We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very quaint place to eat.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe at the Anglin Pier

Cafe at the Anglin Pier
Commercial Boulevard 2, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Improve this listing
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
wisconsin
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A very quaint place to eat.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

We ate breakfast there one morning on our 10 day long vacation. It was a bit breezy out on the deck. Food was ok. I was under the assumption that if you ate there, you got a free pass onto the pier, but that wasn't the case....so I was a little disappointed.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    11
    3
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Naperville, Illinois
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Yummy breakfast with a beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

Killer hash browns, nice and varied fresh and organic menu, great service and a lovely view at the pier. The dinner menu looked good as well but we were only there for breakfast.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Fun place for drinks!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

What a great find on the beach!! Good drinks and the music was fun- really fun entertainment. Keep this little place as is- just perfect!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moneta, Virginia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Food is great, service makes you feel unimportant.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

I really loved the food there, but the server made me not want to go back. I was just another table to her. No smile, interest, or care. Just serve us and move on to the next "tip". I had breakfast there and it was very good. Just watch out for the black birds that want your scraps:) Can't help that in an open air type of eating, but be on your guard:) They do have seating inside. Can't rate that. Haven't tried it. The eggs benedict is very good.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Anglins Cafe. WORST EXPERIENCE!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

This restaurant borders on practicing dishonesty and clearly advertises falsely. My wife and I are retired local residents, have been to many restaurants throughout the world and have never had an experience this bad!
Anglin’s advertises on different websites such as Groupon, etc., so we researched the menu, decided to purchase a coupon and give it a try.
On Anglin’s website (http://www.anglinsbeachcafe.com/ ) it states free parking with dinner. When we arrived we were surprised to find out that the “free parking” had a $10 charge. After explaining to both the hostess and manager we were told nothing could be done even though they advertised free parking on their website.
After being seated, the server asked about out drink order. My wife asked for the house wine and requested the price. The website said $6.50, (http://www.anglinsbeachcafe.com/menu_dinner.php ) the menu said $7.50 however the waitress said it was not correct on the menu. It was $8.50. We asked how they could advertise different prices on the web and menu and charge more than advertised. The reply was “the wine is $8.50. “ If we had not asked, as most people wouldn’t, we would have been over charged. The server talked to the manager and they gave us the $7.50 price.
We then proceeded to order two gyro platters at $14 per order. The service was slow, the food was average and the portions were not impressive although there was plenty of bread to fill up on.
When we received the final bill they once again did not follow the prices advertised on the menu/website and overcharged for the platters. When we questioned the waitress, she became extremely defensive and when she returned, she took the overage off the bill however became extremely rude, asking us to leave.
It is obvious that this restaurant caters primarily to tourists and if they overcharge are not worried about returning customers. Most people don’t scrutinize the bill closely and expect honesty. If this is the Anglin’s practice, they should not market to locals with coupons such as Groupons and they shouldn’t be allowed to operate, serving the public.
You may research other comments left by patrons on this site. http://www.urbanspoon.com/r/12/1532712/restaurant/Miami/Lauderdale-by-the-Sea/Anglins-Beach-Cafe-Lauderdale-By-the-Sea

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe at the Anglin Pier also viewed

Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 

Been to Cafe at the Anglin Pier? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe at the Anglin Pier, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.