We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FRADULENT” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Away Inn

Save Saved
You added Away Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Away Inn
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   4653 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Hollywood, Maryland
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“FRADULENT”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

The away inn had more good review than bad so we decided to stay because some of the family was their. We were going to a graduation,The hotel semed ok, but as we were to check in the guy asked for credit card and id so we gave it to hom not knowing he was writing down all of our information from the card including the 3 digit on the back of the card, I asked him why is he doing that he said it is the policy of the hotel.The manager Dorothy said it is the policy,they have been doing this for 5years, and if you don't want to give your information you can leave so we went to a different hotel, to where they do not copy your credit card at all, so if you do not want your credit card information disposed of do not stay there especially when they have your 3 digit number from the back of your card,I never heard of such a policy,I will check into it when we arrive home.

Room Tip: If you value your private information from fraud don't stay their.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    13
    5
    5
    9
See reviews for
24
34
5
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

For three years in a row, my husband and I have "come home" to the Away Inn during February for a break from the winter in the Northeast and to see my parents. We stayed for 3 weeks, and once again were extremely pleased with our total experience. Although our room has always been immaculate, this time I made a special request that the room be completely disinfected because my husband is on a medicine that lowers his immune system. Jennifer, the amazing young woman who runs the front desk, assured me that she would tell all the housekeepers and make sure that bleach/clorox was on hand. When we checked in, the room was spotless, smelled fresh and clean, and it was clear that my request had been heard. In fact, for our entire stay the friendly and hard-working housekeepers made sure that our room was "super clean," and I didn't even have to remind them. Our first morning, we were greeted (and even hugged) by many of our favorite staff members--Earl and Robert (the friendly and talented men who keep the place in tip top shape), and our wonderful housekeepers (we were fortunate to have Claudia and Hannah again). At the pool, we saw many returning guests, too, which shows that the Away Inn is doing a lot of things right. The sheets on our bed (which are changed twice a week) always looked spotless and new, and the towels were plentiful and clean. As usual, we enjoyed the quick and easy walk across the street to the beautiful beach, and the Away Inn's beach chairs, beach umbrellas, and towels. This year we stayed in a one-bedroom room, and saved money by cooking some meals in the full kitchen. The couch in the living room was a perfect spot for relaxing and watching the flat screen tv at night. It pulls out to a bed, which came in handy when our daughter stayed with us for a few nights. The heated pool was always clean and inviting, and a great place for a quick swim after a day at the beach. Many guests relaxed at the pool all day, enjoying the sun and shade there as well as cooking lunch or dinner on the huge gas grill next to the pool. Over the years, we've stayed at about six other places in the area, and paid a lot more money for much less amenities. Dorothy, the property manager, makes it easy and inviting to keep coming back. The Away Inn is still our favorite place to stay in the area; why go anywhere else?

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
parkland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed here for the good reviews,but you learn once you see for yourself, we had 2 roooms at this hotel we thought we were going to be together but we were seperated one room upstairs one downstairs, manager said she had no more rooms available.,We took the 2 rooms for the 5 night stay, there is no breakfast offered for the prices of these rooms, but what we experienced was not good we did not know there were 2 seperate staffs one for the weekday and one for the weekend we checked in the front desk staff was great jennifer was pleasant and funny but room service on thursday and friday was horrible we did not get our bed change we was told you only get clean sheets on monday and thursday which is something we never heard of and the housekeeper refused to change our linen even after we asked them for up and downstairs, but we realized on saturday there was a different staff who was more pleasant than the other 2 ladies through the week were, these 2 ladies on the weekend they changed our beds at our request they cleaned the room very well they also cleaned our tub which the other 2 did not they just changed out our towels and dump the trash, the cable kept going out we went to the office to see another new face her name was gail she was pleasant and called the mainteance man to come to our room he was there in no time to see what was the problem he said he had to get another box and will be right back,if you want good room service stay on the weekend, also the wifi is not that great, the manager yelled at us for having fun in the pool said we were to loud and you can't use the pool items thats in the bin so why have them out there,she made our stay uncomfortable of enjoying ourselves, jennifer and the weekend staff are great,the manager has a bad attitude we asked and was told her name is dorothy not a pleasant person, but hotel is cozy family oriented.service and cleanliness came from the weekend staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

We stayed at the Away Inn based on the good reviews we read here
on TripAdvisor. We were very disappointed and wonder how the place
has good reviews. The room we were given had a bad odor when we
got there. We tried another room but it was the same thing.
They claim to have WiFi but it didn't work in either room. My husband
had work to do and needed the computer. He had to go to a McDonald's
for internet access. The sofa bed linens were stained and torn.
There were bugs in the room. There was a towel under the air conditioner
to catch the water leaking where tiny ants were running around. We saw
a rat near the garbage dumpster around the corner. The pool was cold
and there was trash and empty beer and soda cans by the pool area.
We wanted to go to a different motel after the first day but the manager
said she would still have to charge us for the three days that we booked.
The only nice thing is that it's near the beach but I'm sure there are much
cleaner, better places to stay. Would never stay at the Away Inn ever again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rachelsrainbow, Front Office Manager at Away Inn, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Com see for yourself No dirty rms, No bedbugs, No rats very clean establishment
MOD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We stayed at the Away Inn in June and cannot believe the good reviews because it
was probably the worst place we've ever stayed. When we checked into our room,
the air conditioner was blowing warm air. It took six and a half hours for the man to
come and fix it. The manager would not give us another room. There were ants in
the cabinets and a dead cockroach in the tub. The pool area was littered with cigarette
butts and trash and looked like no one had cleaned there in a long time. There was
loud music coming from the pool area one night until 2:00 a.m. When we called the
manager, all we got was a voicemail message. There is no one in the office after 6:00
so you're stuck if you have a problem.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Read the good reviews of this hotel so decided to stay here for 5 nights over 4th July Celebrations. We were not disapointed and wished we had booked for longer.

This hotel is small and friendly and positioned at the beter quieter end of Fort Lauderdale, where the beaches are quieter and free parking supplied. Unlike Fort Luaderdale where the hotels there charge for parking of you have to use the expensive pay and display machines. The beach is a short 2 minute walk across the road.

The room which had a small kitchen was very clean, modern and comfortable. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, cuttlery etc and there was a supermarket across the road.

All the staff are very friendley and relaxed and there's even complimentry beach umbrellas, chairs and coolers for you to take to the beach. The whole building appears to be very well mainted unlike many other hotels.
There was also reliable super fast wirless internet in the rooms.

This hotel definately comes recommended.

Room Tip: The building is a u shape so all the rooms appear to face the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012 via mobile

We loved our stay there
nice heated pool. Walking distance to the ocean. stayed 2 nights would like to stay longer

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Away Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Away Inn

Address: 4653 N. Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL 33308
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 31 hotels in Lauderdale by the Sea
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Away Inn 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your Away Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Away Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
Away Inn Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Away Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.