We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Castle by the Sea

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Castle by the Sea to your Saves list
Castle by the Sea
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4520 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
Palm Harbor, Florida
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

we did not get a very good check in as the room was not ready/// after getting that fixed we got happy, don't worry///the room was clean or I mean rooms///a very friendly place to stay & owner was very helpful///location was good for everything///we would stay there again,anytime///ero

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    14
    3
    0
    1
See reviews for
14
17
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

The owner, Daniel, is professional. He has definatly read the hospitality 101 textbook. He goes above and beyond to make his guest feel welcome. Moreover, he is an excellent host. Helpful and there with a solution to your problem. THe property is shabby chic charming. VERY CLEAN. This is a fantastic place to stay if you don't want to spend a fortune, and still be close to the beach. The rooms are clean and cute, but if you are bothered by noise, the AC runs all night. It is also smoker friendly. So if you smoke, there are ashtrays in the pool area. Which is a few steps from your room. No smoking in the rooms. I am a seasoned traveler. I personally prefere a smaller hotel with an onsight owner, to a high rise stuffy hotel. If you are too, Castle by the Sea will fulfill all your expectations.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
key west
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed here last weekend. The rooms are not modern, but nice. We spent most of our time at the beach and the square just a few minutes walk away. For the location, the price was fantastic. The breakfast offered on Sunday morning was a thoughtful gesture the owner included. We would totally stay here again and would recommend to other travelers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Great value for location. Retro motel that had all of the basics covered + breakfast on Sunday. Bed was comfortable (although squeaky when we first set on it...was concerning for me as I have the "princess and the pea" syndrome and it's on a busy street but, no issue sleeping for me and we stayed several nights). Pool area clean and inviting. Maybe a half block to the beach....which we walked a couple of times each day. Great location plus restaurants and groceries nearby. Plus only about a 45 min drive to South Beach. Daniel was a great host and very accommodating! One tip....you may want to bring your own power strip as there were only a few electrical outlets in the room for phone, etc chargers.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauderdale by the Sea, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

The owner gived me a long term " deal", few days later replaced dish for not working one, and when I asked to fix it, he said I dont have to stay there and I would have better service if I would pay full price. Than he told me to move out because he can rent it for more. Insane! Lack of proffesionalism. Would never recommend this motel.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel4520, Owner at Castle by the Sea, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
We strive to offer affordable, family friendly accommodations. When a guest chooses to engage in an illegal, illicit profession on our property, they will always be asked to leave and not permitted back on the property. In establishing this standard, if the guest chooses to give us a "terrible" review, then we have accomplished our goal.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

This place is a diamond in the rough. It was a great find and the customer service was exceptional. Daniel accommodated in everything that we needed...beach chairs, umbrella, towels..and a free breakfast on Sundays! Walking distance to everything as well. I highly recommend this place!!

Room Tip: If you can get the efficiency type room. Only slightly more expensive but you get a full kitchen. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

A small paradise
At 200 yards of the ocean and the fabulous restaurants
The boss daniel is love. He answer all your requests.
Nice swimming pool and the tiki bar is great.
Prices are very soft. Excellent absolutely brilliant value for money in couple or with the children

Room Tip: all rooms on the south get the sun all day and west too!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Castle by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle by the Sea

Address: 4520 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 31 Hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Castle by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Castle by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle By The Sea Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Castle by the Sea, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.