We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service and accomodations need improving” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Lakes Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Paradise Lakes Resort to your Saves list
Paradise Lakes Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort (All-Inclusive)   |   2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Land O Lakes
Melbourne, Florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Service and accomodations need improving”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2015

We stayed two nights at the hotel at Paradise Lakes. We were in room 4106. The room was no more than a Days Inn or Super 8 level of quality. It had not been cleaned very well - long black hairs on the bath floor and one stuck in a towel. The air conditioner was the kind you buy to put in a window except it was mounted on the wall. It was very noisy and no amount of playing with the settings could quiet it. The people staying in the room to the right of us also said theirs was noisy. The TV only had 20 channels and most were very fuzzy. No coffee maker either.

The food at the restaurant was mostly good but the service was terrible. There were few people dining but the wait for the meals was still nearly an hour. Then we tried the Key West bar for breakfast. The bar tenders didn't seem to be expecting people to order breakfast. On both mornings we ate there they got the orders wrong and it took way too long to be served and they rarely checked back to see if everything was OK. We also saw people walk up to the bar from the pool and basically be ignored. The two waitresses at the pool worked their butts off. From what we saw they were working 12 hours straight but always kept a good attitude. Don't know how they did it. Of course, people go to Paradise Lakes for the clothing optional environment and since they and Caliente are the resorts of their types in town I guess they figure the people will put up with poor service and rooms.

The pool and hot tub areas were very nice. The boutique selling ladies club wear was also nice and the service was great there. Club Reveal was nice but way too small for the Saturday night we were there.

In summary, people seem to suspend all critical thinking if given an opportunity to go nude. If you are willing to pay about twice what it is worth go ahead and stay there. We recommend you book a room at the Best Western or Hampton Inn down the road and just get a day pass to Paradise Lakes. You'll save money and have a much nicer room.

PS: the wifi was terrible too. Weak signal and sometimes worked, sometimes didn't.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    21
    8
    9
    14
See reviews for
1
50
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2015

This is actually a large gated condominium with the 'Resort' centrally located. The Condo properties range from fixed mobile homes through to imposing double storey detached houses together with short term rental apartments. The ownership of the resort has changed recently and a lot of investment has been made upgrading the amenities that boasts a good restaurant, several pools and a hot tube together with various ball playing courts; plenty of sun loungers available with umbrellas and palms to provide shade. Staff are all friendly and helpful and social events occur most evenings and there was live music during the day. The entire site is large and residents drive around in golf buggies. This was actually our second visit and the people we have met were all friendly and happy to chat. Being in the 'Land O Lakes' yes there are multiple lakes around the site, many with resident alligators (small) and allegedly there is one four footer that basks in the sunshine in a corner of the site but I have yet to see it.
Sorry, I cannot comment on the rented rooms as we were staying in a friends condo apartment.
Oh yes and one other aspect to note, it's 'Clothing Optional' so no need to worry about those tan lines.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2015

We went to Paradise Lakes over the weekend and had a great time. Although the resort is fairly small a good time was had by all. The staff was pleasant and the food was good. We will definitely return.

Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2015

Looking for some place in the sun and to not worry about tan lines, this is a great place to relax. The front desk people were very helpful. That was the beginning a very pleasant stay. Other guests were very friendly, the crystal clear pools were just the right temperature, conversation pool was great to get to know other guests and the hot was so relaxing. Between volleyball, pickle ball, shuffleboard, water volleyball and a nice pathway to a small lake, there is plenty to do if you want to be active. You can wear as much or as little as you desire. We decided to spend the night and booked a hotel room on the grounds. The room was not plush, but it as very nice. Besides, you don't go to a clothing-optional resort to spend your time in the room. The resort had a dance that evening, which we at first reluctantly attended late in the evening, but sorry we didn't show up earlier. It was a lot of fun. The club house has a sufficient bar menu and enjoy their specialty drinks.
Within the first three hours of our visit, we were making plans to return again. Seems as though most people are residents and many are of the retirement generation. However, there's a good mixture of adults from all generations.
If you enjoy clothing optional, this is a great relaxing venue. Since most of the people are at minimum, regulars, they are not gawkers which makes this place even more inviting. (If more of the textile crowd would loose their prudishness they would find out that it's great just wearing a smile! They don't have a clue how pleasant being textile free can be.)
There is a grounds fee on top of the cost of the hotel, but when you look at what they have to maintain for our entertainment, it's a great value. We will be back very soon!!!!

Room Tip: Did not stay in or look in any of the condos, but our hotel room was very satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2014

We came to paradise for my wife's birthday weekend. The front desk had a chilled bottle of wine and chocolate covered strawberries and rose petals on floor and bed. This was our first time at a nudist resort and at first I thought my wife would not like. But to my surprise she had a blast, the food was good and the service was excellent. The pools and hottubs were awesome. In fact I couldn't get wife to come out she lived them so much. We danced the nite away in club reveal then went back to hottubs and sauna. We can't wait to go back in march, we figured we would visit paradise every 3 months. Everybody needs a little paradise in there lives and we found ours.

  • Stayed December 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2014

Paradise Lakes is a clothing optional resort. I have never been in a resort like this before so I cannot compare it to others, but I can say I love it here.The pools are sparkling clean. We are renting a condo. Bright, clean, kitchen, king size bed and a screened porch overlooking a fountain. There are also hotel rooms by the pool that are rented by the resort. Our condo is near the amenities, this is a big place so some units are further away. My only complaint (minor) is all drinks in the clubhouse and pool area must be purchased there. I think their prices are a little high. Wear as much as you want or nothing at all. It is very relaxed and comfortable here. No one judges anyone else. That is refreshing and I dare say good for the soul. I don't want to leave!

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2014

We enjoyed Paradise Lakes Resort for four weeks at the end of winter. We are planning a repeat visit for 2015. Thursday evening through Sunday afternoon sated our interest in activities and people. Dancing in the bar, music at the pool, conversation in the hot tub until midnight and beyond.

The quiet of Monday thru Wednesday provided a nice respite. The pools are great. The tennis courts are good. Tanning was easy; and there was also plenty of shade under the palms and umbrellas. The restaurant was satisfactory, convenient, and not expensive. The service was accommodating. My poolside haircut was great.

We enjoyed the part of the resort outside the hotel area, especially the lake, the tennis courts, and strolling naked among the gardens, ponds and private streets of condos, town homes, etc.

Room Tip: The resort includes a variety of privately rented condos in addition to the hotel. We rented one of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Paradise Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lakes Resort

Address: 2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Paradise Lakes Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Resort & Spa...We have over 100 hotel rooms; many of them are situated poolside, an upscale restaurant, a rocking nightclub, our Key West Bar at poolside, a fitness center with a gym. a day spa & a boutique featuring the hottest in clubwear, an RV park, tennis, sand volleyball, water volleyball, hot tubs, a heated conversation pool and huge all-season pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Paradise Lakes Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Paradise Lakes Hotel Land o Lakes
Paradise Lakes Resort Florida/Land O Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.