We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Front desk employees need extensive customer service skills and development” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Paradise Lakes Resort

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Land O Lakes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Paradise Lakes Resort
2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Land O Lakes
North Port, Florida
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Front desk employees need extensive customer service skills and development”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Visit often and stay overnight. I understand check in times as I am a frequent travler and my wife works in hospitality, when we arrive at 12 or 1 I'm after a two hour drive it would be nice to check in earlier. Wouldn't it be customer friendly for front desk to be in communication with housekeeping consistently to see if a room is available earlier. After all they typically are just standing around way.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    7
    7
    13
See reviews for
1
41
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Asheville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We just spent a week there and overall had a good experience. The employees range from excellent to rude with most being on the positive side. The pools are clean and the room we had was also clean and comfortable. They have a problem figuring out the music...every day except the last day they played 'current top 40' Sirius and that would have been great if all of the guests were 13 year-olds. But since most all of the guests were over 70, this was not a smart idea. Also the music played until 1:30 AM. You should not play music that nobody wants to hear until way past their bedtime. It seems obvious, but evidently it isn't. Our last day they put on a country current top 40 station which was only a little better. Karaoke was from 6 to 9 PM one night, but it went past 1 AM. It was also loud and although the music was better, the participants could not sing and that made it difficult to listen to. This is a problem that could be fixed instantly without spending a dime. The food ranges from good to OK. They ran out of several food items on the weekend, including fresh strawberries.(it is strawberry season and the farms are nearby) The one price refill is a great idea and something we did every day. There is a good place to walk nude throughout the neighborhood. We only saw one alligator. He doesn't bother anyone. The exercise classes were good. There is a laid back atmosphere that allows nudists of all types to coexist. The swingers come out at the weekend evening dance parties. The day crowd is mostly 65 to 85 years old. As with most of these venues, the weekends are busy and the weekdays are very quiet. And as is often the case, allowing single men skews the gender balance. Fortunately, enough couples come to make it tolerable. If there is a niche that Paradise has found, it is 70 to 80 year-olds that like to party naked. The new owner is trying to make things better and the effort is visible. Try it for yourself, don't just take our word for it.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

beautiful rustic place very warm and welcoming ive stayed a few time in the hotels each one has its own sexy touch we stayed in the star light room very dreamy and well lets just say very hot night if you know what i mean ... its a really great week end spot ! the week days its a bit slow but the week end is my kind of place live band that was pool side was awesome and the place just comes alive at night ... lots of never before seen stuff going on at night !! but it sure marked a few things off our bucket list ... great place to meet new people were coming back for the summer for sure .

Room Tip: bottom floor over looking the pools and bar 4100 building is a bit away from the live band if your n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

This was my wife's and my first time visiting Paradise Lakes Resort, (3/5/14 - 3/9/14) The weather was only nice on our last day, but the evening entertainment made up for it. We found the resort to be clean, well maintained, having many amenities and the friendliest, helpful, most courteous staff we've encountered in a long time. On the one good weather day, the pools and lounge chairs were filled with happy, friendly people who were well attended to by the resort staff, providing food and beverage service. We stayed in one of the poolside cabana rooms, which was very nice, clean, a comfortable bed, recently upgraded furniture and fixtures and very affordably priced! The previous prohibition of snack foods in the poolside cabanas has been rescinded which was a good decision. The evening entertainment at the Club Reveal was excellent with karaoke on some evenings, DJ music, a good sized dance floor, many seating areas, and attentive hostesses providing drink services. The sexy, seductive clothing worn by most of the club patrons,(both women and men) made the evenings memorable, with some evenings having theme nights. A mostly older, but very fun, age group.
The food at the Key West tiki bar and in the restaurant was good and reasonably priced but with limited choices.(the reason for only 4/5 rating) (we went off site a couple times for a change of menu). Paradise Lakes Resort is an excellent naturist resort with many repeat guests which speaks volumes. The new owners have really gone out of their way to correct the problems the resort had in the recent past. I recommend making reservations to stay there. Its a gated facility in which you feel secure, and , like most naturist resorts, filled with friendly, fun loving people.
Over all, a very positive experience and we hope to be repeat guests as well.

Room Tip: Pool side cabanas are only steps away from pools and all facilities. Very convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

We stayed at Paradise Lakes from Nov 20/27. We had been there before and did not enjoy it because of the management. We had heard that it was much better now because of the new management and it was!! The weather was not the best but it was Florida in Nov. The pools were warm and clean and you could see some things were repaired. We ate in the restaurant and food was good and service great as well. There was always something to do at night as Club Reveal was busy and fun and had great music playing. We bought a $200 weekly membership and this allowed us to use all of the resorts facilities.
The only downside was the card system for drinks ect was difficult to keep track of and we mentioned to staff they agreed and said management was looking in to it as they have heard complaints before.
We stayed at a private one bedroom condo which was inside Paradise but not part of the resort itself[there are several residences and RV sites just outside the actual resort]. We were very close to everything and it was GREAT-it had everything you would ever need and was very clean and comfortable.It even included a golf cart. We rented it from Terry -Rentals in Paradise.
I would highly recommend it if staying there!!
The only other downside was we rented a car from Payless Car Rental-I would NEVER do this again-worst customer service ever-not car as promised ect. Stay away from them!!
All in all a great week away-any questions don't hesitate to ask

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

We tried Paradise Lakes before taking a crusie out of Tampa. We liked it so much we came back for a few days after the cruise. Our experience was mixed and we will attempt to explain.

It took us about 30 minutes to drive to the resort from the Tampa airport. The resort is located within a clothing optional community. The community is gated although nobody was manning the gate area. The community consisted of homes, condo's, a small trailer park, and the resort / pool area. The setting was relaxed with allot of retired people around.

We stayed pool side at the resort both times. The rooms were adequate, both rooms entirely mirrored on the walls and ceiling, making the room feel larger that it really was. We saw that there were other rooms in different themes that people could try. The male half would rent a condo next time. The female half loved being pool side and would prefer going back to one of the resort rooms. The bar is located center of the resort area and was a great place to watch the super bowl.

The pool, hot tub, and sports pools were clean and well taken care of. Daily water polo was fun to watch and play. The poeple were more than accomidating and actively recruited you to participate. Employees were making repairs around the pool area as it some areas showed neglect.

Check in and out was easy and the staff helpful. Food from the bar was good for bar food. Food from the restraunt was average. We were not impressed with the male bar staff as they actively verbalized their want for tips. At one point after not tipping the man for a single round of drinks he puffed indignantly with a sour look on his face. Our tip for them is "If you have to ask for a tip you are probably in the wrong line of work". The women wait staff never did this, were very professional, and did receive a nice tip at the end of our stays.

The resort will not allow you to bring any food or drink into the resort and keep a sharp lookout for it. Anything wanted to eat or drink must be purchased from within. We understand but were extremely put off by the militant enforcement. We over did it (drinking) one day at the pool and into the evening at the super bowl party. We spent a considerable abount at the bar and were paying for it the next morning. When we awoke nothing was open at the resort so the male drove to the store and purchased power aid for his wife. He did not conceal the bottle and was abruptly stopped and told not to bring the bottle in. The man complied and asked where he could buy it at the resort and was told that he could not, but when the bar opened they would have something available. This event very nearly made us never come back here.

We did enjoy and evening at Club Reveal. The music was great, drinks were mixed well, and fun was had by all. We are in our 40's, are in shape, and like 70's - 80's music. We had a blast even though we were on the youger side compared to the rest of the attendees. There were a couple of unattached males with fart breath running around but were easy to shoo away.

The retirees exercise every morning in the pool then a group plays a form of bocce. It was fun to watch and talk with these people.

We will try this resort again sometime but may also look at Caliente just to compare. Although allot more costly Desire Resort was well above Paradise Lakes.

Room Tip: He would rent a condo next time. She would stay poolside again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

My husband and I went back for another Halloween experience and a few more days. We continue to see the improvements, enjoy the staff and the patrons of Paradise. Since our last review the food has improved and a new menu is to be out soon and am looking forward to that as we have already booked New Years. We continue to see improvements in the rooms and just about everywhere, it is nice to have owners who care and are visible/accessible if needed. Are there things that could still be improved - Yes, do we believe that they will be addressed - Yes, Rome wasn't built in a day either!!!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Paradise Lakes Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Paradise Lakes Resort

Also Known As:
Paradise Lakes Hotel Land o Lakes
Paradise Lakes Hotel
Paradise Lakes Resort Florida/Land O Lakes
Address: 2001 Paradise Lakes Blvd, Land O Lakes, FL 33558
Location: United States > Florida > Land O Lakes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Land O Lakes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel, Resort & Spa...We have over 100 hotel rooms; many of them are situated poolside, an upscale restaurant, a rocking nightclub, our Key West Bar at poolside, a fitness center with a gym. a day spa & a boutique featuring the hottest in clubwear, an RV park, tennis, sand volleyball, water volleyball, hot tubs, a heated conversation pool and huge all-season pool. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Paradise Lakes Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Paradise Lakes Resort to your Saves list