We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great boutique hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Villa Aqualina

Save Saved
You added Villa Aqualina to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Aqualina
2.5 of 5 Motel   |   4553 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Moncton, Canada
1 review
“Great boutique hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Loved this little spot, such a hidden gem! Small hotel that was quiet, clean and nicely renovated. Hotel owner Lana was awesome. Anything we wanted for the room, she was sure to accomodate. Great pool and courtyard inwhich was never over crowded, great for an afternoon sun soaking and a morning coffee! Very close to beach, just a block away. Restaurants, bar, groceries and shops all within walking distance. Whille be sure to return to this exact hotel again. Highly recommend!

Room Tip: Queen room is great for a couple nights, splurge for a room with kitchenette or suite for longer sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    13
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
13
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Planned a spur of the moment trip during prime time and depended on guest reviews when picking this hotel. Lana was wonderful, as well as her cleaning staff. The hotel was very clean and the suite was spacious and well maintained. It was a brief walk to the beach and restaurants. The pool was small and not heated, but adequate to sit at on the days that were too cool to go to the beach. We highly recommend this as a great place to stay in the Lauderdale by the Sea area.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Beautiful boutique hotel that is a gem! It has flavors if an Italian villa. The sparkling clean rooms are beautifully decorated. It also has the most comfortable beds of any hotel I have every stayed. The owner Lana is delightful! We will return!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Villa Aqualina is the most perfectly manicured hotel I've ever stayed in. I've never seen people vacuum outside! Perfectly located with short wall to the beach and plenty of great restaurants. Hotel staff is very friendly and was very happy to have us.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surrey
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Booked via Hotels.Com,and recommendations on Trip Advisor.One night only before we did a Carribbean Cruise searched long and hard for a decent hotel in a decent area of town and Villa Aqualina fitted our brief although some distance from Port Everglades ($40 cab ride with tip).Arrived Fri evening found envelope with dtls of room and were to find key attached to office door as office closed 6pm i think,found the room clean and well appointed (room 1) nice kitchen seemed very well appointed with free coffee etc,good shower also,take a right out of hotel to set of lights 10 mins walk plenty of bars/rest in this area,turn right for a good b/fast at a small diner 50 yds up the road.As stated earlier post close to nice beach,also has small clean pool seemed popular with families with kids when we stayed.We saw Lana in the morning nice lady big smile very helpful also phoned for cab to port for us.Would highly recommed to
anyone but would suggest E-mail direct to Lana you would get a better deal.

Room Tip: book direct on web-site
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svetlana4553, Manager at Villa Aqualina, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Geraint,
Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay, albeit a short one. We love our job and work hard to make our guests happy. We hope to host you again some time in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Villa Aqualina is a typical beach town motel. It is by no means a boutique hotel. It is well cared for and the owners are friendly and helpful. There is a pool, a barbecue and there is an outside freezer with the owners supplying frozen treats, ice and water. We stayed in room 0 (the Palm room) which is your standard motel room. It is probably just this room but the mattress was on of the worst I've ever TRIED to sleep on. The TV is on a table at the side of the bed making it impossible for 2 people lying in bed to watch it.
Overall it is a good motel, within walking distance of the beach (very nice), restaurants and shopping. It's okay if a motel is what you want.

Room Tip: Stay away from room # 0!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
Top Contributor
303 reviews 303 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 81 cities Reviews in 81 cities
127 helpful votes 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

Is this little Inn in Lauderdale by the sea. I just spent the night there because I took a cooking class nearby and didn't want to drive after it (wine was offered !). The place is on a big street but I couldnt hear any traffic as this is somewhat away enough from the more frequented area. To the beach is a 3 minute walk. My room was on the ground floor and very, very clean. The pool is small but clean again and the recepionist (owner ?) was extremely friendly and helpful. There is a nice flatscreen in your room with cable tv and free wifi. The only downside was that there was no aircondition, so I would avoid the place in the summer. The village itself is nothing special - just full of winterbirds over 60 !!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Svetlana4553, General Manager at Villa Aqualina, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Christian! Thank you for your feedback. We will definitely want you back during summer time, and for that I want to assure you that we have air conditioners in EVERY room: upstairs - central and on ground floor - wall units. All ACs are brand new. In Florida air conditioners are not luxury, they are necessity even in winter time!
You stayed in Palm room (#0). In this room air conditioner is under the window behind the sheer curtain. If I can have your e-mail address, I will send you its photos from inside and outside.

Take care! And come back! In summer there are no snowbirds and you can try diving - our town was named a diving capital of US.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Villa Aqualina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Aqualina

Address: 4553 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Villa Aqualina 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Aqualina is a newly renovated Mediterranean-style hotel with a family-friendly atmosphere and daily maid service. It is located in a lovely town, Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, and just a minute-walk away from one of the best beaches on the Atlantic coast and a historic fishing pier. At Villa Aqualina you will enjoy a small town atmosphere in a safe area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Villa Aqualina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Aqualina Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Villa Aqualina, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.