We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but clean :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Barefoot Mailman Motel

Save Saved
You added Barefoot Mailman Motel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Barefoot Mailman Motel
138 S Dixie Hwy, Lantana, FL 33462   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Add a bicycle for FREE!
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Lantana
Gainesville, FL
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Basic but clean :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

This is an old Florida style hotel. Don't expect the Ritz, but it is very clean, has a nice outdoor deck and the staff are all very helpful and friendly. Prices were SO much cheaper than any of the chains hotels we looked at. Do be warned that the trains go by at least 3 times in the middle of the night and they are loud! A good pair of earplugs help considerably. All in all, a great place to stay for the money.

Room Tip: Further back, away from the train tracks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    4
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
12
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

This is a superclean, super friendly little motel, which is ran RIGHT.
The location is very convenient and you'll be anywhere in Palm Beach County with ease. Plus, you'll have several restaurants within walking distance, offering anything from seafood to Mexican cuisine to waterfront dining.
We only spent a few nights, but I would recommend the Barefoot Mailman to anybody who is looking for a good place to stay.
Thank You, Paul and Bill, for making our brief stay very comfortable!

Room Tip: If you're looking for a value priced and clean place, any room will satisfy your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

Had a terrific stay, management was courteous and prompt, great rates!
The grounds were kept nicely, very quite... CLEAN...
Great coffee! We will definitely stay here again....
Close to the beaches and cafes...

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We were recently in Lantana Florida on business and needed acomodations for several crew members for several weeks, the motel managers Bill and Paul are great people who took great care of us. the motel was very clean, quiet and no kind of riff raff going on, and when you travel as much as we do this is a very rare commodity.we would certainly recommend this motel to anyone and if given the opportunity to go back we surely would.

Room Tip: all rooms are good.no pool sorry it wouldn't let me take it back..
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plant City, Florida
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This motel all depends on what you are looking for...

If you are looking for a hotel w/spa amenities, you will not find this here....

This is a nice little motel that offers clean rooms, decent ammenities, a friendly staff and great rates. I really like the location, but I really didn't get to do that much because I am here for training.

My room is exceptionally large but I believe it is the family economy room which is two queen beds with a sitting area and small kitchen.

I arrived alone and later in the evening for my check-in. The owner and his sidekick greeted me, checked me in and told me to come to them with any questions or needs. I have not seen them since, I've had no reason too.

Every day I arrive home from class with a clean room. I have no complaints what-so-ever and will definitely look them up when returning to this area.

Room Tip: Just get the largest room....it is cheap enough.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida, United States
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

My stay was for three days. Manager was very nice and attentive. The room was clean and confy. Good wireless and tv reception. The motel has a little kitchen area for all guests with microwave, ice machine and fridge. Very nice and quiet setting. There is the occasional train passing by but I didn't mind. Highly Recommended for any road warrior.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

In an area where you can easily pay over 100 dollars per night, this small quaint motel has personalized service. Its much like a hostel, except you get your own room. I paid less than half of the other places, and I had a desk, my own bathroom, cable tv, wifi. There is a shared outdoor covered patio with coffee and filtered water, microwave & fridge. My room was freshly painted and cleaned very well each day. If you want more than they offer here, you will have to pay more than twice as much per night anywhere else. They have good "quality of life" rules too, such as no drinking outside your room, no smoking in the rooms, and visitors are not allowed to loiter or knock on doors after 10pm.

Room Tip: What you see on the internet is what you actually get. Preregister on their website and you will see...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Barefoot Mailman Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barefoot Mailman Motel

Address: 138 S Dixie Hwy, Lantana, FL 33462
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Lantana
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Lantana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 17-unit family-owned family-run motel just one block from the Intracoastal Waterway in Lantana Florida, the Barefoot Mailman has rooms for the budget traveler up through families on a vacation. All rooms are "Non-Smoking", No Pets, Air Conditioned, Tiled Floors, Color TV, WiFi on premises and so much more. Check us out for your next visit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Barefoot Mailman Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barefoot Mailman Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.