We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Be sure to see room first” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater

Save Saved
You added Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater to your Saves list
Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   6500 Ulmerton Road, Largo, FL 33771   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Largo
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Be sure to see room first”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

The rooms are old and worn out. The fridge will not keep the food very cold, and they are too small for anyone staying more than a day or two. They will not make ice in the freezer.
I have stayed in other Suburbans, and these rooms are half the size, for the same or a little more money. If you walk barefooted in the room your feet will be black on the bottom.
They claim to have remodeled rooms, but they won't give you one if your staying more than a day or two.
Look for a coupon to Homestead down the road, and for thirty dollars more per week, you will be much happier.

Room Tip: If you stay here, don't get a room near a staircase or ice machine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    4
    7
    6
    7
See reviews for
2
7
5
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We had booked this place so we could be close to the International Aviation Academy. This is not the place to stay if that is your goal, or for any other reason. First off, the desk clerk was clearly either not prepared to be a customer service oriented person or was having an off night but her demeanor when checking us in was less than friendly. Once we were in our room, we could hardly breath due to the stench of mold that was very present. We tried moving to another room, but by that point we had gotten a load of the clientele in this place and it either was an open-door policy amongst many who had befriended themselves and were now sharing space or a half-way house for those either entering or exiting rehab. I'm not kidding, run, do not walk if you happen to mistakeningly book this place sight unseen.

Room Tip: There are no tips except to leave as soon as possible. Do not pass Go, do not collect $$'s.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012 via mobile

The room was dirty, there were bugs in the room, and the walls were paper thin. Great room for transients, not for the business traveler or family. I ended up leaving at 2 in the morning to find another hotel due to the adjoining room's all night partying...

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Largo, Florida
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

This propery has the fastest internet access of any hotel in America I have stayed at. The rooms include kitchens with stove, microwave, refrigerator and pots, pans and cutlery. Housekeeping only provided once a week. I did not interact with any other guests. The front desk and housekeeping personnel are all first rate. The staff resolves problems quickly. The rate are reasonable. In addition to the internet HBO is available and local phone calls are free. I highly recommend this property for anyone visiting the Largo/Clearwater/Pinellas Park/St Petursburg Area.

Room Tip: Ground Floor please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

When I first gave Suburban Lodge my business (in 2010) I was treated very nicely, and was given a decent room. Went back several times and even stayed up to three weeks within any given month.
Then about a year ago, I needed to rent a room for about a week. The desk person was very nice and had a room ready that was cleaned and ready to go. How do I know? He checked.
But then he got a phone call from someone in housekeeping named Yolanda. The conversation between him and her were very easy to pick up on. She asked if the 'customer' was in the lobby and the desk person said 'yes'. Then he looked perplexed and sad ok and hung up. Well...
here comes 'Yolanda' and takes a peek into the lobby and there I am in all my glory - tote bad, hair mussed from the humid weather and basically looking withered. That was all that 'Yolanda' needed to see. And get what??? They gave me a different room from the one the desk person was going to give me. Yep, you guessed it!!! The worst room for 'Ms. Bag Lady'. Happened two more times - thanks to Yolanda the second time, the third time was probably a red flag under my name/folio. I'm stereo-typed/judged. True story.

Room Tip: Where a formal gown, a suit, and rent a limo. Oh by the way...the place isn't the Taj Mahal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deerfield Beach, FL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2012

Don't know what the other reviews were about but this place is terrible. It's the first time Trip Advisor has let me down. The room stinks of hooker sweat (or dead body, not sure which). Filthy bedding and room, looks like it has not been washed in a month. Look like crack addicts covered in tattoos standing on the balconies drinking beer in their bath towels.

The sign at checkin says "No Sex Offenders Can Stay Here", and they ask for your ID to do a background check.

There is a 3 inch circle cut in the carpet between the beds. Think that is where the stripper pole used to be.

TV didn't work but didn't even bother asking about it.

The area is terrible too.

Probably the worst hotel I have stayed in, in a very long time. Might be ok for a trucker looking for a shower but that's about it.

Room Tip: stay somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012 via mobile

Good place to flop in and get out fast. Gotta wonder what smell they were trying to hide with that machine. Wi-fi is free though and it has a kitchenette. The whole room smells like one of those urinal cakes. I had to unplug it. Sickeningly sweet mint smell. Yuck.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater

Address: 6500 Ulmerton Road, Largo, FL 33771
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Largo
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 hotels in Largo
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere and Priceline so you can book your Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater Hotel Largo
Extended Stay Largo
Largo Extended Stay

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Suburban Extended Stay Largo-Clearwater, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.