We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where are the wild animals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Wilderness Ranch

Safari Wilderness Ranch
10850 Moore Rd, Lakeland, FL 33809
813-382-2120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 7 activities in Lakeland
Type: Tours, Nature/ Wildlife Areas
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Have you ever dreamed of going on an authentic safari? At Safari Wilderness Ranch, you will enjoy fresh air year-round as enormous birds soar overhead. Our knowledgeable and experienced guides will tour you through 260 acres, interacting with huge herds of wetland exotic species, Watusi cattle, and Haflinger horses in custom safari vehicles, fitted with shade canopies and stadium seating. Or book a camel back or horse-drawn carriage game viewing safari tour. Indulge your senses in optional lemur and budgie parakeet encounters. A Florida Agritourism project. Located 6 mi. north of I-4 between Orlando and Tampa in an expansive and pristine wilderness area. Tours Wed – Sun at 10am and 1pm BY RESERVATION ONLY.
Sarasota, Florida
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Where are the wild animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

We spent a weekend in Lakeland as a birthday getaway with four friends. Other than the natural beauty of the town and the interesting architecture, this wilderness safari looked like a good bet.

Having spent weeks in Africa and Asia on other safaris, we were looking forward to seeing some of the big five, elephants, rhinos, lions, etc. As it turned out, this more like a huge petting zoo. Most of the attractions are in the elk, moose, antelope, okapi type family. There they wee, lying around in the shade of the big trees, watching with amusement as we drove by in our sweltering open truck.

At one point we stopped so we could feed the animals. It was obviously great fun for the children but it kind of left us cold. Our guide, Mary, was astonishing. Personable, charming, erudite and knowledge, she added another dimension to the ride, as well as being our driver. Her obvious affection for all the animals shines right through.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    16
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Unique experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Our tour was a once in a lifetime experience unless you live near a game reserve in Africa. We rode camels through the 260 acre preserve veiwing herds of exotic beasts such as water buffalo, zebra, ostriches, Watusi cattle and multiple breeds of exotic deer/antelopes whose names I don't remember. Our guides were knowledgeable and shared freely with us. After our 90 minutes of riding my butt was tired but I was exhilerated by what I had seen and learned. We spent some more time on ground at the money pens and aviary complex before driving home.

Unless you have a travelzoo coupon the camel ride is a bit expensive but going to Africa on a safari is also quite expensive. For the same tour but a lot cheaper there is a jeep buggy tour that follows the same route for much less. You just won't have a one on one experience with a camel. Check Groupon for special discounts.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riverview, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
32 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

This tour was so wonderful! It is different then something like going to a zoo because you are in a buggy and much closer to the animals. Also, for me I had a chance to see many animals you woundn't usually find at a zoo! You learn tons of information about the animals from the guides as well (which do a great job)! It was a lot of fun to feed the animals. I especially liked the end of our tour when we got to feed Lemurs! This was a great experience and I would love to go back again!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Colorado
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A fantastic experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This is a wonderful wildlife tour! It's a tad pricey (about $70 per adult) but worth the drive. These animals are all very kind. We fed water buffalo and camels, saw Elan, Zonkeys and pot belly pigs as well as other animals I'd never heard of. The guide, JJ, was wonderful explaining everything and showing us all what the animals can do. The tour is about 2 hours long once you find the out of the way location. The staff is wonderful and there is a gift shop if you want water or snacks, gifts or souveniers. Very educational and worth the time.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A different but worthwhile experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

We have been going to Florida since 1991 and we rated this as one of our best trips out.

Our guide was Cathy and she was very knowledgeable, enthusiastic and patient. To be able to hand feed wild animals especially the water buffalo was something special and enjoyable.

The animals appeared well cared for and had lots of space.

We paid extra to hand feed the lemurs and it was worth every penny, as my wife was in heaven and won't forget it for a long time.

It only took us about 45 minutes to get there from the disney area, and makes a welcome change from the theme parks.

Thanks again to Cathy for making our visit on the 23 August so good.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Wilderness Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Safari Wilderness Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Wilderness Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Safari Wilderness Ranch to your Saves list