We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Chinese food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Silver Pond Restaurant

Silver Pond Restaurant
4285 N State Road 7, Lauderdale Lakes, FL 33319-4844
954-486-8885
Improve this listing
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Florida
Top Contributor
192 reviews 192 reviews
125 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Average Chinese food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ended up at Silver Pond only because our original choice was closed that day. Service was decent and the food is average. It's certainly better than Food Court but not the type of restaurant that would make me drive out of my way to eat there. If you are in the area, it is a decent place to eat. Don't expect greatness.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

68% Recommend
    23
    19
    8
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is fair”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Yes, they have a fairly authentic Asian fare, but expensive and way too done up. I stick with the thought - less is more. Too much and Too much $$$$

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“Authentic Hong Kong Style Food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We found this place by chance as we were driving by on State Road 7 a few years ago, and have been going there ever since to enjoy the authentic Hong Kong style cuisine.

Located in a large strip mall directly on State Rd 7, the restaurant is almost always very crowded with patrons who have discovered this wonderful place. In season, the wait for a table can be up to one hour. The atmosphere can be hectic, but the food is so good, that no one seems to mind. It is best to arrive at the restaurant on the off hours or enjoy going now before the snow birds return.

The dining room is spacious and has the traditional Chinese decorations, with an impressive gold colored Chinese mural on one side where most banquets and gatherings are held. Most of the waiters do speak English or at least understand it. The service is typical Chinese, where no matter what you order, you are served the dishes according to the order that the chefs cook and not how you would like them. That is ok; just go with the flow...

We usually order the Beef Stew Soup which is a deep rich broth with meat, a real treat, but not for the novice. We continue our meal with Fried Stuffed Bean Curd, Steamed Dumplings, Hong Kong Duck, Steamed Flounder and Sautéed Snow Pea Tips or Spinach. Of course, we order a Low Mein to complete the meal and we get the white steamed rice that comes with most of the dishes. Everything is simply scrumptious! Obviously there are plenty of left over’s that we enjoy the next night or two.

For those who simply must have their egg rolls, wonton soup and chow mein, do not despair, you can enjoy them at the Silver Pond Restaurant. Fresh cut up oranges are served to each table to finish out the meal, compliments of the house. Worth the trip each and every time!
Note: The restaurant is closed on Tuesdays and open late in evenings until 12:00 a.m.

Do not overlook the Chinese bakery a few doors to the left (south) where you can buy delicious sweets (almond cookies, bean cakes, sponge cake, custard buns) and baked roast pork buns to take home.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOCA RATON, FLORIDA
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“I have been going here for 20 years!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Best Chinese in South Florida by a large margin. The only problem is the menu is a little out of the ordinary. I always ask Jack what he recommends as they have some unusual stuff. We met him in 1995 and he always greets us with a big Hello!! You have to make sure you ask the waiters what the dishes are. Some of them are are a little rough at the edges. But I think that is because they are busy and often have to explain multiple things on the menu. Snow pea tips, Bok Choy and their soups are not your basic won ton and egg drop! However, after several hundred visits, it doesn't disappoint me. When they have the giant oysters, don't miss them! It is definitely family style so the more people the better!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca
Top Contributor
160 reviews 160 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“No better Chinese food anywhere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

The unique menu is worth the trip . Nobody executes Superior Bean Curd Soup as well as Silver Pond. With so many well executed dishes and efficient service, it has become the Chinese restaurant of choice for us?

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Silver Pond Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Silver Pond Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Silver Pond Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.