We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - If you can get to it” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland to your Saves list
Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   3701 Harden Blvd., Lakeland, FL 33803   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #5 of 32 Hotels in Lakeland
Certificate of Excellence
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Location - If you can get to it”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2014

I stayed a couple of nights here back in December. Looking over some of the other recent reviews, I was concerned about the quality. However, my room was just fine. There was no smell or mold or mildew of any kind. The bed was adequate, although not the best bed I've ever had in a hotel.

The staff was very accommodating to my needs and got me the room that I wanted.

Parking at this Residence Inn is not that great. You will be hard pressed to get a parking spot near your room or hall entrance. Apparently, there is some problem easements with the shopping center, because although you can see the Inn from the road, you have to go the long way around to get to it - up past the Inn, into the shopping center, turn left at the Olive Garden and go BACK out on the highway for 50 feet, then turn BACK into the hotel entrance and around behind the Courtyard to get to the Residence Inn. You can't even drive through the Courtyard parking lot to get there even though it looks like you can. Access is crazy. I finally just started coming in the back way and ignoring the "Do Not Enter" sign. Try this at your own risk.

Once you get into the Inn, life is fine. Also, the shopping center is very handy with some nice shops and restaurants. Try the Mongolian Grill.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    29
    10
    6
    3
See reviews for
26
12
10
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach Gardens, Florida
Level Contributor
84 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Aside from the loud AC unit kicking on and off throughout the night. This is a great place to stay. The free breakfast is better than any other free breakfast hotels offer.
The hotel room was musty but didn't smell moldy. 2 great nights of sleep aside from a uncomfortable bed.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiLakelandGM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your response! I have looked up your room so engineering can get up to that room and double check the AC unit. I am glad we were able to meet your expectations on the breakfast buffet, the staff does work hard to put out a great experience. Again I appreciate your response, please visit us again in the near future.

Thank You,
Lori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocala, Florida
Level Contributor
57 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

We decided to stay at this hotel as we have had good accommodations with Marriott in the past. The room rate was more than what we wanted, but were willing to pay a bit more for quality hotel... We could not have been more wrong!
The room smelled of mildew. The air conditioner was LOUD, enough to keep me awake. The bed was uncomfortable. The toilet did not work well. The water pressure was very low.
Finally, and most importantly, we stayed at this hotel because it is "pet friendly". When I arrived at the front desk they informed me that I had to pay nonrefundable $100 deposit. I had no idea before arrival!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiLakelandGM, General Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, responded to this review, November 4, 2013
Thank you for your response to your recent stay.! I am sorry we fell short to your expectations. Know that we as a team here at the Residence Inn by Marriott-Lakeland do take your comments seriously! I have already met with our team to visit the issues in your room, and are working on correcting those immediately. As for the pet fee, that is a standard fee with all Residence Inn's, I do apologize you were not imformed about the fees before checking in. Many times our guest look at the web site and find we are Pet Friendly, although when they call us they do not mention about the pet. The fee is for deep cleaning when the guest checks out, so those with alergies are not effected by it. Please feel free to call me at the hotel to further discuss your experience, I would be happy to do whatever it takes to make it up to you.

Thank You,
Lori
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Chante, Jalicsco, MX
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have always stayed at this hotel when in Lakeland, however my last two visits at the end of June, early July and beginning of August have me looking for an alternative extended stay hotel with kitchen. My gripes? No internet service in my room. Internet accessibility was crucial to my stay and every time I asked about it I got a different answer. I had to go to the lounge area to get connectivity, which at times meant I had to get dressed to go and connect if it was very early or late at night. Not the standard Marriott mattress, very uncomfortable. My back is still complaining about that. Bedroom door did not close. Cockroach in the dishwasher. Erratic room service, sometimes they ran the dishwasher with two or three items, other times they did not run it when it was almost full. I never did figure out when to run it without being wasteful. The evening "happy hour and light supper" has been reduced to three days. The furniture is getting shabby. The upholstery on one chair was torn and the stuffing was sticking out. The normal kitchen equipment was always missing something that is standard in the Residence Inns. The staff was very friendly and welcoming. I wish the rooms and internet were. We will not stay there again and we have been loyal Marriott members since 1988. I hope they get their act together because I like the location very much - very convenient for our needs.

Room Tip: Rumor had it that the rooms closer to the elevators could get internet service. But I don't real...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

The A/C Handler was extremely loud. So we had to move to another room. The A/C Handler in the new room was only half as loud. But the main problem was because the A/C Handler is located within the bedroom.
Also, breakfast is served from 6 to 9 only which is very early especially on the weekend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio City, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

My stay here was great! They have a very nice breakfast and three evenings a week, they have some type of themed evening meal. I was traveling alone and felt very safe here. It is very close to shopping and good places to eat. Lakeside Village is just about two minutes away and is an easy drive, you don't have to get out on the main road. The staff is very friendly too. I would definitely stay here again. The accommodations are very nice, more room than a standard hotel room. It was nice to have the extra seating when my family from Florida came to visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral, Florida, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

After reading the good reviews I was very disapppointed and surprised. The pool area and lobby were nice. Our room looked fine but the odor ruined our stay. The room has a very strong basement odor, smells damp, musty and well just disgusting. The room felt damp and this odor was very strong. We were here on vacation visiting the area and Legoland. For what we paid we felt this property is very over priced. I would have given a more favorable review is the smell was not so bad. I could have over looked the loud refrigerator, loud air conditioning unit, the stained carpet, etc., but the odor made it impossible to enjoy the time in our room. It was hard to fall asleep and if it had not been so late I would have gone out and bought candles to burn. We got ready as quick as we could in the morning and checked out and have crossed this place off our list for future visits to Legoland.

Room Tip: Avoid room #201 that room smells awful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RiLakelandGM, Manager at Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We stive to ensure every guest will have a memorable stay with us, and when we fall short we take all of guests concerns very seriously. I have reviewed your concerns regarding the rooms issues with our Chief Engineer, and they are working hard to correct those issues in room 201. The Team strives very hard to ensure every guest is completely satisfied and would love the opportunity to show you our “service so memorable” on your next visit to Lakeland. Please feel free to contact me directly on your next visit to Lakeland, as I would welcome the opportunity to make this up to you and your family.
Sincerely,

Lori Gerard
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland

Address: 3701 Harden Blvd., Lakeland, FL 33803
Location: United States > Florida > Central Florida > Lakeland
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Lakeland
#9 Business Hotel in Lakeland
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for comfortable Lakeland, FL hotels, you'll love the Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland. Our all-suite, extended-stay Lakeland, FL hotel combines the comforts of home with a passion for making every guest feel welcome. We're ideally located near The Lakeland Center, Lakeland Airport, Lake Myrtle Sports Complex, Legoland Florida, and Joker Marchant Stadium - the Detroit Tigers' spring training home. We're also close to Publix, Amazon, and Stryker. Midway between Orlando and Tampa, Florida, our hotel in Lakeland is a perfect home base for trips to Busch Gardens, Sea World, Disney, and Hard Rock Casino. Our spacious suites offer free Wi-Fi, fully-equipped kitchens, separate living and sleeping areas, and sofabeds. Start the day with a complimentary hot breakfast buffet. Unwind at our Manager's Receptions with complimentary light fare or BBQ, as well as beer and wine. And bring your pet - we're pet-friendly. Few Lakeland hotels can match our attention to detail, so book a suite today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Odigeo, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn By Marriott Lakeland Hotel Lakeland
Residence Inn Lakeland
Lakeland Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn by Marriott Lakeland, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.