We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet little place near the sea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Best Florida Resort

Save Saved
You added Best Florida Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Florida Resort
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4628 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
CALL HOTEL, SAVE 25%
Boulder
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sweet little place near the sea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Set back from a busy street protected from noise by the trees & fencing, this sweet hideaway was perfect. Small shaded courtyard with flowers & trees and a pool. Attractive room decked in bamboo furnishings with nice colors. Very friendly manager, Bo, who answered all questions and gave directions to restaurants and beach. Walking distance to everything you want or need (beach, restaurants, shopping, medical). This was my 3rd visit to Lauderdale by the Sea and I love the quiet, simplicity and charm of the area and only about 25 minutes north from Ft. Lauderdale airport.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

185 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    51
    10
    7
    6
See reviews for
55
60
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

I picked this place after reading the raves on TripAdvisor, and sorry to say I don't agree with the high ratings. Except for the owners, who really are delightful. And the room was well cleaned by the housekeeper. That said, there is a lot I didn't like (and I would not return): the rooms very much need updating: everything from the carpet to the furniture to the flickering lamp, the walls are VERY thin: we heard everything next door, it's located on the main road w/ cars nearby, there was a musty/moldy smell in the room, the linens look old, the decor is well, odd (& I like offbeat), and it's not that inexpensive. It is, though, conveniently located near a shopping center and the beach. The pool area is cute: the best part by far, (though right on the road). I would only go back if the rooms got a total makeover.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013 via mobile

Not sure how the Best Florida Resort measures up to other motels in the area, but I would say for the price range (175/night) shopping around might not be a bad idea.

The room was clean enough and we enjoyed the quirky, quiet ambiance. Hower for the price paid the shower was unacceptable (no pressure and temps went from freezing to scalding every 2 minutes) and this is really critical if you intend on hanging out on the beach and in the ocean. Also there is no maid service Sundays and holidays and no place on site to use a computer or print directions or boarding passes. As we stayed over a long holiday weekend this lack of convenience dropped the star rating to a 3.

The proprietors were kind, rooms were clean, and it is close to the beach, so it's certainly not the worst you can do. Just feel like it wasn't the best value for the money.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaufort, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Well mantained. Nice grounds. Rooms could use some light updating to freshen them up but over all nice place. Quiet at night even being on a main road. Owners were very acommodating. Pool was nice with lush surroundings. Walking distance to awesome restaurants and entertainment. Beach is walking distance and so is the pier. Shower needed more pressure, but worked well even on my thick hair.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Well maintained with lovely garden. Nice to sit by the pool and beach not far away. Manager on sight and most helpful. Clean rooms and quiet at night which serves me well. Good value and close to restaurants and attractions.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

I absolutely enjoyed my stay at the Best Florida Resort. Upon my arrival I couldn't help but be impressed by the lush and romantic ambiance of the courtyard. At night the space is reminiscent of an island getaway. It was beautiful! The room was clean which is of the upmost importance to me. I also loved the the fact that the beach was within walking distance as was the shopping area. The only challenges were as follows... the room had a very damp feel to it, which I completely understand due to the humid climate of south florida. Also, I had issues with the shower temperature in my room. When trying to adjust the temp. it would go from really hot to lukewarm. I had a hard time getting it to stay somewhere in between for some reason.

My stay was almost perfect and I would recommend this lil' oasis to anyone seeking accomodations in that area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Libertyville
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Its a small,private & cozy little jungle garden tucked away from the concrete world around it. Perfectly relaxing. Every thing is within walking distance;Grocery, Liquor, CVS, Fishing Peir, shopping etc. The rooms are clean with all the ammenities you would need. Barely a blocks walk to the Ocean! The owners were truely warm, welcome people eager to make your stay enjoyable. I plan on returning for a longer duration next time to take advantage of such a great place. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Best Florida Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Florida Resort

Address: 4628 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 31 hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Best Florida Resort 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Best Florida Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Florida Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Hotel Best Florida
Best Florida Resort Lauderdale By The Sea

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Best Florida Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.