We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic experience and great knowledge!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Safari Wilderness Ranch

Safari Wilderness Ranch
10850 Moore Rd, Lakeland, FL 33809
813-382-2120
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 20 Activities in Lakeland
Type: Nature/ Wildlife Areas, Tours, Ranch & Farm
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Owner description: Have you ever dreamed of going on an authentic safari? At Safari Wilderness Ranch, you will enjoy fresh air year-round as enormous birds soar overhead. Our knowledgeable and experienced guides will tour you through 260 acres, interacting with huge herds of wetland exotic species, Watusi cattle, and Haflinger horses in custom safari vehicles, fitted with shade canopies and stadium seating. Or book a camel back or horse-drawn carriage game viewing safari tour. Indulge your senses in optional lemur and budgie parakeet encounters. A Florida Agritourism project. Located 6 mi. north of I-4 between Orlando and Tampa in an expansive and pristine wilderness area. Tours Wed – Sun at 10am and 1pm BY RESERVATION ONLY.
Tampa Bay, FL
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic experience and great knowledge!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We had a wonderful tour today! I have forgotten their names but the mother and daughter combo were wonderful! So much information and knowledge in regards to these animals it was well worth the experience. It starts with a short introduction about the different artifacts they have collected then your board the covered truck and experience a great tour of Asia and African animals. (approx. 2 hours total) You get up close and personal with many of these animals and they are treated with great respect. I would have given it 5 stars however the price is pretty steep if you do not have a discount coupon. I can appreciate that it goes back to the facility however I think it puts limits on being able to participate in this adventure. I know we would never been able to justify paying full price. I appreciate the opportunity to experience it at a discount.

The directions on the website were very accurate!

There is also a small store with souvenirs and water (I don't think there is food) to bring with you on the trip. You can also bring your own water!

Thank you!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    17
    4
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ozona, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Grandkids Loved It”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We took our two grandsons, ages 8 and 11 last weekend to this attraction. Half price with Groupon. It is a very nice facility located just north of I-4 east of Lakeland, FL. The property is located in what is known as the Florida Green Swamp, and is an ideal terrain for the several species of African and Asian animals that are kept there. The tour vehicles are converted school buses that have had the tops removed and replaced with a canvas cover. The guides were very personable and knowledgeable. They clearly had a real fondness for all the animals in the park.
Be aware that you are not going to see any predator type animals such as lions, leopards, etc., but mostly docile antelope and water buffalo. They are very tame and most can be hand fed from the vehicle. Great for the kids.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida, United States
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Florida's snippet of the African Serengeti!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

My husband, six month old baby and I had the pleasure of visiting this hidden gem nestled among the countryside and wetlands of Lakeland, FL. By far, this was one of the best animal adventures I've been on beating out Busch Gardens by a long shot. Safari Wilderness Ranch had an array of animals including lemurs, water buffaloes, zebras, ostriches, Ricky the warthog and too many more to list! You were not only limited to seeing the animals from your seat as the tour guide allowed us to feed a few of the animals that approached the bus. The staff were incredibly friendly and knowledgeable and despite facing a minor, yet surprisingly fun challenge (our tour bus getting stuck in the mud), this attraction is well worth the trip and price. A little taste of the Serengeti in our Florida backyards. Not something you'll want to pass up!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clermont, Florida
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“excellent bus tour.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

the bus tour was excellent. the church guide was very professional and the kids got to feed and pet some antelope and water buffalo. they love the experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wauchula, Florida
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A safari in Florida for only $89 for a group of four (the Groupon rate) is not a bad deal considering how unique it is. Years ago I did one at Busch Gardens (costing about $70/person) and I liked this one better. While Busch Gardens does have a greater assortment of animals, Safari Wilderness brings you closer to the animals and is more laid back, less rushed, and more personal. During the tour, which lasts about 2 1/2 hours, you see about 30 species of animals (with a focus on those from Africa and Asia) and get to feed two groups of animals for an extended period of time. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and would stop (and even double-back) whenever we wanted. The consensus on the best part of our experience though was an optional $20 per person purchase, but was well worth it. Since we probably won't be flying to Madagascar anytime soon, we loved our ten minutes of feeding six lemurs and holding their hands.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Safari Wilderness Ranch also viewed

 

Been to Safari Wilderness Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Safari Wilderness Ranch, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.