We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful overnight stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Captain's Quarters Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Captain's Quarters Resort to your Saves list
Captain's Quarters Resort
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Saint Pete Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Delightful overnight stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

During the height of spring break, we decided to head to the other coast (we live on the Gulf coast) and spend the night. After reading reviews here (and other places), we decided to take a chance as this place had some of the better rates for one night.

We paid $175 plus tax ($15 higher than the max rate posted in the room, which I don't understand, but by the time I realized it, we had paid and checked in and I didn't feel like the hassle) for one night. For that we received an exceptionally clean room. Our room did not have a water view, but the motel is small enough that it doesn't matter – we were steps away from the water. The room had a closet (with plenty of hangers!), bathroom with tub, mini-fridge, coffeemaker, and microwave. They also fit a table and two wicker chairs in the room; I'm not certain how, but they did. The room was not large, which wasn't an issue for us because we needed a place to sleep, but it was clean and comfortable.

The girl who checked us in was not exceptionally friendly. The ice we asked for never materialized and we had to go get it, but these are small things. They had coffee in the morning, which I appreciated greatly, and the next day the staff was quite friendly.

The nicest thing about this motel – other than the beachfront stay, great landscaping around the pool, and the fact that it's not a high rise like every other – is that it had a family and mature couples crowd rather than a spring break vibe. We weren't certain what to expect, but that made it much more enjoyable sitting around the pool.

We would go back here if we found ourselves in the area again, although if we stayed more than a day we would probably question the disparity between the posted maximum rates and what they charged and also get a room facing the water (they seemed larger and had sliding glass doors fronting the beach).

Room Tip: Not a spring break place. Only end units have water views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    44
    17
    11
    18
See reviews for
45
74
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Indiana
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

A last minute, necessary trip to Fort Lauderdale during spring break brought me and my granddaughter to this hotel. I had stayed in Lauderdale by the Sea previously, and love the town itself, as everything is walkable and safe, but always at Beachside Village Resort, which is about a block away. Because everything I saw online was sold out, when I saw that there was one last room here, I grabbed it.
Pros: Right on the beach, walking distance to some really good restaurants, walking distance to Publix and CVS, small frig, coffeepot and microwave in the room, comfortable bed, very quiet at night, views from oceanfront rooms make for beautiful sunrise photos, outdoor area, with pool is pleasant.

Cons: Not many young people, very small, cramped rooms, no elevator, mold in the shower, window air conditioner is loud, daily cleaning leaves something to be desired, coffeepot, but not even basics, like filters are provided, says the pool is heated, but I question that, hotel is in desperate need of a little TLC, but nothing Anthony Melchiori couldn't handle.

Room Tip: Face the ocean if you can. No elevator. If you're going to eat some meals in the room, or out on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

One thing great was the Location.2nd yr. there. Not a place for elderly,tomany levels of concrete walkway!!! Older gentleman fell while we were there and split his head open. Owner did not even come over to help,My 2 friends and other guests had to help and call
for EMT's.The owner and his wife never checked on the condition of the gentleman. That alone makes me sad. Have some compassion!!!! This Place is 'OFF THE LIST"

Room Tip: Find another place in the vicinity,There are many to choose from
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
abazovic1, Manager at Captain's Quarters Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Dear our guests,
We feel very conscious that you found out this accident such bad orientated. We are very sorry for the gentleman who fall down while visiting his friends in their room. It is very bad that it happened, we know it! But we feel very hurt and disadvantage by your review for a reason of such unnoticeable things that we did - my husband called 911, he was first who did the first step forward to get help from ambulance. It is very unfair to say opposite to us. And we were there, me and my husband went right away to see what is going on. There was woman taking care of him, who had nurse experience, this fact made us to feel more confident about his feeling until ambulance came. I was asking many times about injured man, and even if he wasn't the one who was staying in our hotel. We gave discounted price to his friends to help them somehow and make them to feel a little bit supported by us. We do regret that your opinion is opposite, and we do apologize for our response, but your story is very uncertain from your point. We are people who has hearts and feelings, were dealing so many years with hospitality business, and realize how is important the health and life of our guests, visitors and everybody around!
My sincere regards, Mera!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Great value for price; right on the beach; views, ocean, pool, garden, lounging; few blocks walk to restaurants, shops and 'night life'; a couple of blocks walk the other way to groceries; central location for driving to all area highlights; on quiet safe side street. Older motel with its quirks, but well taken care of and loved. Would return in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

My Wife & I got off a cruise ship and booked this hotel without ever being in Lauderdale by the Sea. We showed up around 9:00am well before checkin and was met by the owner and his wife. who promply showed us three rooms that were available. We checked in and was on the beach at 9:30am. The owners made us feel like family. Room was clean, smartly decorated and was made up every morning that we were there. Pool and Beach were fantastic. Definitely a return trip is going to happen to this hotel. This husband & wife team give new meaning to "welcome to our home".

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham, UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We have just returned from a 16 day stay at Captain's Quarters in Room 4. This a one bedroom apartment on the ground floor with private terrace, ocean views and literally steps to the beach. The room was lovely and spacious but in need of a little TLC - updating of furniture etc. The pool is a good size and surrounded by a nice decking area. We also had a little garden in front of our room where we could sunbathe in the morning and tables to eat outside if you wished. The staff were lovely, couldn't have been more helpful. The only drawback with this hotel is not something the hotel can do anything about, but I feel it should be mentioned. Because the property was built in the 1950's/ 60's, the walls and ceilings are not remotely soundproof. In our second week, we had a family with small children in the apartment above us, and the noise of the children running around was very obtrusive. We also had small children in the apartment next door, and again, it was if they were in the room with you. This is not a criticism of the hotel, but if you prefer not to be disturbed by noise from others, I would choose the upstairs apartment, Number 9 I think, as it also has direct ocean views and a private balcony. All in all, we had a lovely holiday here. It is walking distance to Aruba and other restaurants, a huge plus if you want to have a few drinks!

Room Tip: Room 9 - one bedroom apartment with direct ocean views. If you want sun all day, choose one of the s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelowna B.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed 4 nights at Captain's Quarters. it is on the beach, has a variety of room types, some with kitchens. A very nice pool and deck. One of the few motels still available on the beach. Very close to shopping and many restaurants. very good management and services. Will return .

Room Tip: The kitchen rooms are spacious. most rooms have ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Captain's Quarters Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Quarters Resort

Address: 4644 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Captain's Quarters Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Captain's Quarters Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Quarters Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Captains Quarters Hotel
Hotel Captains Quarters
Captain's Quarters Resort Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Captain's Quarters Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.