We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The saving grace was the cleanliness of the rooms” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Avenue Hotel Lakeland

Save Saved
You added The Avenue Hotel Lakeland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avenue Hotel Lakeland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3405 S. Florida Avenue, Lakeland, FL 33813 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lakeland-South)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Lakeland
Nashville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“The saving grace was the cleanliness of the rooms”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights and though there were positive aspects of the hotel, they were also some challenges.

1. The rooms were very clean. The cleaning staff kept the room very clean, and I was very impressed with not only how well they did cleaning the rooms, but they were always very pleasant and friendly.

2. I can't say the same for the front staff. There were certainly some that were very pleasant and helpful, but upon arriving, they seemed bothered and, behaved in a strange manner, telling me and 2 other guests that "rooms were not ready yet, because they were full last night", yet, suddenly all the rooms became clean at the same time, and when I went to my room, there were multiple rooms that were not being used. It was almost as if the desire to get into the room was not welcome.

3. The pool and hot tub were great to have, however, the pool was dirty. I understand how challenging it may to keep clean with the treas and such, but the amount of dead bugs was just nasty.

4. The hotel is old, and the breakfast is lacking in addition to the gold curtains, disco ball, and stage in eating area, provided a very strange kind of atmosphere. They listed having a bar which has not been in service for some time. Overall, it was very strange.

The cleanliness of the rooms was the only thing that made this acceptable. The major reason I will most likely never return is because of the reception staff. Customer service was simply lacking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    9
    9
    9
See reviews for
12
6
6
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We stayed here two nights and it was a good hotel. Basic continential breakfast, freindly staff, easy in and out. Good location to restaurants and the highway but not ON THE highway!! Not a fancy place at all but clean and hard to beat for the price!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south florida
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Was not impressed at all in this hotel. The manager Guilla was professional and a huge help in planning a trip there requiring 20 rooms. THere were no other hotels in the area that could accomodate us. once we arrived it was kinda downhill from there. Early check in fee, and a few other issues turned us off immediately. Rooms as a whole were fine, good shower and good towels. most of the outlets were shaky and couldnt be used to plug in chargers and other devices. our phone did not work either. our next door neighbors' door didnt even lock. the hotel was apparently booked solid but yet there werent many cars in the parking lot? Pool was fine. just kinda dissappointed. but like i said, it was a place to sleep.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

So Just This Friday Past My Jrotc Drill Team Stayed A Night At This Hotel. The Cleanliness Was Good However, Laying In My Bed While Everyone Went To The Pool I Heard Banging On The Walls, My Cellphone Went Missing And Appeared In The Top Drawer, The Door Squeaked Everytime You Opened It And The Other Residents Were Inconsiderate And Loud!!! Heard Conversations Through The Walls, The Television Could've Had More Channels, And They Said It Would Be Breakfast In The Morning For Us,, Unfortunately Not. Other Than That I Enjoyed My Stay, Although I Believe Paranormal Activities Are Going On This Hotel All And All I Had A Great Stay ..

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarpon Springs, FL
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

I had made a reservation online, not realizing that it was nonrefundable. Nothing in the process leading up to confirmation was bolded or highlighted to this fact. I needed to cancel due to personal reasons of not being able to go and they would not cancel my reservation. That the computer would not let them, very unreasonable to the fact that I needed to cancel. Their website is not clear and was missing information. I would not make reservations with this company again in the future being your plans may change and they are unwilling to assist. My email confirmation states that I had until 6pm day of arrival to cancel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephanie D, General Manager at The Avenue Hotel Lakeland, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Dear lisa3740
I am sorry to read that you were disappointed with the service received from The Avenue Hotel. We strive very diligently to make each guest experience the best possible. Our website offers many rates to choose from when making a reservation. One of the available rate options is an Advance Purchase rate. The Advance Purchase reservations are available at a cheaper rate because limitations apply. The limitations are listed in the rate description. This is the direct quote from the reservation website, “Take advantage of special savings when you book early. This rate is nonrefundable, requires full prepayment, and is charged to your credit card between time of booking and day of arrival. Must be booked 14 days in advance.” In addition when the confirmation email is sent out, the same information is stated.
However, after researching your case further I discovered that our Advance Purchase cancellation policy is a little confusing. I do apologize about the frustration that this could have caused. Thank you for bringing this information to our attention; we have begun the process to update the website. Because of this oversight we would like to offer a refund to you. A member of the hotel management will contact you shortly. Please contact us again for reservations the next time your travels bring you to the Lakeland area. It is our pleasure to welcome you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davie
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

I have to say I was incredibly hesitant about staying here after reading the reviews. I was impressed at the cleanliness of my room (and I'm a bit of a clean freak..so, that says a lot), the bed was very comfortable, and the front desk staff was friendly. It is definitely a motel type though.. your room enters from the outside of the building and you have a huge window near the door (old fashioned motel-like).

My only complaint was the room was not cleaned (bed not made, trash not removed, towels not taken away and replaced) while we were gone for the day. We left early in the morning and came home late that night... once we realized it wasn't cleaned the front desk staff quickly got us towels and took out the trash. I've never stayed in a place that forgot to clean my room, but then again, the rest of the experience was excellent.

I'm not one to stay in 2.5 star facilities, so take that in consideration when reading this review.. I typically like the 4-5 star hotels. We were on a budget so, I used Hotwire and got a great rate...because I booked through Hotwire though, we were not able to stay in a nicer room by the pool (was told it would be a $10/night upgrade initially in January when I booked by the office staff... and then right before our trip was told it is a $25/per night upgrade since those rooms were more refurbished). It seemed like the place was empty, so I would've thought they would've put us up in a nicer room (good for reviews) since they wouldn't have lost anything doing that (just thinking the business side of that).

All in all, it worked for the purpose we needed and like I said... very clean... no mold or smoke smells. It was not a dump like what others have said. So, don't freak out like I did when I got the Hotwire deal and realized it wasn't a branded name hotel like I had expected.

Room Tip: stay upstairs if possible as it seems quieter and you don't have car headlights shining into you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jacksonville
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

This hotel has been renovated and is totally updated. All facilities work great. Our organization uses this hotel several times per year and my experiences have been favorable. We want a place that is not expensive, clean and in good working order--this hotel provides that. Staff is professional. Free access to Gold's gym is very helpful.

The continental breakfast is fine; and their coffee is the best. This place is near shopping and restaurants--a very convenient area. I will stay here again and recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Avenue Hotel Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Hotel Lakeland

Address: 3405 S. Florida Avenue, Lakeland, FL 33813 (Formerly Holiday Inn Lakeland-South)
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 32 hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Avenue Hotel Lakeland 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Avenue Hotel Lakeland, your home away from home just minutes from dining, shopping and entertainment. An ideal Lakeland hotel choice for business and leisure travelers alike, relax and enjoy our excellent service, friendly staff, and amenities designed for your comfort and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Tingo and Otel so you can book your The Avenue Hotel Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Lakeland South
Lakeland Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Avenue Hotel Lakeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.