We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland

Save Saved
You added Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3839 Don Emerson Drive, Lakeland, FL 33811   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Bed N' Breakfast Deal
Ranked #1 of 32 hotels in Lakeland
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A nice Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Good service, extremely friendly and professional staff. They made the difference during our stay.
The rooms were clean and surprisingly quiet for a hotel next to a regional airport.
would comeback to stay.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    121
    46
    8
    8
    5
See reviews for
49
41
9
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Naples FL
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel in Lakeland to attend a Detroit Tigers spring training game. The hotel is located next to the small regional airport, just outside the city. Driving into the downtown or Merchant Stadium is an easy 10-15 minute drive. The hotel looks fairly new and well maintained. The room has an reasonably priced option for breakfast, that includes hot dishes individually ordered from a menu.

Our negative comment is limited to hallway noise at night. Our room was located on the main floor. Throughout the evening, we listened to loud conversations from groups returning from the restaurants and bars, as they walked to their rooms. I would suggest that the 2nd and 3rd floor rooms are probably much more quiet.

We will try this hotel once more -- but request a room on the upper floors, near the back of the building, to see if we can obtain a quiet nights sleep.

Room Tip: Pick a room on an upper floor in the rear of the building for a quieter night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pembroke Pines, Florida
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

First impression walking into the hotel was excellent; beautiful lobby, nice breakfast area, bar, and restaurant. The gym has cardio equipment as do most hotels but it also has dumbbells and a bench. They also have a nice pool. The majority of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The room was spacious and clean. The quality of the breakfast was very good and the service was excellent! The hotel is very quiet; even though, it’s next to a small airport. The location is a bit remote but there are restaurants, stores, IMAX Theater, etc… within 3 miles and downtown Lakeland is within 7 miles.
One of the most important things to me is a comfortable bed; unfortunately, that’s where this hotel fell short. The bed was okay but I could feel the springs like on low end beds and I had a couple of restless nights. I expected better from this hotel so I took off a star for this reason. My room had the two queen size beds and I was told that their king size beds are more comfortable but the hotel was sold out.

Room Tip: King size bed should be more comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Punta Gorda, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is an above average Garden Inn. The service is very good, my room was already selected for me making check in fast.
The room was spotless. Standard King room was roomy, the bed was very comfortable and adjustable for firmness. I was on the third floor close to the elevator but heard no noise associated with it.
The one shortfall here was breakfast service. This property features the typical breakfast buffet/ eggs to order. In most of these situations you have a waitress who brings coffee and juice but also takes your egg order. Here you get your own coffee which is fine... but you have to stand by the window to the kitchen and give your order to the waitress who then turns to the window and hands it to the cook. The problem is the waitress disappeared and there was 8 of us standing at the buffet staring at a bunch of egg orders having no idea which belonged to who. Very clunky.
This hotel has several conference rooms which are convenient. Overall very good stay.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b3plays85, Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I would like to personally THANK YOU! for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland. I hope we not only met your expectations but exceeded them and made your stay one that you will remember when not only choosing our Hilton Garden Inn but also in choosing other Hilton products for your preferred hotel stays. You also took the time to respond to your guest stay questionnaire and that allows us to be able to respond to your needs or any opportunities in which we can make your stay more enjoyable. Once again THANK YOU! from the entire HGI Lakeland staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

We stayed at this property in Feb. attending a senior softball tournament. As Hilton Gold members, we received the full breakfast which was very good. The location was a little remote, but it didn't hinder us very much. We were disappointed that the nearby Macaroni Grill (which we love) had been turned into an Olive Garden where we had a very mediocre meal..We would definitely return to this HGI in the future.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b3plays85, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I would like to personally THANK YOU! for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland. I hope we not only met your expectations but exceeded them and made your stay one that you will remember when not only choosing our Hilton Garden Inn but also in choosing other Hilton products for your preferred hotel stays. You also took the time to respond to your guest stay questionnaire and that allows us to be able to respond to your needs or any opportunities in which we can make your stay more enjoyable. Once again THANK YOU! from the entire HGI Lakeland staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niles, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

The breakfast was wonderful - fresg fruits, juices, cereal, eggs, pancakes, waffles, french toast, etc. Everything was yummy!!!


The front desk staff was helpful and got us directions from mapquest to our friends home. The mapquest directions even had added comments to look for local sites (stores, restaurants) at certain intersections.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b3plays85, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I would like to personally THANK YOU! for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland. I hope we not only met your expectations but exceeded them and made your stay one that you will remember when not only choosing our Hilton Garden Inn but also in choosing other Hilton products for your preferred hotel stays. You also took the time to respond to your guest stay questionnaire and that allows us to be able to respond to your needs or any opportunities in which we can make your stay more enjoyable. Once again THANK YOU! from the entire HGI Lakeland staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013 via mobile

I am a Hilton fan and had a great experience at the HGI in Tupelo, MS, so decided to try the same chain for a trip to see spring training games. This HGI is practically brand new and has all the features of other HGIs. There is a nice bar and restaurant, a pool, etc.

But it has an odd location. It's next to the Lakeland airport, on the outskirts of town, with almost nothing nearby unless you count Publix Corporate HQ - no place to eat or shop, save a gas station. Driving in to games took 20 minutes to a half hour. My GPS routed me there via toll road, although I eventually figured out how to avoid it. This is not a convenient hotel to central Lakeland, so unless you absolutely want to be at an HGI, look closer in.

Two critiques about the hotel: there isn't much parking in front, and parking behind the hotel is not well lit, especially on the north side facing the road. Also, avoid rooms that connect to other rooms. You can hear every word of conversations next door. The desk will call noisemakers, but sometimes they see that as a badge of honor and just keep partying.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
b3plays85, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
I would like to personally THANK YOU! for staying at the Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland. I hope we not only met your expectations but exceeded them and made your stay one that you will remember when not only choosing our Hilton Garden Inn but also in choosing other Hilton products for your preferred hotel stays. You also took the time to respond to your guest stay questionnaire and that allows us to be able to respond to your needs or any opportunities in which we can make your stay more enjoyable. Once again THANK YOU! from the entire HGI Lakeland staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland

Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland Hotel
Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Hilton Lakeland
Lakeland Hilton
Address: 3839 Don Emerson Drive, Lakeland, FL 33811
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Lakeland
#5 Family Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Garden Inn Lakeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.