves in our Resort and we look forward to see you next year!
sincerely, Iryna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We came back in this Hotel, and had wonderfull time again. This time we were staying in one bedroom apartment with the balcony, my family enjoyed the view and beutifull senery from there. The beach was just couple stepts away from our room and palms with the rest of flowers make this place very beutifull and relaxing. It was our second time there, so we decided to go somewhere further then just a beach. Friendly and always ready to help stuff, I bealive owners, gave good information about the area, and help us to pick up good restaurant in this area. Have to admit, they were extremely hepfull and attantive to us and our stay. Not every hotel can have such a good people around. Thay were always asking if we are OK and need something else, checking if maid did good service in our room. Lady were very friendly and seems like she knows everybody in the hotel,always smiling and comunicative. The guy usually was busy with maitanance job and nice to see that place is good taken care of. So glad that we tried this place once and they still are holding their level of hospitality. Thanks to them from all my family!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abazovic1, Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Dear our Guests,
It is a big pleasure to know, that you are satisfied with our attention to you and your whole stay! Nice to know that you spend good time here with us and remained happy about everything! We are always looking forward to have you in our Resort and ready to make your stay enjoyable!
Our Best regards, Iryna!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

We never stayed in this hotel before,decided to try this new to us place,because of its location directly on the beach. First,when we got there from airport by shuttle,they offered to us,were very happy with price and drivers help.we were met by friendly stuff in the lobby,they let us come to the room earlier then check in time,because the room was ready for us that time,so we had a chance to relax after our flight. Me and my sister had 2 dbl beds with fridge,microwave,tv , coffee maker and marvalous view from our window! A lot of nice plants were making this place like fary tail for us. We were a little conscious before coming down there,because read some negative reviews appeared last minute. but everything were opposite to us,room was good taken care of, even the furniture weren't brand new ,service was made every day,had breakfast every morning,mat so many good people around,because of their alert of being late with reservation for next year,decided to book the room for the next time too. Very enjoyable place,with stores and restaurants near by.

Stayed March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mentor, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

We booked two days at the Captain's Quarters based on thee majority of reviews. We knew going in that it was an older property and may not be updated to current motel standards. Unfortunately, we found that our room, 107 was so far below motel standards that we did not even want to sleep in it.

When we checked in, the staff was friendly and got us into the room quickly. The pool area was older but well maintained. It was relaxing to sit in the area as it had a tropical feel. The pool did not feel to be heated.

Going into the room, we noted that the air conditioner had not been running. We noticed a slight vinegar smell in the room. We thought maybe it was from cleaning products. The room was date with very old wicker furniture. It was reasonably clean We did find a haiir on the inner sheets of the old bed. We could not be certain it was left from someone else so we checked the bed and found nothing else. We turned the air up and left to go eat and explore the area. When we walked in later that night, we were hit by a foul smell that I found was coming from the air conditioner. It reeked of vinegar/vomit/mold. We turned the air off and opened the door. That night was not enjoyable.
The next morning, I spoke to the gentleman working in the pool area about the smell. He said that he would look at it and clean the filter. He did take the cover off and clean the filter. It was not the filter that held the smell. I find it impossible to believe that he did not smell the obnoxious odor. I find it impossible to believe that the housekeeping people had not notified them of the smell. We spent the rest of the trip, running the air for short periods of time and then opening the door to get some nonsmelling air in the room. By the time we were leaving, the second day, we decided to take our clothes to a laundrymat to wash them so we were not packing the smell into our suitcases.

This two night stay was completely overpriced for the nasty room we ended up with. I noted that they had a certificate from Trip Advisor for 2012. Obviously they missed checking our room 107, or their sense of smell was off that day.

For the record, we are not super picky or complainers about every little thing. It takes a lot for us to not adapt to our environment. This was that bad.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abazovic1, Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear our guests,
Thank you for being sincere with us, your reviews are important to us and our business!
We apologize that your experience in our hotel wasn't the way you expected, but there are some aspects we would like to clarify from us. We have our pool heated on 78-80F in March as it is not as warm month as any time in the summer. We wish you notify us that you felt like the water had to be a little bit more heated,and our stuff could do it for our guests. Your room #107 is good located room with good view and well working air conditioner. Usually the room is checked once or twice after our maid cleans it, depends on business of the Hotel, and if maid or somebody from our stuff notices something has to be fixed or changed, we put it on the list right away! We apologize for the smell you felt during your stay, based on the past this room never had bad smell because of enough sunshine in the room and air conditioner. Gentleman tried to vanish the source of unwanted smell for you upon your request. But once again, during such an extremely busy time in March something could be missed, because we try to please our new and return guests, and not to hold them for a long time to wait for the room even if they come earlier then check-in time at 2 p.m. Please, we want to assure you that there is no way to leave the sheets without changing them and making the bad! We do respect for all our coming visitors and care about hospitality and sanitary in our Hotel!
Kind Regards,manager Iryna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Captain's Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Resort

Address: 4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain's Quarters Resort 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Captain's Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Captains Quarters Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters
Captain's Quarters Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.