We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some issues, but functional and reasonable price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Motel 6 Lakeland

Save Saved
You added Motel 6 Lakeland to your Saves list
Motel 6 Lakeland
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Motel 6 Lakeland
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   3120 US 98 North, Lakeland, FL 33805   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Lakeland
Raleigh, NC
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
“Some issues, but functional and reasonable price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

I stayed here over a couple of weekend nights in May. Total price was $48 for each night, including taxes, and also including a Wi-Fi charge of 2.99 per day, something unusual for a Motel 6. For the price it was ok, considering that other nearby motels were charging 80+ per night. There was high occupancy- many other motels had no vacancy at all, so I was glad to get the 2nd floor room, despite having to lug all my stuff up there. There was a nearby elevator which helped.

The motel in general does look a bit worn, but everything was functional, and I had no significant problem with the room. Wi-fi had some issues, but finally locked-in and worked. The linens and bed seemed fairly clean; I brought my own pillow so I wouldn't have to use those small motel pillow. You might also want to bring your own alarm clock.

The motel is conveniently located by the highway and there are some restaurants and fast food in the area, but make sure you eat by 9pm- that seems to be the time that they all close up, even on the weekend. There are also some grocery stores and shopping in the area. Keep in mind that Lakeland roads have those annoying concrete lane dividers, so you can't just turn into a parking lot, you have to go round and round blocks to get where you want to go. Very annoying.

This motel has a room for drinks/snacks/ice, which is very convenient. But they have all these machines in a closed room, so it feels like a furnace. They could probably save half the electric bills by venting that room.

Overall, not a bad experience, as far as maintenance goes, it's about average for a Motel 6.

Room Tip: Ask for wi-fi- you have to pay for it and get a special code
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    5
    4
    11
See reviews for
6
5
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

This is the next to worst Motel6 I’ve ever stayed in, and I’ve stayed in a lot. The worst one was kicked out of the system it was so bad. Arriving late at night after a long day, the room we were assigned smelled like a barn. Unpacking, we noticed a flea, then more fleas. Called to change rooms – we had to go down and get the key. The new room was an oven and it was apparent that the AC was not working well. Called again and the front desk person made us wait to see it the AC would kick in. Then she came up ad said OK, we could change if we came down yet again and signed yet another room change report (I’ve never seen that before).The only other room was flagged for some ‘maintenance issues’. Checked it out and the issue was one very lumpy bed. I said I would take it as long as they changed the mattress in the am. She said she would ask maintenance if they could, but could not guarantee it. We were exhausted, so stayed there. In the am, the maintenance man eventually came and after staring at it for a while, reckoned that it needed to be changed. When they took the top mattress off, there were several empty wine bottles between the mattresses (housekeeping didn’t notice this?)! This accounted for the lumps, but they changed the mattress anyway. BTW – the old mattress was very stained. This was a non-smoking room. When we got into bed that evening, we were greeted with a strong tobacco smell emanating from the mattress. Obviously it was a used mattress from a smoking room. OK, three strikes, but there is more! When we came back in the late afternoon that day, the room had not been cleaned. It didn’t get cleaned until about 6pm. Guess they are trying to save $$ by not having enough cleaning staff. I know it is FL and there are a lot of insects, but the persistent fungus gnats in the room were annoying (suggesting mold or some kind of fungus in the room). We didn’t report it because we didn’t want the room fumigated while we were in it. Then there was the paint permanently splattered inside the elevator, the sink faucet that barely produced water and the smell of smoke coming from the bathroom fan. I will say that the staff were trying. The place seriously needs renovating and/or a change in management. For now, I’d highly recommend staying away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terre Haute, Indiana
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

If its just for a night, its ok, beds are more uncomfortable than other motel 6's. there is nothing to do around the area either. The hotel wasnt as clean as other Motel 6's, dont for get to request your AARP discount and try to book the morning of your stay or the night before. If you can book through Ebates you will get yourself and additional discount.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

It was a long brown curley pubic hair on my face as i awoke from a dream into terror .Coffee was luke warm and i will be fighting the disease as long as i live that hair will continue to haunt me. The smell of meath and hookers was strong and the sky a deep dark orange as i scrubed the smell of agony from my face i didnt enjoy either the ombonce or the am.enitys the motel six offered.

Room Tip: radioactive level of nastiness
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Florida, United States
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

very nasty and unpleasant! not a very clean place to stay at cause it was dirty and roaches and mildew etc but the bed was very comfortable i think it needs to have a new management and friendler customer service and new housekeeping people def! but for the price and now its been raised its not worth going or wasting my time yuckky

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Florida
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2012

The motel is close to the I-4/US 98 exit. It is a few minutes from downtown, except probably during the rush hours.

My room was clean, the bed comfortable, the TV worked, air conditioner cooled the room, and I slept well. It's a two story hotel and I didn't have to walk far to get to the room.

Staff were courteous and helpful. The grounds were clean. The fellow motel guests were the usual cross-section of American working-class folk. I had no trouble.

You're not going to get the amenities of a fancy resort but you'll get what you paid for.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisonburg
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

Needed a stop for the night and called for a room. Found out that i was not talking to the actual motel, but their rep in some place else. Requested a non-smoking room away from traffic and got everything but.
The room has ash trays and smelled of smoke. It was also on a major thru way. the receptionist was friendly but behind protective glass ... at 9PM. Can you guess the safety of the area.
Motel is located on major road and still uncertain of clientele. Room was noisy and parties were all evening long.
Cheap but not worth the effort. Drive a few more miles to Orlando.

Room Tip: Inner court might be better. It is near a Denny's for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Motel 6 Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Lakeland

Address: 3120 US 98 North, Lakeland, FL 33805
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 32 hotels in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Lakeland 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Motel 6 Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lakeland Motel 6
Lakeland Motel Six
Motel Six Lakeland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Motel 6 Lakeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.