We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Castle by the Sea to your Saves list
Castle by the Sea
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4520 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Harbor, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

we did not get a very good check in as the room was not ready/// after getting that fixed we got happy, don't worry///the room was clean or I mean rooms///a very friendly place to stay & owner was very helpful///location was good for everything///we would stay there again,anytime///ero

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank erosenfi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The owner, Daniel, is professional. He has definatly read the hospitality 101 textbook. He goes above and beyond to make his guest feel welcome. Moreover, he is an excellent host. Helpful and there with a solution to your problem. THe property is shabby chic charming. VERY CLEAN. This is a fantastic place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune, and still be close to the beach. The rooms are clean and cute, but if you are bothered by noise, the AC runs all night. It is also smoker friendly. So if you smoke, there are ashtrays in the pool area. Which is a few steps from your room. No smoking in the rooms. I am a seasoned traveler. I personally prefere a smaller hotel with an onsight owner, to a high rise stuffy hotel. If you are too, Castle by the Sea will fulfill all your expectations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank Sher W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Level Contributor
93 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here last weekend. The rooms are not modern, but nice. We spent most of our time at the beach and the square just a few minutes walk away. For the location, the price was fantastic. The breakfast offered on Sunday morning was a thoughtful gesture the owner included. We would totally stay here again and would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Parithon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great value for location. Retro motel that had all of the basics covered + breakfast on Sunday. Bed was comfortable (although squeaky when we first set on it...was concerning for me as I have the "princess and the pea" syndrome and it's on a busy street but, no issue sleeping for me and we stayed several nights). Pool area clean and inviting. Maybe a half block to the beach....which we walked a couple of times each day. Great location plus restaurants and groceries nearby. Plus only about a 45 min drive to South Beach. Daniel was a great host and very accommodating! One tip....you may want to bring your own power strip as there were only a few electrical outlets in the room for phone, etc chargers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The owner gived me a long term " deal", few days later replaced dish for not working one, and when I asked to fix it, he said I dont have to stay there and I would have better service if I would pay full price. Than he told me to move out because he can rent it for more. Insane! Lack of proffesionalism. Would never recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Luiza383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel4520, Owner at Castle by the Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We strive to offer affordable, family friendly accommodations. When a guest chooses to engage in an illegal, illicit profession on our property, they will always be asked to leave and not permitted back on the property. In establishing this standard, if the guest chooses to give us a "terrible" review, then we have accomplished our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place is a diamond in the rough. It was a great find and the customer service was exceptional. Daniel accommodated in everything that we needed...beach chairs, umbrella, towels..and a free breakfast on Sundays! Walking distance to everything as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: If you can get the efficiency type room. Only slightly more expensive but you get a full kitchen. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mda127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A small paradise
At 200 yards of the ocean and the fabulous restaurants
The boss daniel is love. He answer all your requests.
Nice swimming pool and the tiki bar is great.
Prices are very soft. Excellent absolutely brilliant value for money in couple or with the children

Room Tip: all rooms on the south get the sun all day and west too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agnes o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lauderdale by the Sea hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Seacrest
Hotel Seacrest
#2 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 263 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dolphin Harbor Inn
Dolphin Harbor Inn
#29 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
3.5 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.2 mi away
Great Escape Inn
Great Escape Inn
#10 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Best Florida Resort
Best Florida Resort
#15 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.5 of 5 stars 292 reviews
0.0 mi away
Blue Seas Courtyard
Blue Seas Courtyard
#5 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
5.0 of 5 stars 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Shore Haven Resort
Shore Haven Resort
#18 of 29 in Lauderdale by the Sea
4.0 of 5 stars 221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle by the Sea

Address: 4520 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 29 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2 star — Castle by the Sea 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the town of Lauderdale-by-the-sea, this hotel is 2 minutes' walk from the beach with many restaurants. It features an outdoor swimming pool and Wi-Fi in all areas. A microwave and refrigerator come standard in each room at Castle by the Sea. Select rooms feature fully equipped kitchens. A flat-screen TV is included. Beach towels, chairs and umbrellas are available to guests at Castle by the Sea. Barbecue facilities are on site. Guests will be 5.4 miles from Pompano Beach Municipal Golf Course, 20 minutes from Fort Lauderdale Airport and Port Everglades and only 30 minutes from Miami Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Castle by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle By The Sea Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing