We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing, needs work” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Lakes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Lakes Resort
2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Land O Lakes
Miami Beach, FL
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Disappointing, needs work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

The staff at Paradise Lakes were pleasant during our visit, but the facility itself is run down and in poor condition. Our room had no hot water for the first day we were there, and the phone never worked. The tv is a joke--tiny and with poor sound quality. The "nightclub" is nothing more than a rustic bar with music, certainly not a location to attract people who desire an upscale evening. The food options were limited and, to say the least, basic. The wine selections were limited to merlot, cabernet sauvignon, and white. Period. We ordered gin and tonics in the Key West bar/restaurant one night, and they had almost no alcohol. The supposed gin bottle clearly had been watered down.

Room Tip: We had the most expensive room in the place, and it was still tiny and unpleasant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

67 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    7
    9
    14
See reviews for
1
44
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, Alabama
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Terrible old motel style rooms. A small TV from the '70s. No refrigerator, no closet to hang cloths, no hair dryer, no maid service, no safe. An old fashioned window style air conditioner that roared off and on all night. The resort nickel and dimes you on every possible opportunity. A towel for the beach is $5 per day for each towel with a $40 deposit for each towel. Even though we returned the towels we had to ask for the $80 deposit to be taken off. The food in both restaurants is atrocious.
Breakfast of eggs and bacon is served in a styrofoam To Go box even in the restaurant. At dinner they served a well done rib eye for rare. I asked for a recook and got a med well. Disgusting especially as everything is 5 star prices in a 1 star motel.
If you like naked geriatrics and morbidly obese people of 350 lbs plus, this is the place for you, as the majority of the guests fall in one of these categories. Oh, and don't dare to try to bring in any liquor as they will charge your credit card $300 for each bottle.

Room Tip: There are none. I paid extra for a deluxe room, so I would hate to see a standard room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Land O Lakes hotels

Lansing, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights, 2 nights I was the only person in the hotel, The room was clean and the girl who cleaned it was very nice, The room had blinds the did not work, had a light out side the door so bright it was like daylight in the room, also has music for the pool area that plays untill the bar closes at 1 or 2 in the morning, could not sleep due the the noise, management does not care, when you pay 200.00 a night for a room you want quiet when you retire for the evening, No pop machines on the property if you want a drink must be purchased at the bar, one bartender was good, the other one never says a word just looks at you, One young lady named candy was very nice at the bar . I It seems like the hotel guests are a burden to the resort. They seem to cater to the members, who don't seem to spend money at the resort. They need to offer summer season specials to fill the room .

Room Tip: All ablut the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Port, Florida
1 review
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

Visit often and stay overnight. I understand check in times as I am a frequent travler and my wife works in hospitality, when we arrive at 12 or 1 I'm after a two hour drive it would be nice to check in earlier. Wouldn't it be customer friendly for front desk to be in communication with housekeeping consistently to see if a room is available earlier. After all they typically are just standing around way.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

We just spent a week there and overall had a good experience. The employees range from excellent to rude with most being on the positive side. The pools are clean and the room we had was also clean and comfortable. They have a problem figuring out the music...every day except the last day they played 'current top 40' Sirius and that would have been great if all of the guests were 13 year-olds. But since most all of the guests were over 70, this was not a smart idea. Also the music played until 1:30 AM. You should not play music that nobody wants to hear until way past their bedtime. It seems obvious, but evidently it isn't. Our last day they put on a country current top 40 station which was only a little better. Karaoke was from 6 to 9 PM one night, but it went past 1 AM. It was also loud and although the music was better, the participants could not sing and that made it difficult to listen to. This is a problem that could be fixed instantly without spending a dime. The food ranges from good to OK. They ran out of several food items on the weekend, including fresh strawberries.(it is strawberry season and the farms are nearby) The one price refill is a great idea and something we did every day. There is a good place to walk nude throughout the neighborhood. We only saw one alligator. He doesn't bother anyone. The exercise classes were good. There is a laid back atmosphere that allows nudists of all types to coexist. The swingers come out at the weekend evening dance parties. The day crowd is mostly 65 to 85 years old. As with most of these venues, the weekends are busy and the weekdays are very quiet. And as is often the case, allowing single men skews the gender balance. Fortunately, enough couples come to make it tolerable. If there is a niche that Paradise has found, it is 70 to 80 year-olds that like to party naked. The new owner is trying to make things better and the effort is visible. Try it for yourself, don't just take our word for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

beautiful rustic place very warm and welcoming ive stayed a few time in the hotels each one has its own sexy touch we stayed in the star light room very dreamy and well lets just say very hot night if you know what i mean ... its a really great week end spot ! the week days its a bit slow but the week end is my kind of place live band that was pool side was awesome and the place just comes alive at night ... lots of never before seen stuff going on at night !! but it sure marked a few things off our bucket list ... great place to meet new people were coming back for the summer for sure .

Room Tip: bottom floor over looking the pools and bar 4100 building is a bit away from the live band if your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my wife's and my first time visiting Paradise Lakes Resort, (3/5/14 - 3/9/14) The weather was only nice on our last day, but the evening entertainment made up for it. We found the resort to be clean, well maintained, having many amenities and the friendliest, helpful, most courteous staff we've encountered in a long time. On the one good weather day, the pools and lounge chairs were filled with happy, friendly people who were well attended to by the resort staff, providing food and beverage service. We stayed in one of the poolside cabana rooms, which was very nice, clean, a comfortable bed, recently upgraded furniture and fixtures and very affordably priced! The previous prohibition of snack foods in the poolside cabanas has been rescinded which was a good decision. The evening entertainment at the Club Reveal was excellent with karaoke on some evenings, DJ music, a good sized dance floor, many seating areas, and attentive hostesses providing drink services. The sexy, seductive clothing worn by most of the club patrons,(both women and men) made the evenings memorable, with some evenings having theme nights. A mostly older, but very fun, age group.
The food at the Key West tiki bar and in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced but with limited choices.(the reason for only 4/5 rating) (we went off site a couple times for a change of menu). Paradise Lakes Resort is an excellent naturist resort with many repeat guests which speaks volumes. The new owners have really gone out of their way to correct the problems the resort had in the recent past. I recommend making reservations to stay there. Its a gated facility in which you feel secure, and , like most naturist resorts, filled with friendly, fun loving people.
Over all, a very positive experience and we hope to be repeat guests as well.

Room Tip: Pool side cabanas are only steps away from pools and all facilities. Very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lakes Resort

Address: 2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Resort & Spa...We have over 100 hotel rooms; many of them are situated poolside, an upscale restaurant, a rocking nightclub, our Key West Bar at poolside, a fitness center with a gym. a day spa & a boutique featuring the hottest in clubwear, an RV park, tennis, sand volleyball, water volleyball, hot tubs, a heated conversation pool and huge all-season pool. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Paradise Lakes Hotel Land o Lakes
Paradise Lakes Resort Florida/Land O Lakes

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradise Lakes Resort to your Saves list