We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY RELAXING and PEACEFUL...” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hollis Garden

Hollis Garden
702 E. Orange Street, Lakeland, FL 33801
(863) 834-6035
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Attractions in Lakeland
Type: Gardens, Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Botanical garden
Orlando, Florida
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“VERY RELAXING and PEACEFUL...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Landscape in this park is great...

Especially during summer and spring..


The flowers are beautiful.

THe park is well maintained...

It's a place great for weddings or special occasions.


We love visiting here. Very peaceful.

Next to Hollis Park Garden is the lake,. And there's a playgroound area for kids too..


Love this place...

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    42
    6
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brandon, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for Wedding Pics!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

My husband and I got married in Lakeland, FL in June, 2013. Before we went to the reception hall we stopped at Hollis gardens to take soe pics! The time was around 6:00pm and it was so beautiful in the gardens. My photographer got a lot of great shots of us and the wedding party on the stairs, in front of the fountain, and in the little alcove with the pond. It was a great place to take some more wedding pics!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, New York
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very Nice, But Could Be Bigger...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Hollis Garden is a very nice place in Lakeland to come and look at beautiful plants and scenery. It would be nice if the gardens were larger and had even more scenery - perhaps that would attract more people.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“A Botanical Gem -- And It's Free”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

You might think a public garden of just one acre would not have much to offer -- but you would be wrong in the case of Hollis Garden. It is divided into garden "rooms", lovingly attended to by 3 Lakeland city employees and funded by a substantial endowment from the late Mark Hollis, who was formerly president of Publix Supermarkets. Each room has a theme -- red plants, white plants, herbs, vegetables, etc. I don't know what is their secret, but I have never seen such large and perfect vegetables. There's an area of trees that have historical significance. Clusters of annuals are changed out at least twice each year and they are constantly trying out new plants. I admit a place like this holds particular interest for me as I work in horticulture, but, in each of three visits, I have never spent less than 3 hours there.

The setting is right by a large lake with a pleasant view and plenty of bench seating if you'd like to contemplate life or simply have a nice lunch break. There is also a small cafe adjacent to the garden, and the reasonably-priced food was good.

I would be happy to pay admission to Hollis -- but being free is the icing on the cake.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“My favorite place in Lakeland”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

A beautiful garden that makes me (lamely) contemplative. I love laying out on the grass and just enjoying the Florida sun!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hollis Garden also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to Hollis Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hollis Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.