We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very attractive restaurant with good Thai food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tum Nuk Thai - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Tum Nuk Thai
11002 Seminole Blvd, Largo, FL 33778-3229
727-397-7759
Improve this listing
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Very attractive restaurant with good Thai food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2011

We enjoy this restaurant for special occasions, lunch, dinner, or take-out orders.
Waitresses are dressed in native costumes and are very sweet. Language barrier has been a problem a few times. Great Thai food, fresh flowers on tables, music playing softly, and quick service unless they are very busy. Big lunch crowd, but if you go at an off time there may be just a few tables being served. Tables are cozy and intimate. There is one larger sunken area where people sometimes sit on floor pillows to eat. Kids seem to like this space. Your take-out order can be phoned in and will be ready in 10 minutes. Try their "amazing chicken", it truly is amazingly delicious.

  • Visited April 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Guelph, Ontario
Top Contributor
204 reviews 204 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 90 cities Reviews in 90 cities
141 helpful votes 141 helpful votes
“OK but would check out other Thai Restaurants in the area”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2010

On November 29, 2010 we went for lunch at Tum Nuk Thai. We had the lunch specials which are good value for your money. The lunch special came with cup of soup, nothing to write home about as it had very little flavour. The spring roll was very nice and we enjoyed them. I always order the panang chicken when i first go to a new Thai restaurant. Their version was very good, but not the best I have ever had but very good. My partner enjoyed her dish as well.

The server was not willing to explain the heat levels of the different curries, so this needs some improvment in customer service.

I rate this restaurant as just OK, but probably check out other Thai restaurants in the area before returning.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reston, Virginia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Decent Thai Food at a Decent Price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2010

Tucked away in a non-descript strip mall, Tum Nuk Thai offers surprisingly good Thai food at reasonable prices. Our group of four had lunch there recently, and it was a real bargain. The lunch special of an egg roll, soup, and a main dish is between $6.00 and $9.00. (At dinner time, the main dish by itself will be $2.00-3.00 more than the lunch special, but still a bargain compared to other Thai restaurants we've eaten at). The Panang beef and Prik Khing chicken I sampled were excellent, as were the Thai iced coffee and Thai iced tea. There is in fact quite an extensive menu ranging from soups, salads, and noodles to a variety of meat and seafood entrees, as well as macrobiotic dishes. Service was very fast and efficient. The restaurant is tastefully decorated with wooden panels and Thai fabric designs that evoke the atmosphere of Thailand.

All in all, a very nice restaurant that I wouldn't mind going back to on my next trip to the Tampa-St. Pete's area.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“My favorite Thai restaurant.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2009

My favorite Thai restaurant.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Thai carry-out place of choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2009

We live nearby and usually order carry-out. Each member of the family has a favorite dish. Consistent quick, good-tasting food. I have had better Thai, but the prices here are good. We keep coming back for more. Favorites are the Yum beef, Pad Thai and Chicken cashew nuts.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tum Nuk Thai also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tum Nuk Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.