We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alan & Kari T.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Driftwood Beach Club

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Driftwood Beach Club
Save
You added Driftwood Beach Club to your Saves list
4417 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel amenities
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Alan & Kari T.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

I am an original owner of this timeshare that I bought in 1982. Have used RCI to trade over the years. Last time I stayed here was 12 years ago. The unit was completely updated, Ellen and her staff were extremely professional. The property was clean, extremely convenient to a town that has become quite eclectic and has grown greatly in 12 years. I have an unique perspective since
I have lived in S. Fla. for many years. Only used car once to go to dinner or to Publix supermarket.
You can walk for food, drinks, and beach. Met great people. Highly recommend for families of all ages. Looking forward to next June when we will return.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, July 30, 2014
The Driftwood is thrilled that you've come back! This is such a special place, made even more so by our owners and guests. It was wonderful having you with us again and we do look forward to June and many more years together!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    12
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
22
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford UK
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

We have just returned from a holiday at the Driftwood Beach Club booked through RCI. The apartment was perfect for what we needed and the location is superb, with a great mix of pool and beach. We personally wanted to thank Ellen and her staff who went out of their way when I suffered a back injury, and allowed me to extend my stay by 4 nights whilst my family travelled to Orlando to continue our holiday. It really is a great place to stay with warm hospitality and the local area has a great laid back vibe.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, July 28, 2014
Thank you for your kind remarks. It is never easy to have an illness or injury while on vacation, especially when in a foreign country. You have been in our thoughts, in hopes that your back is on the mend.

Do come back again. We truly enjoyed you and your family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

We stayed here through RCI and enjoyed our stay. Rooms are clean, staff is friendly, family atmosphere. It's an older place so be aware of that. Nice pool, short walk to beach. New kitchen and living areas. Bathrooms and bedroom could use a little modernization but at least they're clean.

There were LOTS Of kids so if you are trying to avoid that, I'd stay somewhere else. Also, if you stay on the side of a1a the traffic can be very loud so if you are a light sleeper id request to stay on the El Mar drive side. Several gas grills for use, and lots of umbrellas at the pool. There are also beach chairs for use at the beach but no umbrellas.

This place is close to local bars and restaurants and about a $20 cab ride to Ft Lauderdale.

There is an airport shuttle that you can use too which we didn't know about so def take advantage of that.

My husband and I prefer more modern look and feel but this is definitely Nice quaint place for families. Enjoyed our stay!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
The Driftwood was glad to have you with us as we especially enjoy meeting our RCI exchangers in hopes you will love our friendliness and convenient location to become one of our own. As you have noted, our long-time, dedicated staff is in the process of modernizing and updating the Driftwood to make it as pleasing and as comfortable as possible.

You are absolutely right about the children we have in the summertime as most of our owners come back year after year with their children looking forward to being with the friends they have made here. If you prefer a quieter holiday, the other three seasons might be more to your liking.

Thank you again for staying with us! And next time, inquire in the office for beach umbrellas. We do have some available to lend out!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

My friends stayed here and I visited every day. They loved the convenience of the first level (of 2) so they walked right out to the pool. The interior was small, but two full baths and two bedrooms. They also have 1 bedroom and 1 bath units as well as studios. They have the 2nd level totally upgraded and working on the first level. I saw two finished units and they were beautiful. Walk across the street to their private entrance to shuffle board and the beautiful stretch of the best beach around. Walk within your block to several restaurants and music every Friday and Saturday night. We met several timeshare owners and they are wonderful, fun, and happy people. I think they make you feel like family here.

Room Tip: Updated modern rooms are on the second level at this time with lower level being done. Both are acc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
We enjoyed having you visit with us and are so pleased to have your wonderful review! While the Driftwood owners pride themselves on friendliness, it is good to hear first hand from visitors that they also experienced our hospitality. It is our hope that we will see you often in the years to come as the Driftwood is a very special place to many, many people around the world!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Faversham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Have just returned from a two week stay at the Driftwood.
As always we had a great time. It is such a friendly place and our fellow guests were a great bunch. We really look forward to seeing them each year.
Ellen and her team keep the place spotless, we are anxiously awaiting for our apartment to be updated. The addition of karaoke to the cheese and wine afternoon was a winner.
Roll on May 2915. Hate to wish my life away but can't wait to go back. A year is just too long to wait.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, May 29, 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! Our fun and happy May folks are very special to us. We are glad you liked the karaoke after the wine and cheese party. It went on into the evening hours with everyone staying around to enjoy the music, didn't it ? Even though the 'Sonny and Cher' duo was one of the favorites, it was good to have some of the more reticent singers join in with their excellent voices. Lastly, what good appetizers we had with, not one, but three winners in the contest! English roasted potatoes, caramel dip for apples along with the broccoli and cheese casserole were tops. Looking forward to seeing you next May!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

My family has been going to the Driftwood for over 12 years and my friends and i for a "girls" week the last 3 years. We have a blast and met wonderful people from around the world. Ellen and her staff are the best, what ever we need they will get it.My Dad loved this place and now do I.

Thank you to all for great memories and for taking care of my family.

Susan Butler
South Boston, MA

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
We at the Driftwood love having second and even third generation owners! As you said, the Driftwood is the perfect place for making and storing many wonderful memories. It is a treat to watch the youngsters who come here with their parents grow up and then become a part of the Driftwood family! See you next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marstons Mills, Massachusetts
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Discovered Driftwood BC 5 year ago and have been going there every year since. A simple RCI Search, there it was! A inviting pool, a wonderful beach, in a perfect location. We live on Cape Cod and look forward to our first salt water swim after a long cold winter. As a Driftwood guest you have private access with a short stroll across the street to one of the most beautiful and well kept beaches in the area. This year a Sea Turtle nested on the beach. It was respectfully roped off and monitored. How Cool Is That?! :)). This location offers a Village feel perfect for couples & families. Grocery stores, restaurants, entertainment, ice cream shop and more all within walking distance. Every year we go improvements have been made to the Resort. This year new furniture, kitchen cabinets and counter tops tastefully done in all the units. The Staff: In the office Ellen or Pam are always available and keep the place running smoothly. Same Maintenance/Housekeeping staff too. They all do a wonderful job and the building and grounds in my opinion have never looked better.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Driftwood Board S, Public Relations Manager at Driftwood Beach Club, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
The Driftwood Staff thanks your for the wonderful review. You have touched on the many points which make the Driftwood the perfect vacation spot. It is guests like you, however, who help to put the friendly welcome out to all who come!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Driftwood Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Driftwood Beach Club

Address: 4417 El Mar Dr, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Family Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome Home... To the Driftwood Beach Club! Conveniently located on the Atlantic Ocean in the heart of Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, we are one block north of Commercial Blvd on the east side of State Road A1A and are easily accessible from the Florida Turnpike, I-95 and U.S. 1. Lounge away poolside in our 55'*33' swimming pool, the largest in Lauderdale-By-The-Sea, or enjoy our other amenities, including two gas barbecue grills, a new jacuzzi, a large garden patio and two shuffleboard courts directly on the ocean next to our private beach access.Nearby, you can find everything for the perfect family vacation. We're just moments away from a variety of fine restaurants, boutiques, grocery stores, banks, car rentals, fishing pier, marina, tennis courts and a children's playground... All within walking distance. For your convenience, we offer daily maid service. Two private coin laundries are located on the property. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Driftwood Beach Club Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Driftwood Beach Club Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Driftwood Beach Club, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.