We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a trip back” 4 of 5 stars
Review of West Caribbean Cuban Restaurant

West Caribbean Cuban Restaurant
2215 S Combee Road, Lakeland, FL
(863) 606-5954
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 372 restaurants in Lakeland
Cuisines: Cuban
Restaurant details
Madison, Alabama
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Worth a trip back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2014

After a morning of birding at the Circle Bar B Reserve, we took the short drive into Lakeland for lunch. Based on reviews we chose the West Caribbean Cuban. We were not disappointed. I had an assortment of appetizers for lunch, others had sandwiches and salads. All very good. Unique menu. Have to try something else different next time like the goat or ox tail or some Cuban pork specialty.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

86% Recommend
    16
    3
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida, United States
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great cuban food!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I was looking for a good cuban restaurant in Lakeland and tried the West Caribbean Cuban restaurant. I had the roast pork with black beans/rice combo and plantains. The food was excellent and there was so much that I had the leftovers for lunch the next day. This is now one of my favorite places to eat in Lakeland. Highly recommend!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We happened into this restaurant from tripadvisor. We had sandwiches, a milk shake and Cuban coffee. The server was great and very helpful as we were new to Cuban food. The food was delicious.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Probably the best Latin food in Lakeland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013 via mobile

Went there based on other customers reviews and I do agree with most reviews. Very clean place with good athmosphere and excellent food. The white beans and rice soup was one of my favorites. We were a party of 4 and all of us enjoyed the food and athmosphere. The value is exceptional for the quality of food privided. For someone who likes latin food, I highly recommend this Restaurant!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
251 reviews 251 reviews
131 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
“Delicious Cuban Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

This restaurant literally stuck out among the mostly warehouse type building neighborhood with its colorful paint job. The positive thing about being located in this area is the lack of a huge lunch crowd and that suits me fine. And oh yeah, the food was fantastic as well. I first ordered the chicken empanada for an appetizer and then the pechugas de pollo ala plancha with yellow rice and black beans as the main dish. The portions was so huge, I had to styrofoam most of it. Lastly, I couldn't say enough good things about the server. She was the most patient, sweet, knowledgeable server in Central Florida!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed West Caribbean Cuban Restaurant also viewed

Lakeland, Central Florida
Lakeland, Central Florida
 
Lakeland, Central Florida
 

Been to West Caribbean Cuban Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage West Caribbean Cuban Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.