We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Lakeland” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hyatt Place Lakeland Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hyatt Place Lakeland Center to your Saves list
Hyatt Place Lakeland Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Orange Street, Lakeland, FL 33801 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Double Your Points
Ranked #7 of 32 Hotels in Lakeland
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
71 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in Lakeland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you are looking for a place in Lakeland near the convention center, this is THE place to stay. Literally - it's the only place (not sketchy) and it's honestly a nice hotel. For the price, and given that it's in Lakeland (not the best area), it's a well-kept, clean and modern hotel. The bar was fantastic, and stocked fresh salads and sandwiches 24/7 for guests coming in after a late show. You can walk from the hotel to the nicer part of downtown Lakeland, and the hotel stocks amenities you may have forgotten (toothpaste, etc.).

The housekeeping wasn't fantastic - they would clean our room and forget to replace towels or vacuum - but the room was still clean. We also lost about $80 worth of food because our room fridge broke; and, after management said the fridge was "fixed," it never got cold again, and what food survived the first problem didn't last after the second. There was no room microwave, but there was a microwave available for use in the lobby. The windows do not open, but the air flow is good in the room.

The breakfast was great! If you're looking for a place in the Lakeland area, stay here for the safest and best bet.

Room Tip: Ask to stay on the first floor closest to the convention center and you will avoid slow lines at the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

252 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    85
    30
    21
    15
See reviews for
81
40
14
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here four nights on a business trip. It's one if the best values in hotels I've ever had. Right off the bat, the free parking and in-room wi-fi were a plus. The room was excellent overall -- exactly what I expect from any Hyatt hotel. The free buffet breakfast was absolutely superb -- best I've had anywhere in my travels, I kid you not! The staff couldn't have been kinder. All of them were helpful in every way. My ONLY thing to complain about was a train that ran nearby every hour. It kept me up the first night, but I got used to it. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in the Lakeland area. In fact, I plan to return myself in a few months.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

This is a VERY nice hotel. The staff is friendly, the rooms are very well taken care of. They are clean and have fresh linens. Great wifi and breakfast. There's a coffee/ breakfast bar down in the lobby.
I have stayed here multiple times. It's very close to the downtown area, within walking distance in fact. Great location.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daytona Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
103 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Very nice and clean. The staff was very friendly and personable. Great FREE hot breakfast, free wifi, New modern rooms. They had a panel of A/V inputs to hook up your laptop or any other device to the tv. It was great for Netflix. The pool was nice and heated. They really need a hot tub. Nice location.... practically attached to the Lakeland Center.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

We stayed at this hotel when it was AmeriSuites. It was nice then. However, since Hyatt renovated it we have enjoyed it so much more. The contemporary motif is outstanding. It was very well done.
The complimentary breakfast was the best we have ever had at a hotel. It had "gormet" touches and was delicious.
We will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I seriously think the previous two reviewers stayed at a different hotel because they did not describe anything like where I was just last night. And why wait 7 months to describe the stay? Anyway ... my husband and I live in the St. Pete area and went over to Lakeland for an overnight trip. This hotel was perfect in every way and I've stayed at a lot of hotels in my life. First off the staff was great. Friendly, helpful and welcoming. We had our reservation and everything went perfectly. Our room was great. It was a suite with a beautiful sectional in one room along with a chair and a nice desk, a kitchen also. Our bed was so, so comfortable! Two pillows each and an extra in the closet. And a large, comfy throw pillow. The down comforter has a duvet and looks and smells clean. The carpet was clean, the bathroom was clean, everything was great and the room was icey cold. And that's a good thing. But we turned it up (from 65) to a more comfortable 70. We had a huge tv that swiveled. No plastic throw-a-way cups, nice glass ones. It's just a lovely place and I felt kind of pampered. We used the outdoor pool in the morning and the lounge chairs are comfy. The pool temp was perfect. The pool was clean. The sun was nice as well. Oh and the breakfast! Hot stuff like eggs, sausage, French toast and oatmeal. Yogurts, fruits, donuts, muffins, breads for toast, cereals, juices - a few different kinds. Very clean, very well stocked and they kept it coming. Did I mention, the staff is awesome? If you're staying in Lakeland, this is the place.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed at this hotel over Christmas break this past year. We got a great deal on Priceline & relied solely on the Hyatt's good name. It was not what we expected. The hotel itself seems outdated & neglected. The elevators, hallways, & our room were shabby with a musty smell. We tried calling the front desk but were unable to get an answer. We only saw one staff member there at a time though, so they may have just been that understaffed. The continental breakfast in the morning was sparse and looked slightly suspect. The juices & milk were sweating & no longer cool to the touch. We will not return, nor would we recommend it to others.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lakeland hotels
4.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland
0.5 mi away
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
Lakeland Terrace Hotel
#14 of 32 in Lakeland
3.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.9 mi away
Crestwood Suites Lakeland
Crestwood Suites Lakeland
#6 of 32 in Lakeland
4.0 of 5 stars 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Lakeland-South Polk Parkway
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Lakeland North I-4
4.0 mi away
Hampton Inn Lakeland- North I-4
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Place Lakeland Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Place Lakeland Center

Address: 525 West Orange Street, Lakeland, FL 33801 (Formerly "AmeriSuites")
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lakeland
#7 Business Hotel in Lakeland
#7 Family Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hyatt Place Lakeland Center 3*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, EasyToBook, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Place Lakeland Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Place Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Lakeland Hyatt

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hyatt Place Lakeland Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.