We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Courtyard Villa deserves another postive review, we loved this place.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard Villa

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Courtyard Villa
Save
You added Courtyard Villa to your Saves list
4312 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Iowa
1 review
“Courtyard Villa deserves another postive review, we loved this place.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2009

My family stayed here as part of a larger wedding party, enough people that we basically booked the whole place. Upon booking this place, we were very concerned that of the few reviews a lot were very negative. Had there been an abundance of reviews with a high rate of negatives, we would have canceled with no hesitation. Instead, we thought this deserved a closer look and had some local family pay an in-person visit to check it out. Based on how accommodating and committed management was to addressing any concerns and this second opinion, we followed through.
Honestly, if you are expecting this property to be the newest franchise luxury hotel and convention complex keep looking. What you will get is a private, casual, beautifully historic old-Florida gem, an enviable location, serviced by the friendliest and most accommodating staff and management.
It made a perfectly wonderful setting for the beach wedding and celebration. Having the pier, shopping, and restaurants within walking distance were a huge plus. It felt like it was our home for the few days we were there.
I can’t wait for another opportunity to stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    16
    0
    5
    11
See reviews for
9
22
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
leadinglady01
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2009

This is a property with great potential in an idyllic location, but maintenance is non-existent and house keeping is a joke. It sits right on the beach in the quaint village of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea which is why we've been coming here for years, but over the past two years, this property has deteriorated exponentially. The place is filthy and getting worse by the day. Getting towels and wash clothes is like pulling teeth. Apparently they are afraid we'll steal them, but since they are stained to begin with, I can't imagine wanting to take them anywhere but a laundromat. If furniture breaks, they leave it until it becomes dangerous and then simply remove it and won't replace it. Telephone line breaks! Hope you didn't want to make a call. They promise high speed internet, but they can't deliver to all their rooms. The freezer in our room was filled with half eaten food from the previous guest, and there was no soap in the bathroom. We've heard that the property is up for sale, and apparently there are no plans to even keep the property up in the meantime.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebo,NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2009

I want to start off with saying that when I made my reservation Kris was very pleasant and answered all the questions I had and also informed me of the local restaurants and shopping. Upon arrival we were graciously greeted by the manager. Our rooms were very intimate, cozy and clean. Housekeeping was in every day including Sunday. We enjoyed the privacy and the beautiful beach view from our room which was room 7. We will definitely visit this lovely hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2009

I read the reviews, but understand that sometimes beach motels can get a bad rap. Well this one deserves all the bad press it has gotten. This was one of the worst places I have ever stayed in my life. The rooms’ small, the bathroom smaller and the hotel could use a bit of TLC, some new plaster, paint and beds.

It is filthy, the staff tries real hard to portray this hotel as very nice but the ringer is..... if you make a reservation, you will prepay up front once you arrive and you change your mind you are pretty much out of luck, you will not be getting out of staying in these filthy rooms!! I actually saw one couple check in and then walk out, when they asked for a refund they were declined. What a shame, the hotel portrays itself as a 2007 award winner, they only thing they could have possibly won was the dirtiest location at the beach, and to charge $279.00 per night for this dump is outrageous. I stayed for 2 nights due to the inability to cancel without a full night room rate charge. Fool me once shame on you... I won't be going back to that dump!

The location is awesome, right on the beach and they accept animals ( at an additional $25.00 per night) , but that is about of the positive I can say about the place.

If you are looking for a nice beach motel in Lauderdale by the Sea, let me suggest the Beachcomber which is right down the Ocean Drive from there.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlottesville
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2008

We stayed here a few years ago and it was much better, maybe they changed the management.
It was overall a very unpleasant experience, the rooms are dirty and the mangement is un-nice and un-cooperative. Most A/C aren't working, we found insects in the bathroom and even the outside pool/spa was very dirty.
There are much better resort in the area so I suggest to go somewhere else.
Dont' be fooled, the one and two bedroom apartments aren't in the villa but across the street.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2008

Let me start by saying this property has real potential. We could have even dealt with the fact that it has become run down and in need of quite a few "touch-ups" if not for two facts--it was the most expensive of the properties we looked into AND the manager was extremely unfriendly. Our other issues included lots of mold/mildew on the inside of the shower curtain, the shower drain was clogged to the point that we ended up standing in 4-5 inches of water by the time we finished showering (thankfully, it drained by the next morning), throw rugs on the floor were very dirty, towels were changed daily but room wasn't actually cleaned, a problem with sweet ants, vertical blinds were broken and not operational, the toaster didn't work (although it was traded with one from another unit when we complained), the trash outside in the courtyard was not emptied for days and ended up overflowing to the ground, there was noisy construction going on right next door, the sidewalk was torn up right in front of the place (a place was provided to park across the street), the light switch turned the alarm clock off and on, etc. Although this was considered an efficiency with a kitchenette, it was VERY small. The bathroom was small for one person to get ready in. The location right on the ocean was great and we also enjoyed the small town feel of Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. We would not consider going back, however.

  • Liked — location right on the ocean
  • Disliked — unfriendliness of the manager, issues with the room
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2007

Stayed here for 3 nights on our way to orlando. A party of 10 - 6 Adults and 4 Older children. We all loved it here. I was very apprehensive at first due to there being no recent info or feedback from people who have stayed here recently.

The area is certainly undergoing big changes. There are a lot of expensive condos being built all along from the hotel. In fact right next to the hotel there were workmen working inside the recently constructed buildings. This did not affect us at all. At the time of our visit it was very quiet.

The hotel is very small and adorable. Between us we had 3 rooms all of which were clean.- Not 5 star -most certainly not- but good,clean, very reasonably priced accomodation. -4 posterbeds, pull out sofas,little kitchenettes,small dining tables - a home away from home-not at all hotel room like! Free breakfast included-Muffins, croissants, coffee.
A beautiful spa pool. The best bit for us was the location -literally right on the beach. 2 min walk to an excellent fishing pier. (our friend caught a hammerhead shark there!)
Something very worthwhile noting though is that in our discussions with staff (who were all very friendly and helpful) we were told that the courtyard is up for sale.
I can well imagine that this little gem will be pulled down and turned into more luxury condos. What a great shame!
Enjoy it while you can!

  • Liked — The location to the beach
  • Disliked — no lift-walking up steps to our rooms with cases
  • Stayed October 2007
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Villa

Address: 4312 El Mar Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Lauderdale by the Sea
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Courtyard Villa Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Courtyard Lauderdale By The Sea
Lauderdale By The Sea Courtyard
Courtyard Villa Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard Villa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.