We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“authentic historic venue” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Polk Theatre

Polk Theatre
127 South Florida Avenue, Lakeland, FL 33801
(863)-682-7553
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 16 Attractions in Lakeland
Attraction details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“authentic historic venue”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

It is absolutely beautiful inside the theater. It is well preserved and attempts to reach out to all ages with movies, musicals, and local college events. It is a great weekend outing for a vintage movie, something different to do in town.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    13
    1
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Legally Blonde was fun!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

My husband and I went to see Legally Blonde as we both love the movie. This was such a fun musical and my husband is not a musical fan. We were both laughing and I even saw my husband tapping his foot. We are now on the watch for other shows we'd be interested in. Great entertainment at a reasonable price.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A step back in time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Absolutely a must see. One of the last three atmospheric theatres in Florida, balcony seating. Beautifully restored. Claim to fame: Elvis performed here in 1956/57 and signed the dressing room wall! For a wild experience you must attend the Rocky Horror Picture Show event held the last weekend of October, or there about. Absolutely outrageous - not for the shy or prudish! Great independent films and classics are shown usually just on weekends. Also have live performances occasionally of stand up comedy, plays and dance , etc.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“I love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

It's pretty, it shows artsy movies on the weekends. Theatre performances, etc. The inside is beautiful, and the stars on the ceiling always awe me.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Historic and beautiful.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I have watched local dance schools perform and the reopening of "To Kill A Mockingbird" years ago. It is an amazing Lakeland treasure.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Polk Theatre also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Polk Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Polk Theatre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.