We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, great entertainment.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Anglins Beach Cafe

Anglins Beach Cafe
2 Commercial Blvd, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
954-491-6007
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Franklin, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Good food, great entertainment.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lauderdale-by-the-Sea is a great place to enjoy Florida. Anglins Beach Café adds to your enjoyment by providing good food and great entertainment.
It is located right on the beach, so while dining, you are enjoying your meal, looking at the gorgeous colors of the ocean, and listening to some fabulous island music.
Hang out on the beach before or after your meal.
If you like fishing, Anglins fishing pier is right there for a minimal charge.
If you don't want to miss the entertainment, call them beforehand to get the schedule.
You won't regret it. Our family was there yesterday for the third time, and we are looking forward to our next visit to Lauderdale-by-the Sea and Anglins.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    65
    43
    22
    32
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Thank you for our amazing experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Thank you for our amazing experience! We had our wedding celebration there on March 30, 2013. It was truly a night to remember - from the organic food to the impeccable service! We appreciate everything and were most impressed! We WILL be back and we WILL always recommend Anglin's to our friend's and family. The food was delicious along with your breathtaking views right on the beach!! THANK YOU for helping Mom plan this the whole way through start to finish!! This is a MUST GO TO organically proud restaurant......live music incredible!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food, horrible service.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Well we're batting 0 out of two for our last two meals out when it comes to service.

We made advance reservations and went to Aruba for brunch.We only had to wait a few minutes for the table so that part was great. The outdoor seating is really nice with a great view of the beach so we didn't mind waiting, at least not for the first 20 minutes. From the time we sat down until we left it was 3 1/2 hours, a little ridiculous for brunch.

Yes, they were busy, but, I've been to loads of really busy restaurants where the servers managed to do a good job. This woman did not. She seemed to go out of her way to avoid looking at us so we could get what we needed (coffee, water, cream, jam for toast, syrup for french toast, etc.).

The food, when we got it, was very good, but not fabulous, not worth the wait, for sure. The terrible service was a real downer and it wasn't only us, we could hear parties at nearby tables complaining about it too.

We were missing several things from our orders and when we pointed it out the server became very surly with us. Then she brought us stuff we hadn't ordered and still didn't fix what was wrong.

Maybe we just got a bad server, or she was having an off day, but our experience was not good, overall. Maybe if you can go when it's not busy the service is better?

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“It was a nice way to start vacation”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We just came into FL for the holiday and decided to stop here for lunch, what a nice way to start the vacation having lunch on the beach and listening to some great music, The food was good my husband got the mussels and they were very tasty. I got the stuffed signature sandwich was a lot of food and nice view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollywood, Florida
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Food is average, service is poor”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I only had dinner here and the service was not good. There was no host to guests for about 5 mins when we got there. All waitresses seemed to be busy or pretended to be busy at the time so we didn't know how long it was gonna take before we would be seated. I went there with a groupon that i had to use so i had to wait. When we were finally seated, the waitress showed very little interest in serving us. I noticed not only the waitress at my table was not friendly, the answers/comments made by other waitress around the place were also rude and inconsiderate. In turns of food, the clam chowder bread bowl was delicious but the fried dishes we order, ocean's devil and clam roll were not impressive. Given the above facts, I do think the price is expensive for what it's worth. However, the place does have great ocean view and it was so refreshing to dine in the open ocean air with live music. So, if you are in a good mood, doesn't mind the slow, ok food and indifferent service, it would not be a bad place to go.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Anglins Beach Cafe also viewed

 
Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
 

Been to Anglins Beach Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Anglins Beach Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.