We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Bruce's Chicago Grill & Dog HS

Bruce's Chicago Grill & Dog HS
7733 Ulmerton Rd Ste 3, Largo, FL 33771
(727) 524-1146
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 229 restaurants in Largo
Restaurant details
Largo, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Service is always amazing. Food is amazing. We love going here. We recommend anytime someone wants Chicago style.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

93% Recommend
    13
    2
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Best Dogs Around”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

This is one of my favorite places in the Tampa Bay area, and one I try to frequent as often as possible. Great friendly staff, huge selection of food choose from. There isnt a ton of seating, so try to beat the lunch rush, or come after the rush has passed if you can. The Chicago Dog is superb!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Do not miss this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

Bruces is great. You need to eat here. The beef sandwiches are incredible as well as the dogs. Great service to go along with it. A little pricey but well worth it. Makes fries fresh to order.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Owner cares”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

This place has been in business for probably close to 20 yrs. The owner is there and the employees seem to like working there. You know that the guy is really from Chicago and the food is very good. They back up satisfaction 100%. If you're looking for a reasonably priced Italian beef or hot dog that is "truly" Chicago-style, this is the place. I ate in just to watch the traffic flow of people. You can hardly see the sign from the road. It's right on Ulmerton Rd. North side right before Belcher. If you get to Belcher you can still turn right by the gas station to get there.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleair Beach, Florida
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
90 helpful votes 90 helpful votes
“Best taste of Chicago dogs, italian beef, brats, & sausage in this area!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2012

This place ROCKS!!!

I live on the beach and this place is not exactly close to me but its soooo worth the trip. Located on the corner of East Ulmerton and Belcher, this place will satisfy EVERY Chicagoan's yearning for home.


Normally I go once every couple of weeks and either get a Chicago dog with the works or a wet Italian beef with giardiniera. Oh, forgedda bout it. Its awesome!!.

Today I had Italian sausage on their fantastic rolls with mildly hot giardiniera was excellent. The sausage was grilled and not boiled like some places that just want to offer it but not cook it right.

Their coleslaw is okay and they offer that melted cheese sauce as a side for your fries. Yes, its not exactly good for your body but your soul is in good hands.

They even have NY dogs, the rocking poppy seed buns, Chicago tamales, grilled burgers (pan and char-grilled per order), and you can even go healthy with some salad or grilled chicken.....buy why the hell would you? :-)

Worth the trip for all you transplants and vacationers. I'm a Chicagoan (born and raised) and so I can't go too long without my fix.

Prices are reasonable if don't order one of everything like I do and they offer baskets (fries/slaw) as well as ala-carte.

Seating is outside and inside: about 7 booths 2 long tables insider and 3 tables with umbrellas outside.

Try it.. You'll thank me.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bruce's Chicago Grill & Dog HS also viewed

 

Been to Bruce's Chicago Grill & Dog HS? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bruce's Chicago Grill & Dog HS, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.