We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful seashore experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Mer Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lauderdale by the Sea
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
La Mer Motel
4529 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL   |  
Hotel amenities
lauderdale by the sea, fl
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“beautiful seashore experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I enjoy staying here since the management is organized and extremely conscientious, honest, efficient, and always available, rooms spacious and very clean, maid service dependable, charming seashore tropical surroundings and decor, close to everything; an all around enjoyable experience by the wonderful Atlantic Ocean; 5 star! want to stop by again and again for rest and relaxation and fun for sure anytime in the area.

Room Tip: pool area is quiet and so relaxing and healthy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    6
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lauderdale-by-the-Sea, Florida, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

I have had the same apartment three different times.I have lived here for long periods of time.This time I brought my Mom.She is in the apartment next to me.We are both very happy here.The owners are wonderful people who are very professional and welcoming.The Manager is outstanding. I was in property management for years and she is a shining star.They have been doing some updating making the property even better.The property is close to stores,restaurants,bars, beach,and medical facilities.The pool is sparkling and it is relaxing to sit in the chairs by the courtyard and relax.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

The hotel is in a great location across the street from the beach. The hotel is close to the restaurants and shops. This is a mom and pop hotel well kept and clean. The bathroom could use some upgrading, as the shower the bathtub was very old and rusted in some areas I also ran out of hot water within about 5 minutes of my showers, and the toilet handle needed to held down in order to flush properly.Also, the kitchen could use a new toaster (the handle was broken) and coffee maker. But, don't let this deter you from staying here. Just think of your vacation as a home away from home when you first moved away from home! The dishes, silverware and some of the decorations looked like they were garage sale finds - mismatched but charming! The beds are comfy and clean. You can tell the owners take pride in making sure their guests are happy. They even let us borrow some chairs and a beach umbrella to take to the beach. The courtyard area was very cute and well cared for and the pool was nice and refreshing! There are several lizards that live in the courtyard and a couple liked the area right outside of our door. They would always greet us as we came and went. By the middle of the week we had named them Fred and Ethel. We then noticed a couple more by the pool area and called them Lucy and Ricky!

One thing I do have to mention is that three nights in a row when we would come back for the evening we found one rather large cockroach (or maybe Palmetto bug?). We didn't see anymore, and we did report seeing them to the owner. So, I am sure she took care of the issue. Again, please don't let this deter you from staying here, I just felt like I needed to mention it. But, I would not hesitate to stay here again! This is a budget hotel in a nice area, with wonderful owners!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2012

I recently went to florida with my family of 5 and decided to stay at La Mer primarily because of the location. We were overwhelmed by the hospitality of the staff. Everyone was so nice to us and they constantly asked to make sure we or the children didn't need anything. The rooms were VERY clean compared to the rooms we've stayed in before in other hotels in the area. The location was perfect, walking distance to everything especially for the children. The room was perfect for the family with all the amenities, little kitchen made it perfect to prepare meals on the nights we didn't go out. Great experience, will definitely repeat it at La Mer.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2012

la mer motel has the best location by the beach by far.... the best part is as i got there i quickly realized that i wouldn't even need a car . the best foods and restaurant are right here one minute walking distance.
very friendly staff and ready to help at any time.
the rooms are clean and come with all amenities in including everything for the kitchen.
i would recommend this get away little place to anyone ready to relax and have a good time .

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2011

The best part of La Mer has to be its location! A block away from the beach, walking distance from the pier, restaurant and shops. The people managing were very nice and helpful. The room that we stayed in was good. It was clean, and spacious. I liked the fact that there was a small kitchen, And the out door area was relaxing. I would recommend this place to anyone who is on a budget and want to have a great time

Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bavaria, Germany
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2009

When I arrived at La Mer, we were welcome with nice flowers and friendly people arround. The rooms were clean and enough space. The kitchen had everything I needed (stove, oven, fridge, freezer, coffee-maker, toaster, microwave, dishes, pots, pans...) and the AC worked great!
The maid cleaned my room very good and I felt comfortable all the time.
The owners came over very often to ask, if everything is good. If I had a problem, they tried to help very fast!
The location is very good, because Lauderdale By The Sea is a small town with a nice beach aera. The hotel is close to the restaurants, shops and next to the beach. It's only accross the street, to be on the waterfront! In walking distance you can find a grocery-shop, where I got everything I needed.
This hotel is a very small hotel, friendly for families and all people, they do not need too much luxery. I liked it very much, because I do not like too big hotels!
The pool was nice and clean!
What should I write more.......I liked it and it was great to stay there! I met very nice other people and we had fun. During the daytime, the Ocean Drive (A1A) is noisy, but in the nights it was pretty good quiet.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Mer Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Mer Motel

Address: 4529 North Ocean Drive, Lauderdale by the Sea, FL
Location: United States > Florida > Lauderdale by the Sea
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Lauderdale by the Sea
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly and privately operated Motel" LA MER",located in the heart of beautiful Lauderdale-by-the-Sea. We are located across the Beach,walking distance to all restaurants,bars -stores and the Fishing Pier.La mer motel is a one story building ,with an inside garden around the pool.It offers a comfortable setting and a relaxing tropical atmosphere. Jogging, bicycling or walking to the sound of the ocean waves is one of the most enjoyable activities. Snorkeling & Diving Centers are nearby and so is a Public Park with Tennis/Basket Ball courts and Children Playground.We have efficiencies with 2 Beds(1Queen and 1 twin)- Fully equipped kitchen (Microwave-coffee Maker-Electric stove and refrigerator - All range- Cable T.V.- Maid service- Free Internet accesWe also have 1 bedroom apartements and 2- bedroom/2- bath apartements. Around the Pool , you can enjoy the sea breeze under umbrellas and chairs.Parking is in front of the Motel and is free. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Mer Hotel Lauderdale By The Sea
La Mer Motel Lauderdale By The Sea, Florida

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Mer Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added La Mer Motel to your Saves list